Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates

-41 Posts 207 Posters 1.8m Views 1 Watching
    • sharonkhooS Offline
      sharonkhoo

pirate\" post_id=\"2037477\" time=\"1631337411\" user_id=\"66252:

Oh wait. Maybe someone ordered a whole bunch of ART tests that they dunno what to do with...
      That must be why they are giving 8 ART per employee to all companies, irrespective of vaccination status, frequency of contact with others, etc.

• lee_ylL Offline
        lee_yl

slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2037455\" time=\"1631329414\" user_id=\"28674:

lee_yl\" post_id=\"2037452\" time=\"1631328547\" user_id=\"17023:

Other countries see huge waves doubling but for us, bouts of tourists have not even entered SG yet. All of us are masks on unlike other countries like US and we do not have mega events like Euro2020. So what is exactly happening now that our numbers are doubling at exponential rate?
        Bus interchanges? BHG? NDP parade?

I believe that Covid fatigue plus asymptomatic cases is the cause of the rapid spread. I think that mask wearing and safe distancing is less carefully observed now, especially when out of sight of SDAs. But if the cases now are mainly asymptomatic, I would simply say that the vulnerable and fearful, and their close contacts, will have to take more care. The nos. now are tipping to make them a small minority, while larger nos. and the economy are now suffering on their behalf. The MTF is being cautious, maybe overly so, but hopefully not for too long. If our ICU nos. are still under 100 in 2 weeks time (10% of total capacity), hopefully some of these \"test everyone in sight\" measures will be removed.

Covid fatigue definitely there is lah, but the way MOH handles/issues QO is also in a mess!

7 days testings is to help to raise alert early before the cluster grows too big?

Since MTF asks us to sit back and wait for 3000 daily community cases, no other plan to flatten the infection curve, let’s see how it goes lor, who knows our ICU cases may continue to remains low.

I suggest MTF just continues to brainwash us, only focus on the severely ill and ICU cases and ignore the daily community cases. Keep emphasizing that high community cases Does Not translate to high ICU cases. Do not worry about rapid rise in community cases.

• Z Offline
          zeit.033699

I finally figure why the public's so messed up by the barrage of messages from the MTF.

Before OYK took over MOH in May, LW didn't post that many Covid-19 news or opinions on his FB, other than reiterate those centrally disseminated news shared during their routine press conference that we already know. LW also didn't self-video or grant interviews outside of the pressers to justify certain Covid-19 measures. GKY, the former MOH minister, was totally radio-silent. His FB had almost nothing on Covid-19 at all for over a year. His voice was only heard during the official press conferences and sometimes in Parliament; that's all. There was just one 统一口径,信息大于个人与流量。

However, when OYK the media-nuts guy came along in May, he seems to act the opposite of GKY. OYK loves to post a lot of stuffs on Covid-19 on his FB. He probably even roped in AP David Lye the 枪手 to help him quell the disquiet among the anti-vax telegrammers, thereby generating even more talking points and debates in the social media sphere. Before OYK joined MOH, I didn't see any EC19V member openly defending MTF's measures... :skeptical:

When OYK talks so much, notice that LW starts to step up in order to retain his share of voice as the co-chair and original founding chair of the MTF! Now we have 2 mouthpieces speaking to media about the same subject matter, plus Ho Ching has also become more and more vocal and is now our 3rd authoritative voice!

To increase his share of voice, OYK even embedded his FB on taxpayer-funded government MOH website that has been revamped! I don't see other PAP ministers or foreign health ministers/politicians embedding their personal FB or twitter on govt websites. Attempting to 充个人流量?

https://i.imgur.com/g1y9bDP.png\">

There're partisan/PAP and private hobby news posted by OYK on his FB at times. Is it appropriate to render visibility to such private / political news on a non-partisan health ministry website? :scratchhead: :roll:

• MrsKiasuM Offline
            MrsKiasu

lee_yl\" post_id=\"2037495\" time=\"1631346436\" user_id=\"17023:

slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2037455\" time=\"1631329414\" user_id=\"28674:

[quote=lee_yl post_id=2037452 time=1631328547 user_id=17023]Other countries see huge waves doubling but for us, bouts of tourists have not even entered SG yet. All of us are masks on unlike other countries like US and we do not have mega events like Euro2020. So what is exactly happening now that our numbers are doubling at exponential rate?
            Bus interchanges? BHG? NDP parade?

I believe that Covid fatigue plus asymptomatic cases is the cause of the rapid spread. I think that mask wearing and safe distancing is less carefully observed now, especially when out of sight of SDAs. But if the cases now are mainly asymptomatic, I would simply say that the vulnerable and fearful, and their close contacts, will have to take more care. The nos. now are tipping to make them a small minority, while larger nos. and the economy are now suffering on their behalf. The MTF is being cautious, maybe overly so, but hopefully not for too long. If our ICU nos. are still under 100 in 2 weeks time (10% of total capacity), hopefully some of these \"test everyone in sight\" measures will be removed.

Covid fatigue definitely there is lah, but the way MOH handles/issues QO is also in a mess!

7 days testings is to help to raise alert early before the cluster grows too big?

Since MTF asks us to sit back and wait for 3000 daily community cases, no other plan to flatten the infection curve, let’s see how it goes lor, who knows our ICU cases may continue to remains low.

