Me Time!
starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"2126395\" time=\"1704419181\" user_id=\"14025:
My family just doesn't change shopping/eating habits whether we are using our own cash or CDC vouchers. So it's like putting $500 into savings.
This year, am going to tighten my belt and spend $$ and CDC vouchers \"wisely\".
Wait, I hv a CNY shopping trip soon :imcool: -
starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"2126392\" time=\"1704418338\" user_id=\"14025:
I m glad to see some sun this morning too.
Finally I see some sunshine ... -
slmkhoo\" post_id=\"2126394\" time=\"1704419175\" user_id=\"28674:
Then no need to buy much for your side. I have expired cny goodies almost every year. I tried to control myself till I see the great promo to clear stock :faint: i cannot finish coz only I eat, dh don't like and dds especially selective.
Do you usually buy so much for CNY? Buying for CNY doesn't feature in my life until 2 weeks before the day when I buy a selection (3-4 types) of snacks for the family, and in case I have visitors (rare). That's a calorie-control measure. I may buy something for my parents, but my brother usually gives them more than they can consume, and my mum will pass them to me! -
ChiefKiasu\" post_id=\"2126393\" time=\"1704418392\" user_id=\"3:
You are the winner, chief :udaman: I thought I was not too bad ..$81.56 to give some allowance on errors.
Oh, I spent $80.02 on CNY goodies yesterday too
Wanted to buy $240 actually but the $^%# system only counts $80 per receipt. I guess I'd be bringing my trolley the next 2 times I go to shop
. -
MyPillow\" post_id=\"2126379\" time=\"1704361131\" user_id=\"70594:
Fast hor..mp go tomorrow and report the spending. Not only get voucher happy, spending zhun zhun also happy
wow u fast hand fast legs! good good.
Since young, my parents would buy more goodies (clothes and food) near CNY. It is kind of a reward bec whole year hv been working and saving hard, and CNY is a time to enjoy.
Now I tend to buy more food (only) near CNY.
When my mum was around, I would buy bak kwa, fish maw, cans of abalone, chicken essence etc to celebrate CNY. I would give her $$ to prep CNY and the reunion dinner since am working. Now my younger sis takeover the prep of reunion dinner and I will contribute $$ for her to buy the ingredients. The prep of CNY becomes simpler.
Still I will buy some special food like cans of abalone to reward myself for a year of hard work and saving
MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2126400\" time=\"1704420181\" user_id=\"43981:
yes, must count and buy in multiples of $80 to get the Return Voucher.
Fast hor..mp go tomorrow and report the spending. Not only get voucher happy, spending zhun zhun also happy
Come to think of it, last year it was $6 for every $55 spent; I think last year's deal was slightly better.
Compare this promo with the other supermarkets, which one offers the BEST deal ? :roll: -
MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"2126398\" time=\"1704419950\" user_id=\"43981:
MKS
Then no need to buy much for your side. I have expired cny goodies almost every year. I tried to control myself till I see the great promo to clear stock :faint: i cannot finish coz only I eat, dh don't like and dds especially selective.
Always check expiry date of the food and try to buy those with furthest expiry date. Else dont buy too much since you are unable to finish before the expiry date.
I am glad to say that I dont hv this prob. Maybe I dont buy so much due to limited space. -
starlight1968sg\" post_id=\"2126401\" time=\"1704420633\" user_id=\"14025:
I actually don't like the CNY food in blue above, and strictly limit bak kwa which we all like. Usually I will buy just 1 packet and cut into small pieces to ration them out. And we get to eat some when visiting other people!
Since young, my parents would buy more goodies (clothes and food) near CNY. It is kind of a reward bec whole year hv been working and saving hard, and CNY is a time to enjoy.
Now I tend to buy more food (only) near CNY.
When my mum was around, I would buy bak kwa, fish maw, cans of abalone, chicken essence etc to celebrate CNY. I would give her $$ to prep CNY and the reunion dinner since am working. Now my younger sis takeover the prep of reunion dinner and I will contribute $$ for her to buy the ingredients. The prep of CNY becomes simpler.
Still I will buy some special food like cans of abalone to reward myself for a year of hard work and saving
Luckily, my husband is the youngest of 7, and his eldest brother's wife is the best cook. And his eldest 2 sisters do most of the organising. So ever since I joined the family, for family events, I just show up and eat! -
I m very guilty of wasting food. Opened cannot finish cannot donate. I discarded abalone before coz our family don’t eat…expired liao.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.