Living in Singapore
lee_yl\" post_id=\"2106263\" time=\"1682223462\" user_id=\"17023:
Esteema's post doesn't ooze anger so doesn't qualify as a rant.
Please define ranting. Sharing an anecdote is called ranting? It is after reading Esteema’s post that I recall and share reasons why some PRs are unlikely to renounce their original citizenship. Then Esteema’s sharing about the PRC uncle who invested 20mil still can’t get PR, is also ranting?
People don't want to renounce their original citizenship, just want to stay in Singapore to spend their retirement money here you also buay song. Say until like they choose to reside in Singapore to live in hospital all the time they are here in order to steal hospital beds.
:pokeeye:
Psst. Tell you a secret. The majority of PRs who retire and cannot afford to live in Singapore already go back to their home countries where it is cheaper or where they enjoy benefits paid for by their governments lah. Garment don't have to chase them away lah. They don't want to convert to Singapore citizen precisely because they want to go home when they grow old. You want to force them all to convert to Singapore citizens to grow old here for what? Totally no logic. :roll: -
I am very scare 😱 because my company management may think due to my ageing, I may be having more MC and more medical claims and contribute less to the company compare to those young graduates and therefore I should go back to my home instead of sharing the company resources. I am fortunate because the Government is not thinking in this way and I am still able to earn a living.
I do not feel the need to be aggrieved with PRs who are elderly, as they wld hv contributed to our economy in some ways when they’re younger or might still be contributing with business running.
The fact that they’ve to pay higher medical fees as PRs, alr contributing, o’wise, many wld hv returned to their home country with much less costlier healthcare as many M’sians, Indians & PRC Chinese wld hv. I rmbr my own mother (tho naturalized emigrant), wld keep harping abt going back China despite the poor condition way back before China was open up. Deep in their hearts, they want to go back to their birthplace & I’m sure deep in their minds, they’re aware healthcare not as superb as in SG. I rmbr repeating the possibility of relatives emptying her coffers when she need help most in old age & she can’t return to SG. I call her stubborn beyond reason then, but looking at how other immigrant elderlies’ similar eventual return to their hometown, I now u’stand. Hope my mother forgive me for my ignorance of human emotions & attachments.
My SIL hv been looking fwd to all the “free” medical downunder when she got her PR status. Yet, she returns to SG for her cataract op with her cousin for the trusted medical care. This is more an emotional decision then due to fear of poor medical care. At least in SG, PRs are made to pay a differential pricing. At the time this SIL got her PR, her retired elder sister cld not qualify. I think that’s fair, despite the willing donor to sponsor her application, as she will not be contributing to Aussie economy thereafter & will be impinging on their healthcare for her heart problems. Eventually, she hv no PR but happy that in SG, she can trust her care to Dr Maurice Choo.
Live & let live lor -
Liew Nga Wing\" post_id=\"2106273\" time=\"1682227866\" user_id=\"195250:[quote=\"Liew Nga Wing\" post_id=2106273 time=1682227866 user_id=195250]
One also needs to recognize that there is something known as retirement age to allow for rejuvenation of the company.
I am very scare 😱 because my company management may think due to my ageing, I may be having more MC and more medical claims and contribute less to the company compare to those young graduates and therefore I should go back to my home instead of sharing the company resources. I am fortunate because the Government is not thinking in this way and I am still able to earn a living.[/quote] -
Liew Nga Wing\" post_id=\"2106273\" time=\"1682227866\" user_id=\"195250:[quote=\"Liew Nga Wing\" post_id=2106273 time=1682227866 user_id=195250]
I understand your concerns.
I am very scare 😱 because my company management may think due to my ageing, I may be having more MC and more medical claims and contribute less to the company compare to those young graduates and therefore I should go back to my home instead of sharing the company resources. I am fortunate because the Government is not thinking in this way and I am still able to earn a living.[/quote]
Everybody grows old and will fall sick etc.
Both retirement and re-employment age have been raised to allow more senior workers to remain in the workforce. -
pirate\" post_id=\"2106270\" time=\"1682226037\" user_id=\"66252:
Again, your own colored perception. Which part of my specific post oozed anger?
