Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates

-41 Posts 207 Posters 1.8m Views 1 Watching
    • lee_ylL Offline
      lee_yl

I don’t know lah, this might bring the virus back to primary schools / childcare centres / infant care etc to infect all the children below 12yo who are not yet vaccinated.

• Z Offline
        zeit.033699

Abt unvaccinated children taking the VTL:

My guess is they are mostly expats’ kids or kids of SCs who’ve married foreign spouses going home to reunite with their families in EU/N America.
        Some could be SCs flying to VTL countries to reunite with their daddies/dc/spouses on overseas postings/studies. Senior & mid-level PMEs have found it hard to spare so much annual leave for QO just to reunite with their loved ones for Christmas. The ‘left behind spouse+kids’ have to attend school and can’t afford to QO for so long. This is an opportune time for them to reunite because school hols are coming.
        I suppose out of compassion, Iswaran has agreed to let unvaccinated young persons to take the VTL flights.

Not all VTL flights allow children to get on. They can’t go to ROK for instance. Some VTL countries require them (2 yo - 11yo born in 2009) to take PCR test 72 hr before departing Changi Airport. Interested risk-takers can find out the nitty-gritty rules on their own. They’re also required to buy Covid-related insurance to cover their children’s hospitalisation/medical treatment if they’re tested positive overseas/ in Singapore.

When they return here at Changi, they are to take the designated transport e.g Grab, to their homes (room with attached bath) to isolate until the PCR results are out in Singapore (24hrs). They will be released once tested negative. If not, continue to isolate and ART until negative, then self-discharge.

If MOE has already allowed students on LOA to return to school, why worry about younger kids who’ve been tested negative by Changi Airport / lab to go back to childcare centres?

• MrsKiasuM Offline
          MrsKiasu

I guess mostly for family reunion also else feel stressful for this kind of holidays.

Costly holidays. With all the tests, insurance etc.

• EstéemaE Offline
            Estéema

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2042259\" time=\"1634219211\" user_id=\"43981:

I guess mostly for family reunion also else feel stressful for this kind of holidays.

Agree. Most families unlikely to travel with very young kids in toll. Airfares & insurance costs hv gone up and the PCR tests for departure & returning hv to be taken in consideration. Most countries for VTL are in the Northern European/US countries in midst of winter whilst those going into summer are not accessible for tourists for this year. So, ya, travel in necessity basis.

• Z Offline
              zeit.033699

Estéema\" post_id=\"2042263\" time=\"1634220307\" user_id=\"66413:

Agree. Most families unlikely to travel with very young kids in toll. Airfares & insurance costs hv gone up and the PCR tests for departure & returning hv to be taken in consideration. Most countries for VTL are in the Northern European/US countries in midst of winter whilst those going into summer are not accessible for tourists for this year. So, ya, travel in necessity basis.

If you have relatives/friends living there, it's not that stressful bah. Say if you kena positive 48hr pre-departure, my understanding is Germany govt only needs you to isolate at home/hotel* for 5 days; or 10 days for e.g. France & UK. The Schengen region is already quite chill liao.

It's Singapore's side, i.e. ICA that is anal and makes you stay for 14 days before they allow you to take a changed VTL flight home.

14 days, right? OK, fine. So I self-isolate at my relatives' house/rented apartment (must check if possible to isolate in separate room) for free for 5 days (no/mild symptoms in Germany's case), and thereafter, to kill time I shall train to other cities to jalan jalan till the 14th day to come back to Singapore, can?

I feel it's people who have no contacts in the VTL countries that will feel stressful as they have to spend a bomb on extended hotel stay, but of course part of it can be defrayed by your insurer lah.

*Most EU countries don't have GQFs anymore; they just let you isolate at home/hotel. But if u kena Covid in ROK upon arrival or pre-departure, be prepared to stay in their GQF.

• EstéemaE Offline
                Estéema

Go for holiday & take risks to be isolated in hotel? Parents in SG alr complaining hard to hv young kids holed in any one place for long doing nitch. Most parents will stay ur bah. I’ve frds & relatives in Europe but they thot of getting sick (knowing there is covid out there?) is not my idea of going for R&R just to be released of any pant up need to travel & I do not hv families to reunite there. Just wanna travel, but can wait a little longer when the coast is truly clear abit more (not expecting zero cases round the world).

• MrsKiasuM Offline
                  MrsKiasu

The cases today :sad:

• lee_ylL Offline
                    lee_yl

Delta variant doesn’t care whether you travel out of necessity or for leisure.

But I am sure there are many Singaporeans out there who can’t wait to bring their family out of Singapore.

• lee_ylL Offline
                      lee_yl

lee_yl\" post_id=\"2041193\" time=\"1633534316\" user_id=\"17023:

Our death rates are also growing exponentially month on month:

August = 18
                      Sept = 40
                      Oct = 33 for first 5 days.
                      Likely to hit 160+ for this month of Oct.

How about Nov? Worst case could hit 160 X 8 = 1280 deaths!
                      Retrieved an old post dated a week ago, 07 Oct 21.

My estimate of 160 deaths for the month of October is sadly going to be exceeded.

At this rate, we may well see a thousand deaths in November.

I hope the two young persons (23yo and 34yo) who passed on today are the rare exceptions, if not, it will get many people worried, including yours truly.

• EstéemaE Offline
                        Estéema

lee_yl\" post_id=\"2042275\" time=\"1634225574\" user_id=\"17023:

[quote=MrsKiasu post_id=2042259 time=1634219211 user_id=43981]I guess mostly for family reunion also else feel stressful for this kind of holidays.

Delta variant doesn’t care whether you travel out of necessity or for leisure.

But I am sure there are many Singaporeans out there who can’t wait to bring their family out of Singapore.[/quote]There are risks takers as much as those who wld gripe abt allowing unvax kids on board. Many who jumped on the VTL likely longing to reunite with families across borders, single/couples w/o kids or retirees who want the throw caution back their mind as YOLO 🤣

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1