All About Overseas Education

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Tertiary Education - A-Levels, Diplomas, Degrees
    602 Posts 80 Posters 113.3k Views 1 Watching
    • MrsKiasuM Offline
      MrsKiasu

Oh yea…pasta with pasta sauce is really simple and quick to cook. Do some own cooking can save some money.

• doodbugD Offline
        doodbug

zac's mum\" post_id=\"2112331\" time=\"1688445987\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2112331 time=1688445987 user_id=53606]
        There’s student discount. I would usually go for the salad bar where they charge by weight. Pack 1 full plastic takeaway box can eat 2 meals. There’s usually some sort of rice or pasta for carbo & I add the other “liao”, ang mo cai png. Nowadays called poke bowl lor.[/quote]
        i love the nomenclature - ang moh cai png lol!!!
        poke bowl very nutritious actually. chicken is almost always breast meat (wah biang so healthy) haha

• MrsKiasuM Offline
          MrsKiasu

Instant suan la fen in cup is so nice…sorry I m very unhealthy lol.

• doodbugD Offline
            doodbug

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2112335\" time=\"1688446306\" user_id=\"43981:

Instant suan la fen in cup is so nice..sorry I m very unhealthy lol.
            lol you like luo si fen like all the chinese drama?

• sharonkhooS Offline
              sharonkhoo

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2112315\" time=\"1688438034\" user_id=\"43981:

My dds eat instant noodles and also luncheon meat at home..there can buy Maggi, Korean instant noodles/luncheon to cook 😂?
              \"Learning to cook\" has to cover both the \"how to\" as well as the \"what to\". Most kids will know some simple \"how to\" by the time they are teens, but if they only eat ultra-processed food without a good balance of other foods, it's not very good for them for the long term. In Singapore, they mostly eat food prepared in the family or selected by parents; they need to know how to select a reasonable selection of nutritious food when they are on their own, and within the scope of their culinary talents, funds, time, taste, etc.

My daughters have a head start - the joke in my family is that I've been cooking like a student since I was a student! Meaning that I tend to cook within the constraints of student life - low-cost and easily prepared 1-dish meals, with an eye to what is cheap yet nutritious. So when my younger girl went overseas, she already knew the basics of how to manage meals for herself if need be. Initially, she lived in college with 3 meals provided, and only cooked when she felt like it. Then Covid struck. For several months, college food was very limited, and not every day, and so she started to cook more often. Basically, she just cooked the same sort of thing she had watched me cook over the years. Those who grow up in families who cook more elaborately may need more instruction about how to manage simply, within their money and time constraints. Maybe I should teach a course!

• doodbugD Offline
                doodbug

Count me into the one-dish-meal club! That's my type of cooking too. Fuss free, minimal prep lol 🙂

Am the laziest ever, when it comes to cooking.

• sharonkhooS Offline
                  sharonkhoo

MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2112320\" time=\"1688439283\" user_id=\"43981:

I rice cooker or better a multicooker can be used for soup sometimes..get a small fridge. Got an fryer better still.. for holiday, 2nd week already want to eat Asian food.
                  Not suitable for students who live in halls - they are usually not allowed to have electrical appliances in their rooms, and the shared kitchens may not have space. If they rent their own flat, that may be possible. Ideally, they should learn to cook with the most basic utensils - frying pan and pot (and rice cooker if they're Asian).

• doodbugD Offline
                    doodbug

slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2112350\" time=\"1688451527\" user_id=\"28674:

Not suitable for students who live in halls - they are usually not allowed to have electrical appliances in their rooms, and the shared kitchens may not have space. If they rent their own flat, that may be possible. Ideally, they should learn to cook with the most basic utensils - frying pan and pot (and rice cooker if they're Asian).
                    In the UK, most halls now mandate PAT testing of all electrical devices / appliances at the begining of term. Portable heaters, cookers and what not, are not likely to pass, esp if bought from Singapore and not the UK. Most UK hall kitchens don't have open flames either - learn to cook with ovens and heating elements 🙂

• zac's mumZ Offline
                      zac's mum

slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2112350\" time=\"1688451527\" user_id=\"28674:

And they will have to learn to lug home their groceries (including rice and canned goods!) on foot. I was too pampered never having to lift a finger with my SAHM’s grocery run (she usually did her shopping while we were at school).

• doodbugD Offline
                        doodbug

zac's mum\" post_id=\"2112353\" time=\"1688451767\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2112353 time=1688451767 user_id=53606]
                        And they will have to learn to lug home their groceries (including rice and canned goods!) on foot. I was too pampered never having to lift a finger with my SAHM’s grocery run (she usually did her shopping while we were at school).[/quote]
                        yes but in the UK, rice is sold usually in 1kg packs. Can manage lol! 😂
                        It's the liquids (milk) and pasta sauce bottles that were heavy for me.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 26 / 61