Property Views

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Money Matters
    2.6k Posts 153 Posters 533.7k Views 1 Watching
    • Zeal mummyZ Offline
      Zeal mummy

lee_yl\" post_id=\"2060527\" time=\"1646391490\" user_id=\"17023:

HDB act blur. We have written to HDB to inform them of this blatant violation of their rental guidelines and asked them point blank how they plan to deal with the transgression. So far nothing heard from them

As for CEA, the tenants were worried that the LL / agent would create trouble for them at the hospitals where they work if her license gets suspended.

I can write email to CEA again and attached the TA as evidence, but should LL turn up at their workplace, it will cause trouble for them, not to me. In fact, the LL turned up at one of the hospitals last year to create a scene and caused the tenant to receive a warning letter from HR.
      I recall that if you don’t have Malaysians or Singaporeans as the main tenant, you wouldn’t be able to rent it out for 3 years on the system. You might want to check the TA and also who is the main tenant on the contract and the online approval from HDB.

Rental period
      You must rent an HDB flat/ bedroom for at least 6 months. Owners can apply to rent out flat/ bedrooms for a maximum period of 3 years per application if their tenants are all Singaporeans or Malaysians. For application involving non-Malaysian non-citizens, the maximum rental period per approval is 2 years.

HDB act blur. We have written to HDB to inform them of this blatant violation of their rental guidelines and asked them point blank how they plan to deal with the transgression. So far nothing heard from them

As for CEA, the tenants were worried that the LL / agent would create trouble for them at the hospitals where they work if her license gets suspended.

I can write email to CEA again and attached the TA as evidence, but should LL turn up at their workplace, it will cause trouble for them, not to me. In fact, the LL turned up at one of the hospitals last year to create a scene and caused the tenant to receive a warning letter from HR.
        What is CEA?? Why should they be afraid of the landlord?

• EstéemaE Offline
          Estéema

Lag time apparently bureaucracy. Once they see evidences in social media, ther legs & hands will be super Gonzales!

It’s typical, the bullied always retracts. This gives the bully the resolve to inch fwd with boldness. What I wld hv expected the hospital shld hv rules against outsiders & they shld be shown out of office to settle outside of workplace. Security hv failed in this case. I wld walk up to HR to protest wrongful issuance of warning notice & expect the letter to be retracted. No wonder we’ve less healthcare workers & many quitting under an alr stressful working environment.

The social media a good avenue to share w/o specifiic personal details.

sushi88

Estéema\" post_id=\"2060475\" time=\"1646313514\" user_id=\"66413:

I can u’stand esp those who fear the high costs of the legal process. Moreover, for those who always think they hv an upper-hand, their mentality is they can abuse ‘ignorance’ of legal rights of the under-dogs by insisting their own narratives.

But hor, those who are stiff in their belief they can always win & work the system to their adv, will hv the justice scale falling upon them someday.

Our society is also more informed & many are learning just as we’ll sharing thro social media & access to learn fr many authoritative tracks to seek recourse for their grief. I always believe in the Higher Hands meeting out justice to those who bully, take advantage or abuse their authorities, where man-made legal system fails to catch them.

Belief me, if this LL’s/agent’s misdeed is officially found as errant, there’s no place to hide that face in red dot S’pore. The shame ....

That’s why we hv those who work pro-bono to avail legal assistance to uphold justice or provide some relieve & access to legal services.
            In this case, the tenant should just take the 3 months deposit as SUNK cost... if the legal fees is $5k-$8K and the 3 months deposit is $7.8K. If the tenant is going to lose the $7.8k to this unscrupulous LL, then might as well give this sum to the lawyers and get to stay in the house until end of tenancy by winning the case.

I also agree with you, whether CEA worked on her or not, in this red dot, she would soon be finished if all allegations of bully is true.

• EstéemaE Offline
              Estéema

... the LL turned up at one of the hospitals last year to create a scene and caused the tenant to receive a warning letter from HR.
              Hv you verified that the tenants did nothing to breach any terms in that 3-year contract? Seems more than what appears on the surface.

sushi88

ChiefKiasu\" post_id=\"2060530\" time=\"1646392323\" user_id=\"3:

What is CEA?? Why should they be afraid of the landlord?
                CEA takes care of disputes and disciplinary action against unprofessional real estate agents. There is no reason for CEA to be afraid of the LL who is also real estate agent.

sushi88

Estéema\" post_id=\"2060536\" time=\"1646394861\" user_id=\"66413:

Hv you verified that the tenants did nothing to breach any terms in that 3-year contract? Seems more than what appears on the surface.
                  I agree with you. As healthcare workers, they are people most required now. There is really no reason to be unreasonable to them unless they have done something wrong. If not, they should win the case, whether as a tenant or a healthcare worker in Singapore with the help of the lawyer.

• lee_ylL Offline
                    lee_yl

sushi88\" post_id=\"2060535\" time=\"1646394820\" user_id=\"100857:

In this case, the tenant should just take the 3 months deposit as SUNK cost... if the legal fees is $5k-$8K and the 3 months deposit is $7.8K. If the tenant is going to lose the $7.8k to this unscrupulous LL, then might as well give this sum to the lawyers and get to stay in the house until end of tenancy by winning the case.

I also agree with you, whether CEA worked on her or not, in this red dot, she would soon be finished if all allegations of bully is true.
                    Lawyer already said, even if tenant wins the case, the LL can drag her feet to pay back, then file an appeal then drag until a few years later, tenants would have gone back to their own country already.

For me, I might really go to court to fight the case. But if ask me to cough out $5K-$8K to help the tenants fight this case, I think not, cos $5K not $500 leh. LOL

The nuclear option was when LL got the HDB termination letter to rent out whole house on the basis that she wanted to move back to the unit for her own stay. She then used the letter against the tenants to evict them. The tenants became “overstayer” already through no fault of theirs and what could be their recourse?

In fact, this could be the ultimate escape hatch for all landlords of HDB units, since HDB terminated the landlord’s right to rent out whole unit, the tenant had no choice but to leave and whether he could get back his deposit it’s all up to the landlord since the cost of legal action is higher than the benefits.

• lee_ylL Offline
                      lee_yl

sushi88\" post_id=\"2060537\" time=\"1646395161\" user_id=\"100857:

CEA takes care of disputes and disciplinary action against unprofessional real estate agents. There is no reason for CEA to be afraid of the LL who is also real estate agent.
                      Yes, we first reported to CEA that there was a conflict of interest as she did not declare that the unit is hers. She only told the tenants that she was an agent, no need to read the TA cos it’s “standard”. The TA is definitely not a standard one. Already misrepresented herself.

It’s not that CEA is afraid of the LL, rather, the tenants are afraid of the LL because LL said if they destroy her career, she will also destroy theirs. The tenants are very scared and they just want to move on with their lives.

Actually it’s me lah who wants to write in cos it pains me to see such things happening. But I scared I create trouble for tenants. Hmmm…

• lee_ylL Offline
                        lee_yl

Estéema\" post_id=\"2060536\" time=\"1646394861\" user_id=\"66413:

I think I have your email. Maybe later I send you the anonymised TA to help me take a look.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 228 / 260