Me Time!
MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2108193\" time=\"1683725080\" user_id=\"43981:
No paiseh la. My MIL only joins us for festive celebrations in church but o’wise she doesn’t visit. This CNY, she woke up early to join SIL in her church & hop over after a quick snack to join my family at our church which ended with a buffet lunch. She not paiseh one hor.
Chief has a purpose to go to church..I m feeling paiseh now. -
Estéema\" post_id=\"2108186\" time=\"1683722296\" user_id=\"66413:
Wow, so attractive....got food 😋, any broad games playing after the services?
No need to pay. We have monthly fellowship lunch to bring people together. It started with some individuals sponsoring anonymously, thereafter, we went on cell group sponsorship on rotation as the church grew. In a way, these lunches which are ordered fr various vendors, gave business & the ice cream vendor has been dishing out generous helpings & no limit to the number of rounds till stocks run dry.
So just come join us for food, fun & fellowship. If Chief comes, u’ll hv do much to chat lor
I was in church from primary school up to 21 years old. I had never doubt the present of \"God\" and studied Bible for a few year. During my schcool day, I read a short paragraph of Bible every morning in the school canteen before I started my class. But even I believe there is God and Jesus Christ, then so what? What else besides every Sunday going for service and chat with other?
During these years, lot of people tried their best to bring me back to church, like ex boy friend, colleagues even SIL but all failed because I know how a service is run, what are the stories in the Bibles. I was frustrated when those church people quoted \"God this, God that\" but their behaviour is not following the teaching of Jesus.
The recent years, I started to believe \"因果\" in life. When ever I face any problems, I will think of the root cause of the problem, what is my responsibility on causing the present situation, what can be done to improve or adjust my future fate......just go church for service is not a way for me. -
MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2108193\" time=\"1683725080\" user_id=\"43981:
Why paiseh? Even your purpose to go church is : to eat lunch also no problem and I am sure everyone there will welcome you.
Chief has a purpose to go to church..I m feeling paiseh now. -
slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2108175\" time=\"1683714470\" user_id=\"28674:
Thanks! Will check out your recommendations. When I take classes, I seldom show up in class
Many churches run \"Alpha courses\" which are designed for people to ask questions - you could get a friend to go with you?
I do my reading separately. Just that I find it more effective than spending a couple of hours listening to a droning voice.
Estéema\" post_id=\"2108192\" time=\"1683724077\" user_id=\"66413:
Thanks Estéema. I think my friend was in this course every week for nearly 10 years. Maybe it is the same course. Let me get used to going to church every week first
I’m warm by yr personal effort to visit Trinity Christian Church @ Paya Lebar to try to re-engage with God that you hv put your faith in the Lord you knew.
ChiefKiasu\" post_id=\"2108197\" time=\"1683729232\" user_id=\"3:
Some aspect of Alpha classes are quite interactive & interesting. Not exactly yr typical sit in class passive participation. Give it a try
Thanks! Will check out your recommendations. When I take classes, I seldom show up in class
I do my reading separately. Just that I find it more effective than spending a couple of hours listening to a droning voice. -
ChiefKiasu\" post_id=\"2108203\" time=\"1683729723\" user_id=\"3:
Take your time. I don’t know if Trinity Christian Church offers The Alpha Courses, but some Methodist & Bible Presbyterian does offer it.
Thanks Estéema. I think my friend was in this course every week for nearly 10 years. Maybe it is the same course. Let me get used to going to church every week first
Liew Nga Wing\" post_id=\"2108195\" time=\"1683725853\" user_id=\"195250:[quote=\"Liew Nga Wing\" post_id=2108195 time=1683725853 user_id=195250]
The purpose in attending church is not just attending for the sake of showing up or just chit chat with others. We benefit fr understanding the inspired messages and the meaning we find fr these messages expounded by speakers. Oftentimes, ppl can go to church Sunday after Sunday, but nvr internalize the messages.
Wow, so attractive....got food 😋, any broad games playing after the services?
