All About ADHD : Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder
slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2105064\" time=\"1681268884\" user_id=\"28674:
Ok young boy does exhibit classroom disruptive behaviour like talking to classmates when completed work early, walking around classroom with disregard for authority. But boy is indeed smart, chatty and not afraid of strangers, no patience to complete task on hand too. Also commit many careless mistakes in class for Chinese only. Strange so many times parent was called in for boy’s behaviour but none suggested intervention means so ??
It is a fine line. And the younger the child, the harder to distinguish. If it's borderline, I would probably hesitate to get a formal diagnosis and DIY first. But by the teens, it will usually become more apparent as the difference between \"young and immature\" and \"having an issue\" becomes more clearer. -
I personally find dd exhibit maturity rather early. Eg. around 5yo, I can trust her with her baby sister. She was very timid when with strangers before her sis came. The first thing I took extra note when I was very busy after the younger came, she actually trying to do things on her own like eg she was trying to cut her finger nails and obvious that she doesn't have the strength to clip yet denied my offer to help.
She analysed my situation and gave me advice during my difficult period and she was only at upper primary. She can do as many as 6 to 8 NYPS Maths papers in 1 day and caught up with her study in 1 year in different language..how do I reconcile
She had some activities after school yesterday. I packed rice with soup for her recess in school and bread with bakkwa as extra. She is always bad in planning.
I told her eat the rice first. Can leave the flask in school if not convenient to bring over. Yesterday when I fetched her in the evening, again looking half dead too hungry…she told me she drank the soup only before going out. Ate the bread during break. She needs energy for the activities mah…I was so angry. I told her this kind of planning just common sense leh. Other ppl don’t need ppl tell also understand how to arrange…Her case many times already…CCA till very late and need do energy activities and she go skip meal and looked so frail when I pick her up. Yesterday was really angry. Told her if overseas haven’t come out from airport may have met pick pocket liao la. The self mgt, taking care of ownself really bad. -
MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2105075\" time=\"1681272777\" user_id=\"43981:
Sounds like a smart independent girl…..
I personally find dd exhibit maturity rather early. Eg. around 5yo, I can trust her with her baby sister. She was very timid when with strangers before her sis came. The first thing I took extra note when I was very busy after the younger came, she actually trying to do things on her own like eg she was trying to cut her finger nails and obvious that she doesn't have the strength to clip yet denied my offer to help.
She analysed my situation and gave me advice during my difficult period and she was only at upper primary. She can do as many as 6 to 8 NYPS Maths papers in 1 day and caught up with her study in 1 year in different language..how do I reconcile
MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2105078\" time=\"1681273579\" user_id=\"43981:
This kind of behaviour happen even with us adults. 'Caught up' is what I will describe your daughter. She is caught up in all the stuff that is happening and is more in reactive mode than proactive mode. Which is a lot of us anyways.
She had some activities after school yesterday. I packed rice with soup for her recess in school and bread with bakkwa as extra. She is always bad in planning.
I told her eat the rice first. Can leave the flask in school if not convenient to bring over. Yesterday when I fetched her in the evening, again looking half dead too hungry..she told me she drank the soup only before going out. Ate the bread during break. She needs energy for the activities mah..I was so angry. I told her this kind of planning just common sense leh. Other ppl don't need ppl tell also understand how to arrange..Her case many times already..CCA till very late and need do energy activities and she go skip meal and looked so frail when I pick her up. Yesterday was really angry. Told her if overseas haven't come out from airport may have met pick pocket liao la. The self mgt, taking care of ownself really bad.
So many things happening and we are handling all that needs to be done, come lunch time, not hungry so eat only a little or maybe even skip lunch could also be no appetite cos busy. Then when the hunger pangs start hitting, things are running at full speed, not possible to step out to grab a quick bite, so tahan, by end of the day, totally burn out.
I believe this is a very familiar scenario with a lot of us. I am still guilty of such behaviour a few times a year. :oops:
Unfortunately I do not have any solution for you, DD and DS behave like this as well especially when it comes crunch time in their academic year or competition time. I will remind them not to push themselves too far or they might fall sick even before they reach the finishing line and all will be wasted.