Esteema's post doesn't ooze anger so doesn't qualify as a rant.
People don't want to renounce their original citizenship, just want to stay in Singapore to spend their retirement money here you also buay song. Say until like they choose to reside in Singapore to live in hospital all the time they are here in order to steal hospital beds.
:pokeeye:
Psst. Tell you a secret. The majority of PRs who retire and cannot afford to live in Singapore already go back to their home countries where it is cheaper or where they enjoy benefits paid for by their governments lah. Garment don't have to chase them away lah. They don't want to convert to Singapore citizen precisely because they want to go home when they grow old. You want to force them all to convert to Singapore citizens to grow old here for what? Totally no logic. :roll:
My point about sharing the anecdotes about the HK and Indon friends is that since one group of PRs has never wanted to become Singaporean anyway, then it’s fair that at a certain stage, their PR status should not be renewed. I never want to force them all to be one. -
Estéema\" post_id=\"2106275\" time=\"1682229152\" user_id=\"66413:
Actually, this is what I am trying to say all this while. Like how the Australian government did not grant your SIL’s elder sister PR as 1). Not going to contribute to the Aussie economy, 2). Her age profile, 3). Her health condition likely to burden the healthcare system in future.
... I think that’s fair, despite the willing donor to sponsor her application, as she will not be contributing to Aussie economy thereafter & will be impinging on their healthcare for her heart problems. Eventually, she hv no PR but happy that in SG, she can trust her care to Dr Maurice Choo.
Something that our SG govt can keep in view to mitigate our impending super-aged state. -
lee_yl\" post_id=\"2106321\" time=\"1682244331\" user_id=\"17023:
Then what you are saying is superfluous 废话, because at a certain stage those PRs will go home anyway. Only some rich ones [I]may[/I] stay behind when they grow old.
My point about sharing the anecdotes about the HK and Indon friends is that since one group of PRs has never wanted to become Singaporean anyway, then it’s fair that at a certain stage, their PR status should not be renewed. I never want to force them all to be one.
What you are proposing just makes Singapore look small-minded. -
lee_yl\" post_id=\"2106325\" time=\"1682247303\" user_id=\"17023:
You can trust our govt to hv considered this age criteria.
Actually, this is what I am trying to say all this while. Like how the Australian government did not grant your SIL’s elder sister PR as 1). Not going to contribute to the Aussie economy, 2). Her age profile, 3). Her health condition likely to burden the healthcare system in future.
Something that our SG govt can keep in view to mitigate our impending super-aged state.
As the past, our population need to fast track growth of young contributing population & hence we’ve seen our authorities issuing invitations for PR applications to graduating young ppl fr our local unis (think in the 80s-90s). That’s alr targeting higher numbers of professionals.
In addition, when I was with the research institutions, we were helping to process recommendations for meeting PR thro criteria of performance & targeting the next generation. I rmbr one of our valued research doctorate was ready to accept a Japanese company’s offer to return to Beijing to head the company startup there. However, his children, having studied & made frds in SG, refused to move back to China. That was such a brilliant plan to target PRs for not just the applicant but their subsequent generation.
Amongst my PRC & other friends incl westerners, many are not able to obtain their PRs & I suspect coz they’re typically in their 50s and they’ve typically shown they’ve businesses & homes in other parts of the globe besides SG. I do not see these past 50s getting approvals for their applications & hence we shld be able to surmise the elderly (having wealth alone disregarded) are not getting PRs approved nor renewed without fulfilling the tighter criterion implemented.
I’ve also heard many accounts of foreigners (westerners & Indian nationals) lamenting their anxieties to quickly obtain SG PRs rather than later so their can build their family & wealth in SG. One reason I heard was that they do not mind pouring their wealth to park in “sought after SG PR/citizenship” rather then sought if US or European PRs/citizenships for which they’ll be surrendering >50% of their hardwork to worldwide taxes.
So, our authorities are keeping a tight reign at our border gates. Hope we can learn to relax more. -
Anybody goes to the polyclinic for consultation?
One has to make an appointment. The application opens after 10pm the day before.
In the past, I walked in and just wait for my turn. My colleague had been turned away without an appointment.
While going to the GP is an option, the polyclinic is much cheaper.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.