Secondary School History
If they keep giving him lousy fountain pens which leak, I think his reign will be even shorter.
Mr.Clumsy\" post_id=\"2082246\" time=\"1663224718\" user_id=\"135989:
:rotflmao: since he doesn't have real political power in his kingdom, who will care how long his reign will be? :? I am more concern is how long Prime Minister Liz Truss will be staying in power.
If they keep giving him lousy fountain pens which leak, I think his reign will be even shorter. -
Liew Nga Wing\" post_id=\"2082250\" time=\"1663226377\" user_id=\"195250:[quote=\"Liew Nga Wing\" post_id=2082250 time=1663226377 user_id=195250]
If she is lucky, she will last till the next election (2024).
:rotflmao: since he doesn't have real political power in his kingdom, who will care how long his reign will be? :? I am more concern is how long Prime Minister Liz Truss will be staying in power.[/quote]
However, I doubt it (unless she springs a surprise snap election). I expect her to be gone before the end of next summer (August 2023).
The latest poll shows only 12% of Britons expect her to be a good or great leader, while 52% expect her to be poor or terrible. That's a lot of 'trust' in her leadership and a recipe for disaster in the next GE. I doubt the kingmakers behind the scene would want her to be leading the Tory into battle. -
floppy\" post_id=\"2082211\" time=\"1663205200\" user_id=\"97579:
KE8 (aka Duke of Windsor) was QE2's uncle 大伯, not KC3's lah... KE8 was the elder bro of KG6, i.e QE2's father, i.e. KC3's grandfather who reigned not for 14 but 16 years!
The obvious answer for King Charles' reign would be somewhere in between Queen Elizabeth II (70 years) and his uncle King Edward VIII (less than 1 year) :rotflmao:
If he is lucky, maybe will match his grandfather's reign of 14 years.
Given that Charles is an organic fanatic (he cultivated organic crops at his Duchy of Cornwall estate), and that he exercises a great deal like grouse-hunting and horse-riding, I think he can live and reign at least 10 years, longer than the obese son of QV, Bertie, aka KE7 who only tahan 10 years. Don't forget his father Prince Philip who had loads of daily engagements died at age 96! -
Mr.Clumsy\" post_id=\"2082246\" time=\"1663224718\" user_id=\"135989:
He was especially grumpy because it was at Belfast methinks. You saw how deadpan those Belfast Parliamentarians' faces were at Hillsborough Castle when he met with members of Sinn Fein? No one shouted \"God Save the King!\" after his brief meeting in that room, unlike at St James's Palace where the English Tories and Whigs chorused loudly, “God Save the King!\" after he signed all the papers.
If they keep giving him lousy fountain pens which leak, I think his reign will be even shorter.
My guess is he was cheesed off with them, probably because IRA assassinated his father's maternal uncle, Lord Mountbatten. Lord Mountbatten was a strong influence in the upbringing of his grand-nephew, KC3, and later as a mentor – \"Honorary Grandfather\" and \"Honorary Grandson\". Mountbatten was also the matchmaker of QE2 and Philip, his nephew.
Lord Mountbatten was in Singapore (City Hall) to declare the return of the Brits, after Yamashita surrendered. It's in the MOE Lower Sec History textbook in fine print. -
zeit.\" post_id=\"2082272\" time=\"1663248262\" user_id=\"194295:
Alamak... ok, all the details messed up (didn't do all the fact check) but you get the point
KE8 (aka Duke of Windsor) was QE2's uncle 大伯, not KC3's lah... KE8 was the elder bro of KG6, i.e QE2's father, i.e. KC3's grandfather who reigned not for 14 but 16 years!
Given that Charles is an organic fanatic (he cultivated organic crops at his Duchy of Cornwall estate), and that he exercises a great deal like grouse-hunting and horse-riding, I think he can live and reign at least 10 years, longer than the obese son of QV, Bertie, aka KE7 who only tahan 10 years. Don't forget his father Prince Philip who had loads of daily engagements died at age 96!
The question for Charles III isn't about his longevity, which is probably not in doubt. The issue is his 'favourability' rating. Less than a month into his reign, people are talking about abdication already
Gosh... there are so many gurus here about the British royal family! I better keep my mouth shut.
So sorry for my ignoramus ranting... :oops: -
floppy\" post_id=\"2082306\" time=\"1663295634\" user_id=\"97579:
Not only up to abdication, but abolition of the monarchy. When most people in U.K. are suffering from high fuel and food prices and strikes are happening in different industrial sectors, why the Royal Family members could stay enjoy a good life by using the taxpayers money?
The question for Charles III isn't about his longevity, which is probably not in doubt. The issue is his 'favourability' rating. Less than a month into his reign, people are talking about abdication already
Liew Nga Wing\" post_id=\"2082318\" time=\"1663298622\" user_id=\"195250:[quote=\"Liew Nga Wing\" post_id=2082318 time=1663298622 user_id=195250]
That is an accusation that has been levelled at them for a long time. I can't remember all the details, but I do believe that quite a bit of the royal family's expenditures come from their own income from rent etc. They do get \"paid\" for their charitable and ceremonial duties, which is really hard work. They attract a lot of interest world-wide (which is again evident now), and they, and their properties and activities, are a great tourist draw. While I can see that it costs quite a bit, I feel the world would be a lot more drab without them. I personally love the pomp and pageantry. And given what UK weather can be like, some colour is much appreciated!
Not only up to abdication, but abolition of the monarchy. When most people in U.K. are suffering from high fuel and food prices and strikes are happening in different industrial sectors, why the Royal Family members could stay enjoy a good life by using the taxpayers money?[/quote] -
slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2082321\" time=\"1663299083\" user_id=\"28674:
It's not an accusation, the Royal family is being funded by the British government under the https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sovereign_Grant_Act_2011, in addition to their other sources of revenue. Frankly, as long as the British are the ones paying for them, I couldn't care less about the British Monarchy.
That is an accusation that has been levelled at them for a long time. I can't remember all the details, but I do believe that quite a bit of the royal family's expenditures come from their own income from rent etc. They do get \"paid\" for their charitable and ceremonial duties, which is really hard work. They attract a lot of interest world-wide (which is again evident now), and they, and their properties and activities, are a great tourist draw. While I can see that it costs quite a bit, I feel the world would be a lot more drab without them. I personally love the pomp and pageantry. And given what UK weather can be like, some colour is much appreciated!
That said, having the British Royal family sticking around, to remind us of how far the empire on which the sun never sets has fallen, is a great history lesson for the future generations.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.
Popular Topics