Mid-year exams to be scrapped in all primary, secondary schools by 2023

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary Schools - Academic Support
    -4 Posts 28 Posters 54.1k Views 1 Watching
      Nasi Lemak

Liew Nga Wing\" post_id=\"2061604\" time=\"1647305828\" user_id=\"195250:[quote=\"Liew Nga Wing\" post_id=2061604 time=1647305828 user_id=195250]
      Is Exam the only way to \"Maximise kids' potentials\"? What kind of competition should parent prepare for their kids?
      Why our kids stress?

From my experience : I and DH with his son are good at Chinese language but not because of any Exam.

Son is only compete with himself, that is , he have to compare his previous result and see whether there is any improvement, he never compete with other classmates (no matter whether they are foreigners or not). It is because “one mountain is higher than another mountain” and DS will never be happy if he is competing with other.

DS has never stress because my DH said he don’t have any unrealistic expectation on him.[/quote]
      You are a very chill mum. Good for you. Wish I could be like you. I have friends who tell me they don’t stress their kids but their kids still do well as in like top the class. Can only envy.

• Imp75I Offline
        Imp75

Nasi Lemak\" post_id=\"2061607\" time=\"1647306538\" user_id=\"188813:[quote=\"Nasi Lemak\" post_id=2061607 time=1647306538 user_id=188813]
        You are a very chill mum. Good for you. Wish I could be like you. I have friends who tell me they don’t stress their kids but their kids still do well as in like top the class. Can only envy.[/quote]
        Stay chill nasi lemak. Things will work out fine in the end......academics is not all and be all.... and everyone's impacted by the policy anyway.....if you are still concerned, then you as parent needs to step up to provide the time-trials examinations yourself to give the child the training to sit thru a full exam....

sushi88

Nasi Lemak\" post_id=\"2061605\" time=\"1647306298\" user_id=\"188813:[quote=\"Nasi Lemak\" post_id=2061605 time=1647306298 user_id=188813]
          True that most schools will have bite sized tests to gauge the performance of students. But the students may not have the stamina to do a full paper at year end. It is very different in terms of time management between a bite size test and a full paper. Supposed parents will have to supplement on this part.

My P4 girl have not been tested in listening compre, oral and compo. Was supposed to be tested last year end but cancelled due to covid. This mid year exam will be her first. Will see how she do then.
          :nailbite:[/quote]
          Your concern is truly valid. There is no stopping us to get the kids to do mid year papers for fun, just to let them know that the year end paper would be something similar to it.

The other thing to note is competency affects speed. We worry about stamina but perhaps if they know their work better through bite-size revision, competency increased and hence they are able to answer the full paper fast. Then they have less time to lose steam if they get the momentum going. This is just a thought, best way to assure yourself would be to do the fun test on old mid year papers.

sushi88

ChiefKiasu\" post_id=\"2061606\" time=\"1647306521\" user_id=\"3:

I guess people think it is better to be in a low-paying high profile job than a high-paying low profile job.
            It's ok. Keep on such thinking, it's good for the economy... 😆
            I suppose there is such a thing called esteem needs for some people from a glowing job than one which only spins money.

• lee_ylL Offline
              lee_yl

Nasi Lemak\" post_id=\"2061607\" time=\"1647306538\" user_id=\"188813:[quote=\"Nasi Lemak\" post_id=2061607 time=1647306538 user_id=188813]
              You are a very chill mum. Good for you. Wish I could be like you. I have friends who tell me they don’t stress their kids but their kids still do well as in like top the class. Can only envy.[/quote]
              Funny hor, TOP class parents and kids don’t stress, then who are the ones complaining stressful? 😂

I feel that 1-2 out of 10 primary schools kids are self-motivated. But the vast majority probably not.

Because of PSLE, half my head turned white. So stressful till some nights I lost sleep worrying they couldn’t do well.

I want my kids to go into IP, and I am glad they did. Not just quickly chope a place in a good JC, but I do not need to go through another major exam like O-levels with teens. You know, Teenagers are not easy to handle compared to primary school kids.

My stress level was like 100% when they were in P5/P6. Today my stress level plunged to about 20% because by the time at 17-18yo they are mature enough to be responsible for their own results

• lee_ylL Offline
                lee_yl

slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2061599\" time=\"1647304159\" user_id=\"28674:

I suppose we are coloured by who we see the most. In my social circle, most of the young married couples are busily having kids - at least 1-2 per couple. Those that don't have are the ones who are having difficulties conceiving. In my church group of 8 couples in their 30s, all university graduates, (a couple of them with higher degrees), we have 5 kids aged 3 and under, 1 on the way, and 2 more couples working on it. This may not be a representative sample across Singapore, but it does give some hope.

