Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates
doodbug\" post_id=\"2040013\" time=\"1633053191\" user_id=\"13281:
Many Singaporeans feel exactly the way you do, MrsKiasu. Perfectly normal.
Yes 1.5yrs at least already and read that it may not go away..very demoralising :sad:MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2040012\" time=\"1633052930\" user_id=\"43981:
[quote=doodbug post_id=2040009 time=1633052664 user_id=13281]
We have been molly-coddled for too long. Covid-19 is a viral infection. In every other country except Singapore (and possibly China), it's been \"recover yourself at home - go to hospital if you are seriously sick\". It has been like that for the past 1.5 years the world over. This was plenty of time to educate us Singaporeans.... and the messaging could have been rolled out earlier as part of Covid resilience and endemic living.
But the conservative me would prefer close and open but can take higher numbers of infection rate but in a more controlled and manageable way lor..
It only hits us when we are personally severely hit with some of the costs of the mitigation measures.[/quote]This is a really test for all..top to bottom. -
MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2040007\" time=\"1633052292\" user_id=\"43981:
How much time is enough? The government has thrown the word \"endemic\" around, with explanations, for several months now. It's true their messaging has been poor, and there are the illiterate and those who have difficulty understanding around. However, they are trying to explain, however poorly, and the social services are hard at work too reaching out to those who may have difficulties grasping what is meant. It's not something that has suddenly been thrown at us. The MTF should have been franker earlier about the numbers of cases expected, but I think that might have taken them by surprise too.
Could it be due to 'uncontrollable' ? Spread till you just have to treat anyone near you may have it? And if get it need to be on own. This is new to us. And read ppl calling for medical assistance also difficult. Give ppl some time to get used to it.. don't just throw it out and expect we all can take it steadily.
Isolation for people who contract the virus has always been practised. That isn't new. Only doing it at home is new.
Earlier you asked whether endemic is the best way - I think that endemic is the ONLY way. It's just the speed at which we get there. We can't be hiding away from Covid for another year, or two, or more. If we shut down again, as we are now, it will slow the spread, but it will just pick up again when we open up. All we will have gained is a few months in lockdown when the case count is lower. Then the cases will rise when things relax.
Singapore is now a victim of its own earlier success in clamping down the virus. So few of us have natural immunity from catching the virus that every relaxation gives rise to many cases. I think the policy to clamp down was the correct response earlier, before vaccinations, but why the concern now? Even the elderly have protection - some will still get sick and die, but the no. is much lower than if the relaxation had happened a year ago. Our death toll from Covid is still under 100 after nearly 2 years - that's low by any standards. No health can be designed for zero deaths - flu, diabetes, TB, dengue... -
doodbug\" post_id=\"2040013\" time=\"1633053191\" user_id=\"13281:
I suppose part of the difference in opinion is in personality. For me, when something needs to be done, even if unpalatable, I would rather get it over and done with rather than postpone it. Now that we have vaccinations, and we know that most people will not get seriously sick, and there is no other way out, I would rather just do what needs to be done, and get it over with. The way I see it, if we clamp down again now, it will only postpone the inevitable. So I would prefer to grit my teeth and get it done sooner rather than later.
Many Singaporeans feel exactly the way you do, MrsKiasu. Perfectly normal.MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2040012\" time=\"1633052930\" user_id=\"43981:
Yes 1.5yrs at least already and read that it may not go away..very demoralising :sad:
But the conservative me would prefer close and open but can take higher numbers of infection rate but in a more controlled and manageable way lor..
It only hits us when we are personally severely hit with some of the costs of the mitigation measures. -
doodbug\" post_id=\"2040009\" time=\"1633052664\" user_id=\"13281:
No lah. Cannot blame us. The fault lies with the gov who kept telling us the past 1.5 years to go see the doctor for every little sniffle, sore throat or slight fever. My dd already got PCRed twice for no good reason so far, as did my mom.
We have been molly-coddled for too long. Covid-19 is a viral infection. In every other country except Singapore (and possibly China), it's been \"recover yourself at home - go to hospital if you are seriously sick\". It has been like that for the past 1.5 years the world over. This was plenty of time to educate us Singaporeans.... and the messaging could have been rolled out earlier as part of Covid resilience and endemic living.
They still haven't changed the messaging. It's confounding everybody, even the doctors. We are still stuck with mild acute respiratory symptoms. Remember? :siao: -
pirate\" post_id=\"2040017\" time=\"1633054993\" user_id=\"66252:
You see lah, the poor PSLE kid. Stomach ailment also kena PCR (cos it is the prescribed protocol now, GP cannot really give an option), and had to miss PSLE English!!!
No lah. Cannot blame us. The fault lies with the gov who kept telling us the past 1.5 years to go see the doctor for every little sniffle, sore throat or slight fever. My dd already got PCRed twice for no good reason so far, as did my mom.doodbug\" post_id=\"2040009\" time=\"1633052664\" user_id=\"13281:
They still haven't changed the messaging. It's confounding everybody, even the doctors. We are still stuck with mild acute respiratory symptoms. Remember? :siao:
Read the SMA Hobbit article I sent. Everyone I know in healthcare is frustrated at the incoherence and confusion of the messaging. Fatigued too. -
slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2040015\" time=\"1633054515\" user_id=\"28674:
At the risk of sounding like an old-fashioned civil servant - Singapore is a small country with no natural resources. Our policy options for survival are limited. Unlike China, which can close up, grow its own food, manufacture its own stuff, rely on it's own talent - Singapore does NOT have this option. Our survival lies in our status as a trading, logistics, air and sea, financial services hub. In a slightly similar grain (though Israel is more self sufficient than we are), Israel realized that - hence their strategy was to open up ASAP - they were the first in the world to get their hands on the Pfizer vaccines for the whole population and they were clear in their direction that they would open up once their vaccine programme has been rolled out. That is fair - a sizable proportion of Israelis still opted not to take the vaccine. Did they pay heavily in terms of lives? Yes, they did.
