Living in Singapore

1.1k Posts 42 Posters 93.9k Views 1 Watching
    • Liew Nga WingL Offline
      Liew Nga Wing

It is very simple, if you think the price is too high and not reasonable, then don’t go there to eat. There are others cafe, restaurants and food courts at Vivo City. Some people like to go this kind of atas places and we can have our own choice.

pirate

🀷 Ya lor. What's wrong with $91 kailan when he doesn't see anything wrong with $46 chrysanthemum tea or $7.80 siew mai?

pirate\" post_id=\"2087403\" time=\"1667187828\" user_id=\"66252:

🀷 Ya lor. What's wrong with $91 kailan when he doesn't see anything wrong with $46 chrysanthemum tea or $7.80 siew mai?
          There are 8-9 people. So it would be $5 per person for chrysanthemum tea. Ok lah... although it is not my cup of tea.
          But they even charge $10 for pickles. I thought that should be complimentary. :scratchhead:

• Liew Nga WingL Offline
            Liew Nga Wing

$10.00 for pickles and S$7.80 Siew Mai are usual prices in those atas Chinese Restaurants nowadays. I will budget for S$80 to S$100 when I join my friends’ gathering at such restaurants. F & B industries wants to earn back their loss during the lock down period.

• floppyF Offline
              floppy

pirate\" post_id=\"2087403\" time=\"1667187828\" user_id=\"66252:

The top grade ι»„ε±±θ΄‘θŠ or θƒŽθŠ can cost ~S$100 for 500g online while those slightly better quality ones will still cost ~S$20 each. I guess if these are served in a fanciful restaurant, $46 chrysanthemum tea is 'reasonable' for a pot after adding in their shipping & service fee (or middleman costs), profit margin and overheads.

Mind you, the diners should be lucky that they didn't order the ι“Άι’ˆ tea (if available). TWG used to offer the gold leaves version at > S$1,000 per 50g! The non-gold leaves, better quality ones will still cost you > S$100 for 250g without factoring the price of someone serving you in a restaurant πŸ˜‚

sushi88

We buy HK Kai Lan weekly....so that kind of price is :yikes: to us..

I don't know if prices that have gone up will ever come down... 🀷 It's really not right to try to make back the 2 years in a rapid mode like this in grossly over-pricing the food. It just takes the fun out of eating outside when you feel that you are being ripped off....seriously. And the thing is all biz ppl, they just copy regardless if they are operating as a hawker or in a shopping mall. These days unless you know where to buy the good deal stuff, HDB prices are not so good too. We have been recee-ing different HDB places for hawker food and trying to establish which stalls are still the worthwhile patronising ones. Currently, the cheapest chicken rice I have found is $3.50 and that is like a treasure... πŸ˜‚

Nobody likes to feel that they are being taken as a carrot....in Hokkien we say \"ka cai tao\"?

Once the sellers realise that people are just too poor to be able to keep up with the prices, things will go back down. The war in Ukraine is just an excuse for the Arabs to hike up petrol prices. Let’s see how long they can tahan.

pirate

sushi88\" post_id=\"2087437\" time=\"1667199279\" user_id=\"100857:

Nobody likes to feel that they are being taken as a carrot....in Hokkien we say \"ka cai tao\"?
                    Cai tao kueh is $6.30++ πŸ˜‚

So $91 for 2 large Kai lan is ok what πŸ˜‰ . Should have ordered dessert as well...

Wait... Since when did Crystal Jade become 'atas'?

• starlight1968sgS Offline
                      starlight1968sg

Crystal Jade is atas!

• Liew Nga WingL Offline
                        Liew Nga Wing

pirate\" post_id=\"2087443\" time=\"1667203768\" user_id=\"66252:

Cai tao kueh is $6.30++ πŸ˜‚

So $91 for 2 large Kai lan is ok what πŸ˜‰ . Should have ordered dessert as well...

Wait... Since when did Crystal Jade become 'atas'?
                        The one in Vivo City is Crystal Jade Pavilion not Crystal Jade Kitchen and therefore the price is high.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 9 / 106

MabelChuahM
                        MabelChuah