Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates

-41 Posts 207 Posters 1.8m Views 1 Watching
      WE2012

zac's mum\" post_id=\"2040735\" time=\"1633396565\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2040735 time=1633396565 user_id=53606]
      MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2040732\" time=\"1633396055\" user_id=\"43981:
      I’m against it (not that my opinion will change things). My kid is going nuts stuck at home with the P5 exam revision workload (from school, from tutors, from me) and none of his friends are free to chat either.

But on the plus side, he gets to sleep in & wakes up without alarm clock at 7.15am or so & has a leisurely breakfast before starting work. Has grown taller with more sleep.
      I am strongly against HBL extending further beyond this week. The government are very inconsistent is their approach towards handling this pandemic. The government have given up on controlling the transmission of covid-19 and as a result the virus can be anywhere among us, whether in our home, our neighborhood, schools, public buses, shopping mall, markets, hospitals etc. Simply preventing the student from returning to school does not protect them when the virus is essentially everywhere.

On the other hand, HBL is totally ineffective and useless in teaching student new topics. If the government have given up on preventing transmission, then lets' not pretend that having more HBL will protect the children since the virus is indeed everywhere and a school may not be more risky than our own neighborhood.

• zac's mumZ Offline
        zac's mum

WE2012\" post_id=\"2040828\" time=\"1633411603\" user_id=\"138082:

zac's mum\" post_id=\"2040735\" time=\"1633396565\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2040735 time=1633396565 user_id=53606]

I am strongly against HBL extending further beyond this week. The government are very inconsistent is their approach towards handling this pandemic. The government have given up on controlling the transmission of covid-19 and as a result the virus can be anywhere among us, whether in our home, our neighborhood, schools, public buses, shopping mall, markets, hospitals etc. Simply preventing the student from returning to school does not protect them when the virus is essentially everywhere.

On the other hand, HBL is totally ineffective and useless in teaching student new topics. If the government have given up on preventing transmission, then lets' not pretend that having more HBL will protect the children since the virus is indeed everywhere and a school may not be more risky than our own neighborhood.

I'm of the view that the local evidence has shown that upper primary kids have some sort of natural immunity against the severe effects of Covid, so there's no need to be so scared of sending them back to school (and no real need to clamour for compulsory vaccination for them).

Looking at this article, seems like an unvaccinated 11-year-old is > or = to vaccinated age 40+ parents. I believe the science will show that as long as one's immune system is strong, Covid will not hit you with severe symptoms. It'll just be like the flu.

\"We are thankful that my husband and I met the criteria for home recovery: We are both vaccinated, do not have any health issues, had mild symptoms and do not have any elderly persons living with us.

Although our son was unvaccinated because he had not hit the age requirement, as a young person, he did not seem to be terribly affected by the virus.

Apart from regular bouts of coughing, he was easily the most sprightly person in the house.

So sprightly that I told him more than once I wished they had taken me away to a care facility so that I can rest quietly. (No, I'm kidding. They should take him.)

We religiously monitored our temperatures and blood oxygen saturation with the Temasek Foundation-issued oximeter, which checks the oxygen level in the blood and can help detect early signs of a deterioration in health.

It came in very handy - it gave us the peace of mind that we were doing all right.

We were not suffering from any life-threatening symptoms, so all we needed to get well were some doctor-prescribed paracetamol tablets, blankets, hot honey lemon drinks and Netflix.\"

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/covid-19-home-recovery?shell

• Z Offline
          zeit.033699

pirate\" post_id=\"2040677\" time=\"1633349374\" user_id=\"66252:

MOH already knows what proportions of the breakthroughs are which vaccines, as well as which age groups and how many months ago they were vaccinated.

If there were say 8,000 vaccine breakthroughs, S should comprise about 160 at 2%. So let's have it, is it significantly higher or lower?

Better yet, give us the tables of which vaccines, age group, and how many months ago they were vaccinated. Add the previous week and we should have a dataset in excess of 10,000 cases of vaccine breakthroughs.

It is not perfect, but it is far from not \"meaningful\".

If S really sucks, we should know too. Otherwise all these people paying good money to take it... :sick:

Also, MOH knows that \"40% protection\" is fail, right? S was said to be bad because one study showed the protection rate could be \"as low as 51%\". :slapshead:

I don't think there is insufficient data. I think there are insufficient people at MOH who has the balls to interpret the data and say it as it is. Typical backside covering civil service behaviour, waiting for someone else, preferably angmoh, to say it first. :razz:
          That's what I've been asking for too.

https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=95466&p=2037161&hilit=infected+how+many#p2037161

But you must understand that the seniors amongst the small population of 100,000+ S-vaccinees may not go out as often as you think, cos some were waiting for their second dose shipment which was delayed. Pp who took S knew very well (and accept willingly) that their nAbs would be lower; naturally they would minimise movements, hence reducing their chances of catching the virus easily. It's just human instinct to stay away from danger when you knew you took the milder brand.

The younger amongst them could be businessmen/PRs or PRCs who've gone back to China, and once they go in, it's a min 28-day stay. Most people who took S have the intention of reentering China for work u see. If they are no longer here, the chances of them getting delta will be very low.

Another way to find out is for MOH to conduct an informal survey on outbound travellers who went to China. This is because all visitors to China must submit their serology (total IgN+IgG) antibody N protein test results (in addition to the standard PCR test result) to the authorities before they could enter China.

http://www.chinaembassy.org.sg/eng/gdxw/t1893114.htm

There is another HKU study on S vs P I posted earlier. It's all google-able.