I suggest MTF just continues to brainwash us, only focus on the severely ill and ICU cases and ignore the daily community cases. Keep emphasizing that high community cases Does Not translate to high ICU cases. Do not worry about rapid rise in community cases.[/quote]Actually hor, if there is hbl, I can sit and watch till 10k cases a day I m also not scared.

• EstéemaE Offline
              Estéema

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2037506\" time=\"1631353899\" user_id=\"43981:

lee_yl\" post_id=\"2037495\" time=\"1631346436\" user_id=\"17023:

[quote=slmkhoo post_id=2037455 time=1631329414 user_id=28674]

I suggest MTF just continues to brainwash us, only focus on the severely ill and ICU cases and ignore the daily community cases. Keep emphasizing that high community cases Does Not translate to high ICU cases. Do not worry about rapid rise in community cases.

Actually hor, if there is hbl, I can sit and watch till 10k cases a day I m also not scared.[/quote] 😂 😂 Don’t forget im sitting next to u hor. We keep 1m company. 😉

• emohE Offline
                emoh

https://www.zaobao.com.sg/news/singapore/story20210909-1191698

• zac's mumZ Offline
                  zac's mum

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/commentary/covid-restrictions-impact-children-friendships-2137352

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                    MrsKiasu

Estéema\" post_id=\"2037519\" time=\"1631361925\" user_id=\"66413:

😂 😂 Don’t forget im sitting next to u hor. We keep 1m company. 😉

Was looking at the hospitalization chart..

For past 1 wk..

Grp 61-70 been doing a great job..almost keep going down.

Grp 70+ hmm.. has reclaimed its medal from Grp 40-60yo yesterday... maybe mature estate(s)?

The youngest group has broke the 100marks past 2 days..pls take extra care kids!

• lee_ylL Offline
                      lee_yl

lee_yl\" post_id=\"2033626\" time=\"1628402831\" user_id=\"17023:

This year alone, we have seen quite a number of Covid-19 HAWKER CENTRE CLUSTERS, starting with the Bukit Merah View cluster followed by the recent spate. So the assumptions that hawker centres are “well ventilated and outdoors” and are less susceptible to Covid virus may not hold true.

I think Foodcourts have fewer clusters than hawker centres? Maybe NEA should study deeper to uncover what are the driving forces behind these hawker centres clusters and how to resolve them. All along I feel unsafe eating at hawker centres compared to restaurants. I can have the whole table in restaurants all to myself if I dine alone but at hawker centres, I was always asked if I could share table during peak hours.

If unvaccinated folks can only dine at hawker centres then govt is pushing all the unvaccinated folks to gather at those hawker centres, my goodness!! And after a while, will hawkers and hawker assistants pull down their masks when the weather gets hot and humid during the day? Old folks at Jurong or Bukit Merah (regardless vac or not) will continue to visit their nearby hawker centres. I don’t think pushing all the unvaccinated ppl to gather at hawker centres is to protect the unvaccinated ppl, it’s like ushering them to a death trap. Ticking time bomb.
                      Retrieved a post I made on 8th August when Govt announced that all unvaccinated folks can only eat in hawker centres or coffeeshops.

The NCID expert who claims that hawker centres are safest for those non vaccinated to go to, probably has not dined in at hawker centres for very long. Chinatown wet market and hawker centres are among the dirtiest places I can find!

No wonder 127 seniors warded in hospitals after testing positive then I read that Chinatown Complex cluster is brewing!

If more seniors warded, get ready for HA3. No more dining in.

• EstéemaE Offline
                        Estéema

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2037547\" time=\"1631403456\" user_id=\"43981:

Estéema\" post_id=\"2037519\" time=\"1631361925\" user_id=\"66413:

😂 😂 Don’t forget im sitting next to u hor. We keep 1m company. 😉

Was looking at the hospitalization chart..

For past 1 wk..

Grp 61-70 been doing a great job..almost keep going down.

Grp 70+ hmm.. has reclaimed its medal from Grp 40-60yo yesterday... maybe mature estate(s)?

The youngest group has broke the 100marks past 2 days..pls take extra care kids!

Mrs KS,
                        Yes, I’m concern how transmissible it has been & worry for those with pre-existing conditions & elderly and very young kids.

When doing grocery y’day, just cldnt get any feeling ppl are conscious with social distancing. Crowded as ever at VivoCity. Quickly get my grocery done & verbalized to hubby we shld try go to other outlets & bear with less selection as we’re bring bags over to MIL. Don’t want unknowingly pass unseen creatures of harm to her.

Curiously, my helper said she still hv lessons at the CC. Instructed her tt the recent numbers are high to be extra vigilant & careful n be back for lunch together. We’ve to bear it out next couple of weeks and stay home more so will buy a little extra meat next Tues whilst can rely on my garden for the various veggies & fruiting cucumbers, bittergourd, pumpkin, Brinjal & long beans besides my herb garden.

So hard to be back to bit of norlmacy, for bz to keep alive and jobs to stay, with this Delta at large. Can’t stay shut as a small country. Y’day, my frd had ppl messaging him to quickly help him get apartments as he needs to house workers coming in for a project. Ano young frd left for Germany for 3 months internship & she felt it was cool with the green lane as she didn’t hv to do PCR or quarantine as she’s vaccinated. So there’re still lots of bz flights going in/out.

Stay safe & safe sane. We watch the numbers. Hopefully don’t loose count.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1

hinlieH
                        hinlie
                        EducareTutoringE
                        EducareTutoring