I hope Singapore can eventually work towards paying good wages for non-academic skills too, even if it means that we have to pay more for services.
                The young couples busy making babies probably don’t have kids taking PSLE soon.

The other day, a friend told me she planned for a 4th one but was put off after thinking of the academic stress her eldest one is currently facing (upper primary). My advice to her is, she can consider International School after PSLE/O level. So far parents and children there seem carefree. Luckily she can afford and likes what I shared.

• zac's mumZ Offline
                  zac's mum

Food for thought: people like me (with a kid who hates exams) “should” be allowed to choose IP in order to skip O levels.

And then parents who looooove checkpoints like mid-years, PSLE, O levels…let them choose the O level, non-IP routes lah!

Like this, everybody happy & stress-free?

• Imp75I Offline
                    Imp75

lee_yl\" post_id=\"2061611\" time=\"1647308101\" user_id=\"17023:

Funny hor, TOP class parents and kids don’t stress, then who are the ones complaining stressful? 😂

I feel that 1-2 out of 10 primary schools kids are self-motivated. But the vast majority probably not.

Because of PSLE, half my head turned white. So stressful till some nights I lost sleep worrying they couldn’t do well.

I want my kids to go into IP, and I am glad they did. Not just quickly chope a place in a good JC, but I do not need to go through another major exam like O-levels with teens. You know, Teenagers are not easy to handle compared to primary school kids.

My stress level was like 100% when they were in P5/P6. Today my stress level plunged to about 20% because by the time at 17-18yo they are mature enough to be responsible for their own results
                    Actually when I quitted my high-paying job to be a SAHM back then, I was also under tremendous pressure (from everyone except my hubby) to produce results with the kids.......its not so easy to justify why you gave up such lucrative job to nurture kids who can't even make it in the end. ... even we ourselves are being labelled a pricetag on our worth....
                    Not only do I need to nurture kids who can make it, I also need to train a sports champion out to have a successful dsa (God knows how much extra stuff I need to do for my girls sports including chummy w coach, getting her prepared for comps, equipment, costume, makeup, hairdo etc)......all these without getting paid.....sometimes I felt that back to work is better hahaha......

• chenlaoshiC Offline
                      chenlaoshi

Liew Nga Wing\" post_id=\"2061604\" time=\"1647305828\" user_id=\"195250:[quote=\"Liew Nga Wing\" post_id=2061604 time=1647305828 user_id=195250]
                      Son is only compete with himself, that is , he have to compare his previous result and see whether there is any improvement, he never compete with other classmates (no matter whether they are foreigners or not). It is because “one mountain is higher than another mountain” and DS will never be happy if he is competing with other.

DS has never stress because my DH said he don’t have any unrealistic expectation on him.[/quote]
                      :goodpost:

I always advise students to be a better version of themselves - try to make progress in your own learning and improve upon your previous results. You still still look up to others as role models or for inspirations.

人比人,气死人。If you compare yourselves to those much better (esp. if without factoring in the various reasons why), it can be unrealistic and demoralising. If you compare yourselves to those who fare worse, it can be self-deceiving 自欺欺人 or just to feel good ”自爽”. Fairer way of comparison is with oneself.

• lee_ylL Offline
                        lee_yl

Imp75\" post_id=\"2061616\" time=\"1647308814\" user_id=\"2358:

Actually when I quitted my high-paying job to be a SAHM back then, I was also under tremendous pressure (from everyone except my hubby) to produce results with the kids.......its not so easy to justify why you gave up such lucrative job to nurture kids who can't even make it in the end. ... even we ourselves are being labelled a pricetag on our worth....
                        Not only do I need to nurture kids who can make it, I also need to train a sports champion out to have a successful dsa (God knows how much extra stuff I need to do for my girls sports including chummy w coach, getting her prepared for comps, equipment, costume, makeup, hairdo etc)......all these without getting paid.....sometimes I felt that back to work is better hahaha......
                        Yes, correct. Everyone says just DSA lah but DSA also need to put in time and effort to prepare portfolio, maintain good academic P5/P6 results, send for competitions etc

DH’s colleague applied for one year no pay leave (her salary ard $300K++?) to help kid with PSLE. I told DH, sending our kids to TLL English from
                        P1-P6 is still cheaper than to take one year no pay leave.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1