Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates
slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2039789\" time=\"1632899834\" user_id=\"28674:
Didn't I already post my take on 11 Sept? Basically my first suggestion is roughly the same as SDP's Tambyah's 1st strategy.
So what is your take on what they should have done? Lockdown harder, longer? Close borders altogether? [This is not a rhetorical question, I really would like to know what you think could have been done better.]zeit.\" post_id=\"2039781\" time=\"1632895258\" user_id=\"194295:
No need to look at US. I always look at HK which has 7mil population and same ethnic group as its majority. It also has same differentiated rules at F&Bs, etc. HK's 70yo vaccination rate is below 40% and 80+yo is even lower.
https://www.covidvaccine.gov.hk/en/dashboard
Now they have to crack their brains to think of a new excuse to wriggle their way out of this mess. Honestly, I don't trust the MTF.
After this wave of so called 'rite of passage' which they reasoned is a hurdle we must all cross to enjoy endemic living, I can assure you, there'll be another wave and then the narrative sold by them will be : all 5-11yo must be vaccinated to protect their grandparents whose booster antibodies are waning again, and all remaining residents to take the mandatory brand(s) or Novavax by a certain deadline.
Initially, they said the booster is only nec 6-9 mths after the second dose. Now they are so desperate and clueless, so they change their mind to say can be less than 6 mths after D2. Either they have too many vaccines coming in and expiring soon, or they have to find something to keep everyone preoccupied, from idle vaccinators to restless residents.
Targeted swabbing and ping-ing, not kacau the rest of the fully vaccinated because you want some 'calefares' to bump up the denominator/base to make your IFR look good. Every day, they want to scoop up 1,000-2,000 mild cases as the death nos rise.
If they are not interested in getting the mild cases to do PCR after testing +ve with ART at home, and are willing to release the FV with CT value >/=25 (which is below the 35-40 standard cutoff), or even allow us to self-discharge without needing to inform any authority as long as our ART shows -ve within 10 days, then in the first place don't ping us and ground us with HRA, just because we unfortunately happen to be in the same mall, same period as another FV +ve case. Go comb the system and hunt down the unvaccinated only.
https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=95466&p=2037472&hilit=kacau#p2037472 -
Incompetent is incompetent. No need to find excuses for the MOH minister.
zeit.\" post_id=\"2039805\" time=\"1632903989\" user_id=\"194295:
whoa zeit. i salute you. he's a likely future PM leh. scarly they say KSP spurring disunity amongst singaporeans etc etc....
Incompetent is incompetent. No need to find excuses for the MOH minister. -
Another e.g. of unpreparedness. Can the 700 retrenched Panasonic workers help out with food delivery?
https://www.zaobao.com.sg/news/singapore/story20210929-1198409?fbclid=IwAR34Imqc6776IyK50jsmmj3PX6j5rp-ujGan0q1oVNhRqQzGr0RJPOnuhzk
女设计师确诊冠病后被安排入住大士南社区护理设施,却连遇四状况,包括在棚里坐等入住九小时、当局忘了给晚餐、房间闷热难入眠,以及检测指示不明确,盼相关单位能尽快改善。
《新明日报》早前报道,从马来西亚来新工作六七年的庄先生(30岁,服务人员)与女友刘小姐(24岁,设计师)住在友诺士一带的一间四房式组屋的主人房。男友确诊后迟迟没有被送去医院或社区护理设施,两人被困在房间,而女友过后也在第六天检测呈阳。
刘小姐确诊后,在9月24日被安排到大士南的社区护理设施入住。她告诉本报记者,大约下午2点半就到设施,而司机就跟她说他们这一批的不在名单上,需要时间另外特别安排入住。
不过,刘小姐没想到的是,这一等竟然是九个小时。她和约十名病患就坐在棚里,一路从2点多等到晚上11点,才见到医生及入住。她指出,有些确诊者身体其实不太舒服但也只能乖乖等。
不仅如此,他们等待期间也没有人供应晚餐,刘小姐就在傍晚7时许的时候向工作人员反映晚餐问题。
“结果他们回复,忘记给我们了,然后要我们等宵夜。”
这批人最后在晚上11时许才吃到晚餐。接着入住时,发现每个间隔有十张床,环境还算可以接受,只是睡觉的地方比较闷热,因此有好几晚都睡不着。
“然后这里给的指示不是很明确,拿了检验样本,但是迟迟没有检验的报告。这里的医护人员接收的消息和我们收到的消息不一致,如出院日期,有些人因此逗留多一两天。”
