Corona Virus Disease (COVID-19) Updates

-41 Posts 207 Posters 1.8m Views 1 Watching

That’s what worry me the most. Mask off policy in schools even in classrooms. Be prepared for a rash of new cases amongst school children before it stabilises.

• Liew Nga WingL Offline
        Liew Nga Wing

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2062411\" time=\"1648087254\" user_id=\"43981:

Haha LNW, just say only la..rating drop already can up also. I m not someone keep all these things in heart coz not much space there.. you? I think you are a nice person just more direct ba...me too la..my IQ EQ and whatever Q also I think average only.
        Hi MrsKiasu, I am not same as you, I keep all these things in heart because I have much space there with good memory 😂 But I always remember when other people are kind to me.....both my IQ and EQ my parents said is below average lah.... 😢

• MrsKiasuM Offline
          MrsKiasu

ChiefKiasu\" post_id=\"2062455\" time=\"1648105987\" user_id=\"3:

That's what worry me the most. Mask off policy in schools even in classrooms. Be prepared for a rash of new cases amongst school children before it stabilises.
          Does that means herd immunity if haven't reached will be faster? Just pls leave the mask wearing thing individual preference can already.

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2062457\" time=\"1648106285\" user_id=\"43981:

Does that means herd immunity if haven't reached will be faster? Just pls leave the mask wearing thing individual preference can already.
            Actually, \"herd immunity\" is just a euphemism for \"survival of the fittest\". We achieve herd immunity because the weakest die off while the strong remain.

Because I do not know if I'm weak or strong... it's the same mask on for me at all times. There's really little difference between this new policy and the old. In the old, people exercising are allowed to take off their masks. I have mine on throughout my exercise. Gotten used to it.

But I still have a choice. Kids in classrooms don't. And we know how some really kiasu parents will get their kids back in school even if the kids still have covid. So the mask-off policy for kids in school makes little sense to me.

• Liew Nga WingL Offline
              Liew Nga Wing

There is no herd immunity as we are only immuned from Omicron for 90 days and may infect again after 90 days. Have both your DD got their booster jab already?

• sharonkhooS Offline
                sharonkhoo

ChiefKiasu\" post_id=\"2062463\" time=\"1648107787\" user_id=\"3:

Actually, \"herd immunity\" is just a euphemism for \"survival of the fittest\". We achieve herd immunity because the weakest die off while the strong remain.
                That's rather cynical! Herd immunity means that there are sufficient people who will not catch the virus (either because they are completely immune or less likely to catch it), and thus form a barrier to the virus being passed onward. It means that the weaker ones will be more protected than if the virus is rampantly spreading. Of course, there is a gradual buildup towards herd immunity - if we won't allow the buildup, we will never get there.

• sharonkhooS Offline
                  sharonkhoo

Just pls leave the mask wearing thing individual preference can already.
                  I'm sure it will be up to individual preference except in cases where they need to check identity, or when it's necessary (e.g. for teachers to check how kids are pronouncing words, etc). I don't think people are going to walk up to someone else and insist they remove their masks!

• EstéemaE Offline
                    Estéema

slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2062467\" time=\"1648108586\" user_id=\"28674:

I'm sure it will be up to individual preference except in cases where they need to check identity, or when it's necessary (e.g. for teachers to check how kids are pronouncing words, etc). I don't think people are going to walk up to someone else and insist they remove their masks!
                    You’ll nvr know leh. Thro’out this covid period, we’ve seen those who thro their anger & weight on innocent others. Its so gross & wrong to see ppl spitting at others or remove their masks to cough in the air. It’s so aggrieving to see someone refusing to wear mask & pulled SA’s mask off when told to put on a mask under regulations. There are ppl who wld bend & contort the regulations to suit their interpretations.

We’ve to continue to stay safe & vigilant whilst keeping ourselves sane.

sushi88

ChiefKiasu\" post_id=\"2062455\" time=\"1648105987\" user_id=\"3:

That's what worry me the most. Mask off policy in schools even in classrooms. Be prepared for a rash of new cases amongst school children before it stabilises.
                      Actually you are right because Omicron can pass on to the kids more easily than the previous variants. So once a teacher is infected and not knowing and without a mask, it would be possible for the teacher to infect the entire class. The below 5 year old who are not vaccinated will be the group of concern. But that's second phase which is not implemented yet.

If the current 92% of population eligible for vaccination are vaccinated includes ages above 5, perhaps the above 5 year olds onwards are fine in school for the first phase, though it is not guaranteed not to be infected. Their thinking is even if infected, it's ok because they would have been vaccinated, hence would not be critically ill.

• starlight1968sgS Offline
                        starlight1968sg

OT: my dad has his routine cardio appt at CGH. I asked if he could take the influenza jab.

Doc said ok and dad was given on the spot.
                        Cost: $3.71 after discount including pioneer.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog
                        MumYongM
                        MumYong