I do step in and put my foot down if I feel that they are stretching themselves too thin. I have done things like threaten DS that I will pull the plug of his computer and confiscate the power adapter if he does not stop doing his work and go to sleep when he was still mugging at 2am on a school night after a few consecutive nights of 2am mugging.
DD is worse as she has a bit of a 'hyper' streak in her. She wants to do so many things all at once and will sacrifice sleep and meals just so she can squeeze time to do these stuff. And most of which are not school related, they are her interest of the moment. -
Imp75\" post_id=\"2105073\" time=\"1681272054\" user_id=\"2358:
Walking around the classroom at inappropriate times is a big red flag.
Ok young boy does exhibit classroom disruptive behaviour like talking to classmates when completed work early, walking around classroom with disregard for authority. But boy is indeed smart, chatty and not afraid of strangers, no patience to complete task on hand too. Also commit many careless mistakes in class for Chinese only. Strange so many times parent was called in for boy’s behaviour but none suggested intervention means so ??
Teachers are not in the position to suggest intervention. At most they will bring up the unusual behavior to the parents (and they have, havent they?) The next step is for the parents to take.
To put it plainly, if they think he is gifted and this behavior is due to boredom with the pace of lesson, wait till P3 to see if he gets into GEP, and whether the faster pace tones down the disruptive behavior.
But if he doesnt get in (no patience to complete the screening exam??) then should seriously look at longer term - how is he going to cope with being in a standard P3-6 class of 40 kids, still gonna walk around talking to others?
DS had a classmate in P6, still disrupting the class’ PSLE preps by daily exhibiting behaviour like lolling around on the floor drinking water & pretending to be drunk & shouting nonsense. Or making ambulance siren sound such that classmates couldnt hear the teacher over his noises. Parent was informed of his behaviors but still no use. The most the teachers could do was ask discipline master to bring him out for a walk.
Think about whether this is the best outcome for the child or not. -
To add on, if the boy is attending any enrichment classes after school, class size is smaller and presumably faster pace or topic is what he’s interested in (eg robotics etc). Find out if the enrichment teachers also see the same behavior during their lessons.
If they feedback that he is engaged & seated happily during their lessons, then maybe it is truly just boredom with school curriculum pace. -
zac's mum\" post_id=\"2105086\" time=\"1681276817\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2105086 time=1681276817 user_id=53606]
Good idea. Boy attended tienhsia and abacus……seems to be no issue finishing work le….
To add on, if the boy is attending any enrichment classes after school, class size is smaller and presumably faster pace or topic is what he’s interested in (eg robotics etc). Find out if the enrichment teachers also see the same behavior during their lessons.
If they feedback that he is engaged & seated happily during their lessons, then maybe it is truly just boredom with school curriculum pace.[/quote] -
MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2105075\" time=\"1681272777\" user_id=\"43981:
Don't confuse maturity, social skills, analytical thinking, etc with attention span, executive function etc. Kids come in different packages of traits - just because they are smart doesn't mean they don't have attention issues. Often, attention issues are ignored when they are smart and catch on quickly in early years, but as material becomes more complex and difficult to master, lack of attention will start to be more of a hindrance. It doesn't mean that a child who is good at a few things must necessarily not have any learning disability; just as a child with a disability isn't necessarily poor at everything else.
zac's mum\" post_id=\"2105085\" time=\"1681276260\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2105085 time=1681276260 user_id=53606]
This sounds more like ASD (which is often comorbid with ADHD).
DS had a classmate in P6, still disrupting the class’ PSLE preps by daily exhibiting behaviour like lolling around on the floor drinking water & pretending to be drunk & shouting nonsense. Or making ambulance siren sound such that classmates couldnt hear the teacher over his noises. Parent was informed of his behaviors but still no use. The most the teachers could do was ask discipline master to bring him out for a walk.
Think about whether this is the best outcome for the child or not.[/quote]
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.