Any Mommies in mid-late 30s or over 40 with small children ?

200 Posts 53 Posters 56.3k Views 1 Watching
      tree nymph

Fettuccine:

Me too, kids call me \"auntie xxxx\".
      Now that I lost some weight, wah those uncle/auntie start calling me \"xiao mei\". Nice to hear hehe...
      wah, like that i also better lose some weight. time to chomp down all those chocolates in the fridge and not buying anymore!

Augmum

tree nymph:

wah, like that i also better lose some weight. time to chomp down all those chocolates in the fridge and not buying anymore!
        haha.....tree nymph, after chopping chocolates down, then go for buffet .... 😉

Augmum

DesertWind:
          duriz:

[quote=\"KopiYing\"]Count me in.

I'm 40 this year, have a 27 mth old boy & a 5 mth old gal. Who can beat me?

Me 😄

Hi KopiYing,
          You still OK lah! My friend gave birth to first kid at age 43! :lol:
          :celebrate:[/quote]wow.....any prob in conceiving ??

Augmum

DesertWind:

Hi Augmum, Duriz,

I had my BB when I was 38. My gynae explained to us very clearly about the amniocentesis test and what it does. He also explained about the risk and told us usually women will go for it if they already have one or two kids, over 35 and don't want to take the risk. After much consideration, I decided not to do the amnio test because I do not want to take even the slightest risk being my first BB! Because my gynae had already done a full blood test with results indicating BB is OK hence I decided not to do the amnio. Subsequently, gynae also does neck distance test through scanning etc. But such tests are not as accurate as amnio lor.

It takes a very brave person to say she will not do any tests, will not abort and will accept the child for whatever he/she is. In my opinion, this is regardless of any religion.
            hi DesertWind,
            thks for yr sharing too.....
            yes, it really takes a very brave mummy to say \"no\" to the test
            for my cousin's case, since it is the 4 th child, i think she shdn't take the risk of not testing, (unlike yrs being the 1 st baby)
            although decision made is regardless of any religion,
            she really put total faith in her religion ......i really \"peifu\" her

tree nymph

tree nymph:

haha.....tree nymph, after chopping chocolates down, then go for buffet .... 😉

don';t like that lah, i really want to watch my weight liao... i just came back from chilli crab dinner...

:evil: :evil:

tree nymph

Me too, my gynae recommended me to do the amniocentesis test for my number two although I was just 35 then. I didn’t go for the full test during my first trimester as i was prepared to do the amniocentesis test. For me, its not about aborting the foetus if its not healthy but rather to be mentally prepared if its a candidate for down. Bear in mind that though the test can detect down, it will not detect if the child is normal in other ways, for example, if the child is a retard or if there’s anything wrong with the heart etc.

I didn’t go for the test when I had my third one simply because the baby was in a very tight position and there’s no way for my gynae to puncture through without hurting the baby… so we just crossed our fingers…

HappyAvon

duriz:

I figured if someone is older than the child but no more than 10 years, can be addressed as jiejie. But anyone older than the child by 10 or more years should be addressed as aunty. not to confused the children mah 🙂

Usu don't call aunty unless married lah

I have a good fren in her mid 30's now and still single..many years ago, when my girl was learning to talk, I taught her to call my fren \"yi yi\" (aunty) but in mandarin..sounds nicer mah...My fren requested to be called jie jie...and so girl had been calling her jie jie all along....Recently, my fren came to my house and after she had left...my girl was asking me is jie jie married?? I said no and that's y u are calling her jie jie....If she is married, she will be adressed as aunty...She said \"But she is so old oredi\"...

tree nymph

HappyAvon:

I have a good fren in her mid 30's now and still single..many years ago, when my girl was learning to talk, I taught her to call my fren \"yi yi\" (aunty) but in mandarin..sounds nicer mah...My fren requested to be called jie jie...and so girl had been calling her jie jie all along....Recently, my fren came to my house and after she had left...my girl was asking me is jie jie married?? I said no and that's y u are calling her jie jie....If she is married, she will be adressed as aunty...She said \"But she is so old oredi\"...
                    different generation? cos if my kids call my friends jiejie then my friends may have to start to call me aunty? Does that mean my friend became same generation as my kids?

Should our kids call our friends aunty and uncle cos our friends are same generation as us, where else our kids are one generation behind us? Its just like our unmarried siblings, our kids still need to call them aunty and uncle...

:?

sleepy

tamarind:
                      Dear all mommies,

Do you remember the first time other people call you \"auntie\" ? How do you feel ?

😉
                      Don't quite remember. Mostly being addressed as 大姐 by food stall owners.
                      probably because they cannot bring themselves to lie to greet me as 小姐 yet don't want to offend customers so don't greet them aunties

As far as I can recall, it's the 阿婆 who call me auntie when they need help reading price tag at NTUC

sleepy

tree nymph:
                        different generation? cos if my kids call my friends jiejie then my friends may have to start to call me aunty? Does that mean my friend became same generation as my kids?

Should our kids call our friends aunty and uncle cos our friends are same generation as us, where else our kids are one generation behind us? Its just like our unmarried siblings, our kids still need to call them aunty and uncle...

:?
                        My kids greet my friends as auntie/uncle follow by name
                        regardless of marital status

My dd used to have a teacher in her 50s when she was 3 yo. I asked her to greet her as 'teacher follow by name'. She kept saying 'auntie teacher', took her a while to keep the 'auntie' out

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 16 / 20

labvaL
                        labva
                        EducareTutoringE
                        EducareTutoring