I was in church from primary school up to 21 years old. I had never doubt the present of \"God\" and studied Bible for a few year. During my schcool day, I read a short paragraph of Bible every morning in the school canteen before I started my class. But even I believe there is God and Jesus Christ, then so what? What else besides every Sunday going for service and chat with other?
During these years, lot of people tried their best to bring me back to church, like ex boy friend, colleagues even SIL but all failed because I know how a service is run, what are the stories in the Bibles. I was frustrated when those church people quoted \"God this, God that\" but their behaviour is not following the teaching of Jesus.
The recent years, I started to believe \"因果\" in life. When ever I face any problems, I will think of the root cause of the problem, what is my responsibility on causing the present situation, what can be done to improve or adjust my future fate......just go church for service is not a way for me.[/quote]
More importantly , the meaning of being a believer is to establish a relationship with God and hence be inspired to know where our imperfections is, then we see Jesus the Christ as the bridge and our hope for eternal life and to connect us to God. A believer knows that as humans, we are fallen & imperfect. We do not depend on our own strength but for Jesus to be the one that’ll perfect us & cleanse us fr those behaviour you might hv been frustrated with or feel as hypocritical.
As a child, I used to get very annoyed & even critical abt some ppl’s behaviour. Now, I’ve learnt not to judge coz each of us are answerable to God eventually & each of us hv diff circumstances & need God to open our eyes to our own shortcomings. This includes myself, coz I know I’m not perfect but when I’m shown my blindside, I asks for forgiveness.
There are scholars who read the Bible fr 1st to last book, yet hv no u’stand’g or relationship with Jesus. It’s just head knowledge. Same way, I do not idol worship any pastor or Christian leaders.
Going to church service is my way 1st to connect with God & learn what new insight He will reveal to me and 2nd to be in a community of ppl who attends to minister (I used to teach Sunday school, do flower arrangements, etc) and be ministered to (receive sound advices and hear how my fellow believers hv been blessed or the circumstances they’re going thro).
Different seasons see my own growth as a believer in different strength & grow in diff aspect. S’times, my Christian growth comes in the form of trials & difficulties.
One previous turning point for me was when I was a caregiver to my FIL, but during those period, everybody was hoping FIL will believe and he mistook my intentions so very often. All my BILs & DH hv been thro very authoritarian control under FIL & will not point out the u just accusations he’ll load on me. Thankfully, DH & SIL comforts me. Eventually, in the last days, my FIL said sth to everyone in the family to ensure they do not hold grudge on me & he’s learnt to forgive himself for being harsh to all my efforts caring for him. I’ve learnt not to lean on my own feelings & u’stand’g but there are other things going on and I’m there as a purpose for someone else to see God & if I believe in not harming anyone but blessing others, I persist despite feeling aggrieved. So how long will I feel that way will be how much I depend on the Lord to carry me through it all.
We do not know if he did eventually believe in Jesus, but on the day of his demise, both hubby & one BIL said the same prayer in their hearts - to thank God for choosing each of us as believers into God’s family and asking that God had chosen FIL. Our family lived in peace knowing that all is in God’s hands will work out for our family.
MIL agreed to only do a simple funeral. What is more impt is all her children & grandchildren are protected fr discord as FIL made peace with us. Youngest BIL attest to FIL change in his heart towards me & the last week towards his numbered days (I didn’t know back then), he wld call me often as if he trust all the suggestions & care DH & I cld pull together for his wellbeing. Looking back, I’m thankful for the peaceful changes in our relationships.
My wish for you is that you give yourself a chance to reconnect with God again and test Him out if He will be your great & mighty God. Don’t look at others (men/women). Don’t look at me coz we are all fallen beings. Look at what Christ had done to knock at the door of your heart. -
Esteema
I always admire you. You know very well that whenever I hv troubles, I will seek your advice. Thank you for helping me over the years. -
Back to ME time
Busy during the wkends, will get busier from Jun till NDP, as in previous years.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.
Popular Topics