Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates
https://www.duke-nus.edu.sg/allnews/new-study-boosts-hopes-for-a-broad-vaccine
I would throw $1bn and collaborate with China on this because they have all the SARS Covid-1 antibody samples from 2003 recoveries and can ramp up production faster than anybody else.
We have so many cases now we can do the Phase 1, 2 and 3 trials all at home in Singapore.
The news reported that seniors age 60 above and took 2nd dose on 1 Apr or earlier, can walk in for the booster dose.
It is strange that my colleague age 63 received the SMS and booked his booster dose on 2 Oct despite his 2nd dose was mid Apr. -
lee_yl\" post_id=\"2039980\" time=\"1633018359\" user_id=\"17023:
Let's not lose sight of the fact that Covid, while serious, is not the only thing that seniors die of. A quick look at publicly available nos. shows that about 370 deaths in Singapore are attributed to diabetes annually (and this is increasing), and most are elderly. Do we send people to police the hawker centres and coffee shops to stop the elderly from consuming overly-sugared foods? Making all elderly stay at home when they are lonely, with limited ways to entertain themselves, perhaps unable to cook and unwilling to wash up, may protect them from Covid, but expose them to other problems. If they know the risks of catching Covid, and are willing to take the risk, then I think we need to give them that choice. I (nearly one of the elderly myself) would strongly resist being banned from going out or choosing my own activities.
https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/health/seniors-urged-to-stay-at-home-for-next-4-weeks-to-protect-themselves-against-covidlee_yl\" post_id=\"2039849\" time=\"1632931029\" user_id=\"17023:
Their most recent measures introduced are not targeted at protecting the most vulnerable groups.
Don’t let the seniors dine in lah, protect them for these few weeks to buy time for either booster shots or get those unvaccinated fully vaccinated.
Seniors are urged to just stay at home these 4 weeks. The agency also encouraged seniors to opt for take away food instead of eating at hawker centres. Good that the govt is paying attention to the seniors!
Seniors can be quite stubborn and I don’t know how effective the measures will be by just asking them not to unmask and eat out or drink kopi / beer at coffeeshops.
Earlier why never study why these old folks are being infected in such high numbers? Drink beer at coffeeshops? Singapore Pools betting outlets discussing betting strategies? Hawker Centres?
No more contact tracing means no data to identify the common infection nodes?
Hope MTF can beef up the number of beds at CCF. Singapore Expo only going to prep 700 beds? Won’t be enough to cater for 2 days’ numbers. Over-prepared is better than underprepared. Set up 3000-5000 beds lah.
Since we have already reached this stage, quickly solve the bottlenecks in the healthcare system, identify and address the infection vectors afflicting the seniors so that we can continue with our endemic living.
Seniors are more at risk because of the age and underlying conditions. Just as they are at greater risk of many other illnesses and accidents. Restricting their movements \"for their own good\" may be well-intentioned, but is not necessarily a kindness.
I think MTF should just ignore the asymptomatic, and focus on the seriously sick and those who are likely to get seriously sick (currently in hospital or community treatment facilities). If they do that, their nos. in hospital or under some kind of management/surveillance (with the manpower resources required to do that) will immediately reduce, public panic will also reduce, and the elderly will either get vaccinated and stay home, or accept the consquences if they prefer not to. -
Some elderly may be illiterate and it is something like you don’t read/follow much you may not know the danger outside. Through this episode only, I know some can be really stubborn… but some could be due to don’t know how serious it is now ba.
Talking abt this elderly working at eating places…think they don’t get much assistance fm G also right except those usual gst vouchers for up to 3 rooms? Utilities also going up. Not easy. -
starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"2039990\" time=\"1633039349\" user_id=\"14025:
Because the magic number is 143 days after 2nd shot. Healthcare sector was very confused over this too.
The news reported that seniors age 60 above and took 2nd dose on 1 Apr or earlier, can walk in for the booster dose.
It is strange that my colleague age 63 received the SMS and booked his booster dose on 2 Oct despite his 2nd dose was mid Apr. -
lee_yl\" post_id=\"2039982\" time=\"1633019016\" user_id=\"17023:
I am actually very concerned about the crazy costs we are incurring with our Covid measures. This is something the public does not see or hear. But our reserves ARE depleting. Even if we have reserves, we should be spending them wisely and investing in strategic initiatives for the future.
Malaysia MCOs so lax, cannot compare lah.
Do you remember last year’s CB? We can’t even cut our hair for the first 2 weeks! We can’t eat out, shopping malls/retail malls were all shut down (except for F&B, pharmacies and supermarkets). If we really do a total lockdown to eradicate the current reservoir, it is never too late.
However, if one day we really have no choice but to call for CB 2.0, Mr Ong can kiss goodbye to his PM candidacy.
No doubt CB will be painful, more retail shops and restaurants will go bankrupt. Our reserves also depleting fast.
ç—…ć» or 饿ć»
I am pretty sure it has reached the stage where it is probably cheaper to pay each senior 65 and above $$20 a day to stay home! I mean look at how much we are spending on CCF, GQF etc. Just the PCR tests alone - I don't know how many we are administering - if we are administering 50k PCR tests a day, it costs us $5 mil a day!!
Once you add in the costs bourne by businesses and individuals - it's astronomical.
It's political correct and easy to say protect all lives. It's crude, but will you save your own life at all costs and deplete all your own individual resources? There is a limit and balance - the real issue is that society is so so divided on the extent we should go to protect lives. -
That’s why whatever measures/directions/preparations are important?
Is endemic the best way ?
Another way to confront the question is
If Government needs to raise income tax immediately and drastically to fund Covid measures, will all of us still opt to close up, shut down and save every life?
Hard truth, hard trade-offs. -
Or we just trying, for me (at least) I can’t see what is in front? At end of the road if we see not viable lots of sacrifices along the process liao.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.
With your input, this post could be even better đź’—