刘小姐说,她能明白病例激增让许多运作遇到困难,希望当局能吸取经验并改善,未来能更好应对。 -
slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2039789\" time=\"1632899834\" user_id=\"28674:
So what is your take on what they should have done? Lockdown harder, longer? Close borders altogether? [This is not a rhetorical question, I really would like to know what you think could have been done better.][/quote]My take before this became the mess it is now was:
No need to look at US. I always look at HK which has 7mil population and same ethnic group as its majority. It also has same differentiated rules at F&Bs, etc. HK's 70yo vaccination rate is below 40% and 80+yo is even lower.zeit.\" post_id=\"2039781\" time=\"1632895258\" user_id=\"194295:
[quote=pirate post_id=2039766 time=1632891683 user_id=66252]https://www.straitstimes.com/world/united-states/us-cdc-says-travel-warning-on-hong-kong-was-made-in-error
Oh look! We have even higher per 100,000 rates than even the US. And they have lower vaccination rates and can't even agree on a mask mandate. :faint:
https://www.covidvaccine.gov.hk/en/dashboard
Now they have to crack their brains to think of a new excuse to wriggle their way out of this mess. Honestly, I don't trust the MTF.
After this wave of so called 'rite of passage' which they reasoned is a hurdle we must all cross to enjoy endemic living, I can assure you, there'll be another wave and then the narrative sold by them will be : all 5-11yo must be vaccinated to protect their grandparents whose booster antibodies are waning again, and all remaining residents to take the mandatory brand(s) or Novavax by a certain deadline.
Initially, they said the booster is only nec 6-9 mths after the second dose. Now they are so desperate and clueless, so they change their mind to say can be less than 6 mths after D2. Either they have too many vaccines coming in and expiring soon, or they have to find something to keep everyone preoccupied, from idle vaccinators to restless residents.
1. Expand our national vaccine program beyond the 2 mRNA vaccines;
2. RRT should be twice a week instead of once every 2 weeks given Delta's much shorter incubation period;
3. Targeted snap lockdowns like they do in HK and China to isolate clusters;
4. Expand vaccination to under 12s by using non-mRNA vaccines quickly;
5. Start trials to mix booster shots with non-mRNA vaccines.
This should be reasonably clear from my earlier posts from as long as 2 months ago.
Now that it is too late, here's my take for a start:
1, 4 and 5 above, plus:
6. Throw away all the ART test kits except for the elderly and unvaccinated and stop reporting asymptomatic and mild cases.
7. Divert medical resources from the mildly sick to those who actually need it, instead of wasting them on the 98% who do not need it.
8. Rationalize and simplify all the various home recovery schemes that nobody understands.
9. Stop requiring PCR tests for mild or asymptomatic cases unless elderly or unvaccinated.
10. Stop telling people to go see a doctor just for mild respiratory symptoms, unless elderly or unvaccinated. Instead tell them to do so only if symptoms get more serious, and call 995 if blood O2 drops below whatever.
11. Scrap QOs and divert resources to those who need to be under medical observation.
Later when our 6-11 year olds are vaccinated:
12. Re-open Causeway and 2nd Link for fully vaccinated travellers.
13. Open borders to all fully vaccinated travellers (can add negative PCR test if you still kiasi) from countries with comparable per 100,000 infection rates, without quarantine requirement.
14. Give me half the Minister's million dollar salary. -
Can someone tell me, how many new QOs are being issued each day, given that there are more than 1000 cases a day?
