All About Wushu
Thanks for sharing your experience, jedamum.

Yes, i do agree if the routine gets too routine,
it would somehow make the child lose interest.
Yap, as with any other course the teacher is
the key to children's motivation.
I will try out wushu for her first since it is offered
in her school. She also seemed keen for taekwondo,
but hubs is not so agreeable but didn't say why...:|
Gymnastics may still be on the cards but due to cost
and travel distance, i'm putting it on hold for the moment.
Will see how her interest goes from there as it will take a
couple of months to see if she is really into it or not. Like
you mentioned, interest would also play a part as well.
Is DS1 still doing wushu or you just tried out for that 6mths?
Btw, does anyone know if wushu is also a DSA sport? -
Hi smurf, i thought you’re residing in Yishun?
You shifted? -
after 6mths, although we paid for the next 6 mths, ds1 told us that he lost interest. and also cos we didn't see any marked improvement to his toufu-style or stamina or posture, we stopped his lessons.
Is DS1 still doing wushu or you just tried out for that 6mths?
from the looks of how he display the routine, can roughly see if he has 'style'/potential/interest or not. -
Staying at PIL’s place now at AMK, and will be shifting again…hahah…
Alamak smurf, poor you..
Must be tiring for you shifting about..
Must take care okay? :hugs: -
...from the looks of how he display the routine, can roughly see if he has 'style'/potential/interest or not.
Thanks again jedamum. :celebrate: I will look out for the points mentioned
above. Very useful indeed. Thanks once again.
Much appreciated.
Huh, you mean $50 for 6 mths?? Oh, I don't know about the rates...it's conducted by the school set up by Vincent Ng, Wufang, the head coach is a local and the rest of the coaches are from PRC. Did your boy learn the weapons?
CC also cost $148? then yours must be a good one!
my boy used to attend CC wushu at $50 for 6mths! weekly of 2 hrs each.
Dd actually wanted taekwondo initially, after seeing them perform at a RC event. We went to the cc near our place to enquire but the taekwondo classes have already started for a month so need to wait till the next term and the staff there was suggesting wushu, sent her for trial lesson and the rest is history. She has been doing it for almost 1.5 years already. We are happy with her progress so far, went through 3 grading tests and have mastered 2 types of weapons at the basic level, now into her third. Of course they learn the most basic (think it's know as san duan) of each weapon than progress to the intermediate and advance where there are more steps/movements involved.
In fact after reading about the few incidents involving taekwondo, we were glad that we did not sign her up for that.
Buds, I believe wushu is a DSA sport but not many sec schools offer that hence the choice is limited. -
barney:
...it's conducted by the school set up by Vincent Ng, Wufang, the head coach is a local and the rest of the coaches are from PRC. Did your boy learn the weapons?
Wah, by Vincent Ng leh. Can share the name of the school and the
instructors? Can PM me if not convenient to post up here.
How long into the sport before children are introduced to the weapons?
What are the 1st and 2nd weapons introduced?barney:
DD2 wanted taekwondo first, then ballet.. taekwondo and ballet both hubsDd actually wanted taekwondo initially, after seeing them perform at a RC event.
didn't approve. So, i thought of either gymnastics or wushu.barney:
Wow. 1.5yrs oredi. Not bad at all...She has been doing it for almost 1.5 years already. We are happy with her progress so far, went through 3 grading tests and have mastered 2 types of weapons at the basic level, now into her third. Of course they learn the most basic (think it's know as san duan) of each weapon than progress to the intermediate and advance where there are more steps/movements involved.
barney:
Thanks barney for your fruitful sharing! :celebrate:Buds, I believe wushu is a DSA sport but not many sec schools offer that hence the choice is limited.
Hey buds, here's the school's website -
http://www.wufangsingapore.com/contact.html
You can see that they actually conduct classes at several cc. I believe the introduction of weapons varies from school to school. The practice at the cc where dd is taking up classes is basic quan for the first 2 terms, after that there's no fixed schedule as to which weapons they'll be trained on. When we check with the head coach what's the next weapon, his reply will be depending on what type of weapons his supplier has stock on.
Dd did the sword, followed by spear and is now doing the broad sword.
My dd also very tomboy, we've asked her if she's interested in ballet and received a strong NO from her, actually hubby also not in favor of her doing ballet. We've not thought of gymnastics, as there's no school near home. We are typically very lazy parents so will only consider if the courses are nearby. :oops: -
We oso same la barney.. that's why due to
distance & travel, gymnastics gotta wait
while we try out wushu.. :lol:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.