University courses

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tertiary Education - A-Levels, Diplomas, Degrees
    209 Posts 24 Posters 22.3k Views 1 Watching
    • doodbugD Offline
      doodbug

I quite like the Tembusu College dining hall (or for the matter, all the dining halls at University Town colleges and Yale NUS College). It’s also very nice to see wedding couples (I guess usually NUS alumni) taking their wedding photos at UTown. I mean, the dining halls don’t look like Harry Potter Oxbridge type of dining halls lah, but hey, it’s Singapore style lor.

The Residential College programme is quite unique I would say - living and learning (i.e. taking general education modules) with a diversity of students from across different degree programmes. During our time, no such thing lah.

• Imp75I Offline
        Imp75

starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"2056043\" time=\"1642489042\" user_id=\"14025:

She is taking Communications and New Media.
        I never heard of this when she applied for it. I was quite doubtful she would do well in this ??? course but she did.

The only regret is she didnt get to go overseas to study for a sem. She has been eyeing for this overseas trip which I agreed but due to covid, she has to stayput.
        So when she got into FASS, she already knew she wanted to CNM? If so, did she consider NTU sch of communication?

• doodbugD Offline
          doodbug

In the past, you get admitted to FASS, then you choose CNM. There wasn’t (and still isn’t) a specific entry to CNM. NTU is different - you get admitted directly into the Comms degree programme.

• starlight1968sgS Offline
            starlight1968sg

Imp75\" post_id=\"2056052\" time=\"1642489680\" user_id=\"2358:

So when she got into FASS, she already knew she wanted to CNM? If so, did she consider NTU sch of communication?
            NTU sch of comms was her 2nd choice. We live closer to NUS.

• Imp75I Offline
              Imp75

doodbug\" post_id=\"2056053\" time=\"1642489777\" user_id=\"13281:

In the past, you get admitted to FASS, then you choose CNM. There wasn't (and still isn't) a specific entry to CNM. NTU is different - you get admitted directly into the Comms degree programme.
              Yes precisely my point. What if someone got into FASS did not do well enough to qualify for desired specialisation? During my time, this was the case so we all became kiasu and chose specialised course upfront. Ie I went to NTU BAcc.

• starlight1968sgS Offline
                starlight1968sg

doodbug\" post_id=\"2056051\" time=\"1642489645\" user_id=\"13281:

I quite like the Tembusu College dining hall (or for the matter, all the dining halls at University Town colleges and Yale NUS College). It's also very nice to see wedding couples (I guess usually NUS alumni) taking their wedding photos at UTown. I mean, the dining halls don't look like Harry Potter Oxbridge type of dining halls lah, but hey, it's Singapore style lor.
                The Residential College programme is quite unique I would say - living and learning (i.e. taking general education modules) with a diversity of students from across different degree programmes. During our time, no such thing lah.
                Exactly.
                Staying in these College means one has to take up its modules offered.
                Staying in the hostels is still available.

Staying in the College is not the same as staying in the hostels.

Of course, there is still an option not to stay in College or hostels...

• Imp75I Offline
                  Imp75

starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"2056056\" time=\"1642490035\" user_id=\"14025:

Exactly.
                  Staying in these College means one has to take up its modules offered.
                  Staying in the hostels is still available.

Staying in the College is not the same as staying in the hostels.

Of course, there is still an option not to stay in College or hostels...
                  During my short work stint in NUS, I have heard of utown, tembusu, Peter and Alice college but I thought these are liberal arts college and not really suitable for those studying hard sciences or finance/business so wasn't paying much attention now it seems like very popular with NUS undergrads.

• Z Offline
                    zeemimi

Imp75\" post_id=\"2056015\" time=\"1642485378\" user_id=\"2358:

Hi
                    My kids are fast approaching the end of the sec/jc journey and they are clueless about what uni courses to take (am sure there are many teenagers like this too). For ksp parents here who are very experienced and been through the same path, do you mind sharing the uni courses/which uni your kids have pursued and the thoughts process behind them. Appreciate kind sharing from parents thank you.
                    Most kids are clueless, like a few of mine. 😂
                    In the past, i used to tell them study what you like (at the end of Sec 2, JC combis, uni courses). Now I'm wondering if I should have asked them to study more \"marketable and popular\" majors.
                    Truth is I don't want to be blamed should they face difficulties along the way. So threw the ball into their court for them to take ownership. Along the way i just support by looking into their nutritional needs and mental wellbeing. No direct upfront monetary support after JCs though. :evil:

• doodbugD Offline
                      doodbug

Imp75\" post_id=\"2056055\" time=\"1642489936\" user_id=\"2358:

Yes precisely my point. What if someone got into FASS did not do well enough to qualify for desired specialisation? During my time, this was the case so we all became kiasu and chose specialised course upfront. Ie I went to NTU BAcc.
                      As far as I am aware, there are no more quotas and every student will get their choice of majors, except for the list of specialized majors indicated in the IGP page. If anyone hears otherwise, please let me know!

https://chs.nus.edu.sg/programmes/#prog-overview

The whole spirit of CHS is to be able to chart your own journey - full flexibility.

(Accountancy is not a major offered by CHS so you cannot get admitted to CHS, and then ask to do a major in Accountancy though)

• Z Offline
                        zeemimi

Imp75\" post_id=\"2056055\" time=\"1642489936\" user_id=\"2358:

Usually the requirement is not very super difficult. You just need to have taken and passed certain modules to qualify for that major.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 3 / 21