On average, if one positive case leads to 30 QOs, we have 30,000 new QOs issued each day? I certainly hope not. Crazy disruptive if so. And the resources going to QO will be scary if even half of them go to GQF. -
zeit.\" post_id=\"2039805\" time=\"1632903989\" user_id=\"194295:
Yalor. Zeit and I may disagree vigorously usually, but I wholeheartedly agree here.
Incompetent is incompetent. No need to find excuses for the MOH minister. -
zeit.\" post_id=\"2039803\" time=\"1632903798\" user_id=\"194295:
Yes you did. And I commented in the immediate next post someone bought a whole bunch of ART test kits they didn't know what to do with.
Didn't I already post my take on 11 Sept? Basically my first suggestion is roughly the same as SDP's Tambyah's 1st strategy.
Targeted swabbing and ping-ing, not kacau the rest of the fully vaccinated because you want some 'calefares' to bump up the denominator/base to make your IFR look good. Every day, they want to scoop up 1,000-2,000 mild cases as the death nos rise.
If they are not interested in getting the mild cases to do PCR after testing +ve with ART at home, and are willing to release the FV with CT value >/=25 (which is below the 35-40 standard cutoff), or even allow us to self-discharge without needing to inform any authority as long as our ART shows -ve within 10 days, then in the first place don't ping us and ground us with HRA, just because we unfortunately happen to be in the same mall, same period as another FV +ve case. Go comb the system and hunt down the unvaccinated only.
https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=95466&p=2037472&hilit=kacau#p2037472 -
doodbug\" post_id=\"2039806\" time=\"1632904173\" user_id=\"13281:
What disunity? Go read those angry comments in other forums, Telegram and FB. I've been proactively persuading KSPs to support the MTF for over 1 year until all these unacceptable lapses start to show up hor. :rant:
whoa zeit. i salute you. he's a likely future PM leh. scarly they say KSP spurring disunity amongst singaporeans etc etc....zeit.\" post_id=\"2039805\" time=\"1632903989\" user_id=\"194295:
Incompetent is incompetent. No need to find excuses for the MOH minister.
Future PM? Ewwee, better not be my PM. Imagine him to be live on CNBC, CNN, Bloomberg or BBC.
In the first place, I don't think his peers and current office bearers want him to be their first among equals. Many grassroots people I know don't like OYK as a boss hor. Very arrogant guy in the past. Only popular virtually. He is only a 'wang hong' but PAP needs 'wang hong' to win votes you see, so no choice but to put him to test in this trying job.
OYK has some career gaps, unlike the other cabinet ministers. He basically wasted 4 years doing nothing memorable at some job centre? Then becos of the SMRT woes, he 'escaped' to Keppel to idle for another 1-2 years, flying around the global offices to wait out till Sembawang beckoned. In short, he lacks solid work experiences and particularly, 360 nationwide organisational skills, and this is evident in all the boo-boos so far. He claimed in his debate with Leong MW he'd negotiated a few FTAs? Probably only a side-kick of Prof Tommy Koh for the USFTA if you read Koh's 'FTA memoir'.
OYK the 闲云野鹤 only excels when the portfolio interests him or when he's assigned tasks that don't bother him with constant brickbats. He's not like the type of subordinate who will take things in his stride and make the best out of the lousiest of portfolios assigned to him by the biggest boss. He evades negative feedback head-on and will choose to be in denial. Many negative comments had been deleted from his FB over the past weeks. I was posting a reply to someone who criticised him, but was not able to post successfully because he deleted the entire thread real-time!
I think it's a mistake to pull him out from MOT. -
doodbug\" post_id=\"2039813\" time=\"1632906256\" user_id=\"13281:
Ho Ching? :rant:
Can someone tell me, how many new QOs are being issued each day, given that there are more than 1000 cases a day?
On average, if one positive case leads to 30 QOs, we have 30,000 new QOs issued each day? I certainly hope not. Crazy disruptive if so. And the resources going to QO will be scary if even half of them go to GQF.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.