I also shared with MrsKiasu that https://news.rthk.hk/rthk/en/component/k2/1610995-20210917.htm found that she had no antibodies left in her after 6 mths. You'll only know how protected you are against Covid after you pay to take the antibody test at a clinic. Every human body is different. It's hard to compare...

• sharonkhooS Offline
            sharonkhoo

I’m against it (not that my opinion will change things). My kid is going nuts stuck at home with the P5 exam revision workload (from school, from tutors, from me) and none of his friends are free to chat either.

But on the plus side, he gets to sleep in & wakes up without alarm clock at 7.15am or so & has a leisurely breakfast before starting work. Has grown taller with more sleep.[/quote]
            I totally understand! Hope you get some good news soon. But in case it isn't good news, perhaps you can try to arrange a slot each day for your son to get together online with a friend or 2 for a chat? It will need all the parents to agree, I guess, but if it's a fixed and limited time slot, surely some will agree.

On your 2nd para - I think he would have grown like that with or without HBL. Unless he was lacking that much sleep before that it would make such a difference. If not, my kids would be even shorter than they are now! They were essentially doing HBL from the ages of 11 to 14, and 13 to 16, and were in international school before that (starting time 8.30am). And they are both not tall!

• Z Offline
              zeit.033699

starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"2040662\" time=\"1633341414\" user_id=\"14025:

My dadś 2nd dose was on 21 Apr. Today I received the SMS and could book the slot for booster dose on 5 Oct onwards. Hence this 6 mth apart is not a must. I have booked the slot for tmr. I really dont know if this is a correct decision for him.
              Hi, you must have gotten your booster.

Anyway, you can read this from the 3rd voice, Ministry of TMS: 😂

https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=1868617106659448&id=100005335308340

• Z Offline
                zeit.033699

zeit.\" post_id=\"2039383\" time=\"1632541655\" user_id=\"194295:

Isn't the MOH quarantine hotline found on the HRW and HRA SMS? Is it found somewhere on the care pack?

MOH and many ministries' website have 'ASK JAMIE' which is the chatbot powered by GovTech. But it's not smart enough to utter dialects and vernacular lang characters.
                Looks like ''Jamie'', the bot powered by GovtTech has gone bonkers. :siao:

https://www.tnp.sg/news/singapore/ask-jamie-chatbot-taken-down-moh-site-after-gaffes

There's a better checker that they came up with, but more Y/N FAQs could be created to funnel the correct answers to the asker.
                https://i.imgur.com/bOECerJ.jpg\">

There should also be an MT version for such checkers. If you leave it to Zaobao illustrator to translate, it'll end up becoming more confusing!

https://i.imgur.com/bGW8iT0.jpg\">

https://www.facebook.com/zaobaosg/photos/6257142567690192

The go.gov.sg/quarantinereg (registration) form has 4 languages.

I think MOH website should have MT and foreign language versions too like HK's COVID-19 special microsite. HK's website has: Hindi, Nepali, Urdu, Thai, Viet, Bahasa Indonesian, Tagalog, Bengali, Sinhali, Chinese, etc.

It's a shame that such a diverse, multi-cultural, multi-lingual society & global economy that Singapore says we are, does not even have a dedicated Covid-19 website that can auto-translate to (at least) our ''PSLE MTs'', and some others that migrant workers/FDWs can comprehend.

https://www.covidvaccine.gov.hk/en/
                https://www.chp.gov.hk/en/other/submenu/424/index.html

• Z Offline
                  zeit.033699

So true.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/health/covid-19-when-theres-confusion-its-tough-to-pull-together-against-a-common-enemy

pirate

It is true that there are various reports that antibodies wane after 6 months of taking S. Now we are told the same happens with P, and that this is natural and to be expected. The underlying subtext seems to be in the case of P it is natural and to be expected, but for S it is because the vaccine is lousy.

We are also told that immunity does not only depend on level of antibodies, but on also T-cells, C-cells and a whole alphabet soup of immune system cells, and whether these cells can recognize the virus to trigger an immune response.

This makes sense why P and M are more vulnerable to variants, as it targets only the spike protein. So any mutation of the spike protein, as in Delta, will reduce its efficacy significantly. Whole virus vaccines however trains the body’s immune system to recognize another whole alphabet soup of virus proteins, not just the S or spike protein, but apparently not quite as wide a range as meeting the live virus (ie. infection).

Of course, being better able to identify the virus will still not be any good if the immune system is too weak or compromised to launch a robust response. Eg elderly, frail or immuno-compromised people. For them, antibody levels may be all they have to fight the virus with.

These are basic immune system facts that make MOH’s almost total reliance on P and M unwise.

Hence MOH should be more transparent with the breakdown for vaccine breakthroughs. We have enough data in Singapore to not have to wait for foreign data to make an educated decision as to whether to mix boosters or vaccinate our 5-11 year olds and with what vaccine. The virus does not wait. Every day delayed is lives lost too.

Incidentally the 100,000- (not plus) number is those who have taken both shots. Number of shots given is 200,000+. There is no evidence that these people are less likely to go out. Misplaced or otherwise, they have faith in this vaccine.

I am sure Gov also have the numbers who have left Singapore.

pirate

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/private-clinics-in-spore-seeing-demand-for-sinovac-and-sinopharm-as-covid-19-vaccine

MOH's expert committee is working too slowly. Some urgency please?

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                        MrsKiasu

So far, how do we feel with the current endemic living? I m still about the same, go out when necessary…buy food & groceries only plus sending kid to school.

Almost everyday got people died, and number seems to be around there. What are we expecting actually…wait for all to be infected? 1 round of infection will be enough?

It was mentioned something like peak at 4 or 8 weeks from abt 2 wks ago? Personally hoping for free-er movements during year end hol.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1