How much time is enough? The government has thrown the word \"endemic\" around, with explanations, for several months now. It's true their messaging has been poor, and there are the illiterate and those who have difficulty understanding around. However, they are trying to explain, however poorly, and the social services are hard at work too reaching out to those who may have difficulties grasping what is meant. It's not something that has suddenly been thrown at us. The MTF should have been franker earlier about the numbers of cases expected, but I think that might have taken them by surprise too.MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2040007\" time=\"1633052292\" user_id=\"43981:
Could it be due to 'uncontrollable' ? Spread till you just have to treat anyone near you may have it? And if get it need to be on own. This is new to us. And read ppl calling for medical assistance also difficult. Give ppl some time to get used to it.. don't just throw it out and expect we all can take it steadily.
Isolation for people who contract the virus has always been practised. That isn't new. Only doing it at home is new.
Earlier you asked whether endemic is the best way - I think that endemic is the ONLY way. It's just the speed at which we get there. We can't be hiding away from Covid for another year, or two, or more. If we shut down again, as we are now, it will slow the spread, but it will just pick up again when we open up. All we will have gained is a few months in lockdown when the case count is lower. Then the cases will rise when things relax.
Singapore is now a victim of its own earlier success in clamping down the virus. So few of us have natural immunity from catching the virus that every relaxation gives rise to many cases. I think the policy to clamp down was the correct response earlier, before vaccinations, but why the concern now? Even the elderly have protection - some will still get sick and die, but the no. is much lower than if the relaxation had happened a year ago. Our death toll from Covid is still under 100 after nearly 2 years - that's low by any standards. No health can be designed for zero deaths - flu, diabetes, TB, dengue...
In Boris Johnson's words, wnen UK opted to open up a few months back - if not now, then when?
Singaporeans' frustrations lie with the ever changing policies, protocols and practices - all of which are carried out in a very paternalistic way where there are specific prescriptions for practically every sector!
While isolation for Covid positive individuals has always been practised, the protocols on close contacts have been changing a lot, a lot. Resulting in confusion and chaos on the ground.
I still see lots of imposed business closures (even markets and all) and deep cleaning - all these costs are not a joke. -
Messaging probably crafted by some team all working from home... :siam:
Ok. To put things into perspective. I did some digging at Singstats.
The death rate in Singapore for 70 and over is 37.1 per 1,000 in 2020 and 38 per 1,000 in 2019. The resident population for this age group in 2021 is 403,607. This translates to approx 1,250 deaths a month from all causes.
Has it gone up in a statistically significant manner in September 2021? -
slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2040015\" time=\"1633054515\" user_id=\"28674:
Frankly speaking I don't follow news on countries going endemic way so I don'tknow what to expect at the end of the process... for me I always prefer a mid way not too extreme especially that when they are sacrifices to be made. So just hope they already plan/study properly that our sacrifices will not be in vain.
How much time is enough? The government has thrown the word \"endemic\" around, with explanations, for several months now. It's true their messaging has been poor, and there are the illiterate and those who have difficulty understanding around. However, they are trying to explain, however poorly, and the social services are hard at work too reaching out to those who may have difficulties grasping what is meant. It's not something that has suddenly been thrown at us. The MTF should have been franker earlier about the numbers of cases expected, but I think that might have taken them by surprise too.MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2040007\" time=\"1633052292\" user_id=\"43981:
Singapore is now a victim of its own earlier success in clamping down the virus. So few of us have natural immunity from catching the virus that every relaxation gives rise to many cases. I think the policy to clamp down was the correct response earlier, before vaccinations, but why the concern now? Even the elderly have protection - some will still get sick and die, but the no. is much lower than if the relaxation had happened a year ago. Our death toll from Covid is still under 100 after nearly 2 years - that's low by any standards. No health can be designed for zero deaths - flu, diabetes, TB, dengue... -
pirate\" post_id=\"2039986\" time=\"1633021809\" user_id=\"66252:
US has already ordered like-minded democracies like TW not to sell chips to Huawei, and even ordered TSMC to move to Arizona, what makes you think Duke will want to partner with the Chinese?
https://www.duke-nus.edu.sg/allnews/new-study-boosts-hopes-for-a-broad-vaccine
I would throw $1bn and collaborate with China on this because they have all the SARS Covid-1 antibody samples from 2003 recoveries and can ramp up production faster than anybody else.
We have so many cases now we can do the Phase 1, 2 and 3 trials all at home in Singapore.
NCID is also running a clinical trial with the NIH (National Institutes of Health) in the US, known as the ACTIV-3/TICO trial, focusing on two types of novel drugs. ACTIV-3 is part of a public-private partnership to develop a coordinated research strategy for prioritising and speeding development of the most promising treatments and vaccines.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.