All About Preparing For Primary One
... Tah men ye sher jiang hua yu - they also speak in mandarin...
buds... I always feel like
everytime I read your experiences helping the underachievers do well. I think that is so much more meaningful than helping already bright kids get into GEP.
PS. Your \"Beijing-leg\" is showing in the above. Gotta tone down the tongue-curling
Wow buds.... *speechless* you take my breath away.... You are great!
How lucky that little boy is to have you to help him!
Er, my son huh... he likes.... everything! Loves numbers, loves art, loves music, loves science stuff, loves to read. Hmmm, thanks for asking me what he likes - now I have an inkling how I can help by tapping on his favourite activities. His reading level should be fine, I think. This past week he picked Charlie and the Chocolate Factory to read to his sister and brother as their bedtime story (I farm out my mummy duties when busy :oops: ) Unfortunately he doesn't like to write at all
(any tips??). His kindergarten only just started distributing spelling lists out for the rest of the term, so this will be his first 'real' homework.
Anyway, I just realized that he claimed to know all the words because according to him, he had already looked at them and he remembers what the words look like :? Definitely not an orthodox way of learning spelling imo, but when I quiz him he can spew them out, in fact he even recited some words backwards to prove to me what he did. My new question, in Singlish.... like that also can work meh??? -
Hahahaa! Now you will make others who didn't notice,buds:
... Tah men ye sher jiang hua yu - they also speak in mandarin...
buds... I always feel like
everytime I read your experiences helping the underachievers do well. I think that is so much more meaningful than helping already bright kids get into GEP.
PS. Your \"Beijing-leg\" is showing in the above. Gotta tone down the tongue-curling
notice it too. Thought it wasn't so obvious. Trust you
to notice.. chen sher de :faint:
I work freelance so i like to take up more meaningful
work to interest me enough to get out of bed to be
the PTWM.
Gives me a kick out of it in a way..
Though the improvements may not be distinctions, it
was a great feeling to know they didn't totally drown,
and that there always is a 2nd chance for everyone.
I usually only consider by word of mouth recommendations
from friends, or re-route them to language coaches i know
of. If the timing fits our SAHM hours then good, if not we
normally politely decline. As SAHM family and home has
became more of a priority... Have stopped catering to the
masses. -
clarabella:
Errmm... orthodox or not he can make it leh..Wow buds.... *speechless* you take my breath away.... You are great!
How lucky that little boy is to have you to help him!
Er, my son huh... he likes.... everything! Loves numbers, loves art, loves music, loves science stuff, loves to read. Hmmm, thanks for asking me what he likes - now I have an inkling how I can help by tapping on his favourite activities. His reading level should be fine, I think. This past week he picked Charlie and the Chocolate Factory to read to his sister and brother as their bedtime story (I farm out my mummy duties when busy :oops: ) Unfortunately he doesn't like to write at all
(any tips??). His kindergarten only just started distributing spelling lists out for the rest of the term, so this will be his first 'real' homework.
Anyway, I just realized that he claimed to know all the words because according to him, he had already looked at them and he remembers what the words look like :? Definitely not an orthodox way of learning spelling imo, but when I quiz him he can spew them out, in fact he even recited some words backwards to prove to me what he did. My new question, in Singlish.... like that also can work meh???
So, should be can work lor..
Means I cannot ‘help’ him already… cos I only know the orthodox way and he of course thinks it’s crazy to repeat all the letters one by one.
Hey, but i guess if it ain’t broken, don’t fix it…
Thanks again, buds, for your great ideas. You are definitely a very inspiring mum! Wo men de hao bang yang! -
You're most welcome, clarabella momma.
Hey, you're the famous momma now with
your nick in clear view accompanied with
your most recent post put up for portal
publication in Digital Life thee other day!
Yeah, if it ain't broken, it doesn't need fixing.
:celebrate: -
Hi, I am gonna return back to Singapore after 4 yrs in Beijing and my son will be starting P1 in 2010. I need some advice on what to prepare him for P1 in Singapore.
He attended full day school here in Beijing, standard slightly lower than K2 in Singapore. He is quite ok with Phonics, and some simple Chinese Characters. Only learnt addition and subtraction up to 20. We will only be returning in end July which I think will be too late to be enrolling into any K2 classess. Am thinking of putting him into day time enrichment courses. Any recommendations? -
returning:
Hi, I am gonna return back to Singapore after 4 yrs in Beijing and my son will be starting P1 in 2010. I need some advice on what to prepare him for P1 in Singapore.?
Heyya returning, here are two sites you can read up on (extensively)
on the what's to prepare for primary syllabus here in Singapore. The
English site starts on from P2. But in my opinion, its almost similar
to the one done for P1. This will be helpful to you unless the school
you're putting your child into goes with the STELLAR programme, ie.
No textbooks.
http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/syllabuses/sciences/files/maths-primary-2007.pdf
http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/syllabuses/languages-and-literature/files/english-primary-secondary.pdf
My kiddie's school still uses the textbooks. The topics covered are
quite diverse and my kiddie finds them interesting. However if you
require some information on STELLAR programme, you can view here.
http://www.stellarliteracy.sg/returning:
Better late than never, returning. I say just put him in a kindergarten forHe attended full day school here in Beijing, standard slightly lower than K2 in Singapore. He is quite ok with Phonics, and some simple Chinese Characters. Only learnt addition and subtraction up to 20. We will only be returning in end July which I think will be too late to be enrolling into any K2 classess.
K2 just to give him an insight anyway. Unless you have plans to allow him
to be enrolled only for the enrichment programmes...
Heard from my friend who were in Shanghai for a couple of years,
the school there for their kids, is more international school types for
expat (Singaporeans) and the curriculum is more thematic and play
based, as compared to the academic-driven curriculum in Singapore.
Hope this helps, returning.
Best regards. -
Hiya buds!You're most welcome, clarabella momma.
Hey, you're the famous momma now with
your nick in clear view accompanied with
your most recent post put up for portal
publication in Digital Life thee other day!
Somehow I didn't see this post from you, paiseh. So now I'm very perplexed - how come KSP was in Digital Life way back in, let me see, March?? Not very clued in, sorry, drowning in exam woes (myself, not my kids)! -
Hey Buds,
Thank you so much for your advise. yes, I am undecided between enrichment programmes to prepare him in the areas that are lacking or just to put him into Kindergarten and let the school do the job. However I am also worried that the school might be confusing for him since he did not follow the programme from the beginning of the year.
However, thanks for the advice anyway.
Cheers
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.