Below are the current tuition expenses for my girls:
Maths - 2 hours a week, $220 x 2 for 4 lessons
Chinese - 2 hours a week, $325 x 2 for 5 lessonsTotal costs $1,090 for my two girls.
I spent the most when my 3 kids are in P6. Fees vary depending on the centre.
Science Ventures- $280/ month per kid (P6) $300/ month (lower Sec)
Mastery Science P6 - $490 (P6)
English - $350/month (P6) TLL
Chinese - $260/month (P6) Wang Learning
Private tuition Maths - $440/mth (P6)
Private tuition Chinese - $560/mth (lower sec) -
We spend quite a lot

For 1 child
English, Math, Science at The Polished Word : $ 1860
Chinese at Wang Lao Shi: $350
Piano Private : $540
Karate Academy : $200
Total : nearly $3000
@Working_Kiasu_Mum - My P6 girl tuition works out to -
- English - $480
- Science - $490
- Math - $340
- Chinese - $280
- Guzheng - $320
Monthly - $1910
Below are the current tuition expenses for my girls:
Maths - 2 hours a week, $220 x 2 for 4 lessons
Chinese - 2 hours a week, $325 x 2 for 5 lessonsTotal costs $1,090 for my two girls.
We have an article up on our website about tuition spending!
Wondering how many of you use a benchmark, such as the 50-30-20 rule, to cap tuition spending? (Something like 50% of income on needs, 30% on wants, 20% on savings?) And if so, is tuition a need or a want?
When our tuition + enrichment expenses for two kids started to cross the 2k/mth mark (in total, not per kid), I started to monitor the expense more closely, and it became a game of trade-offs.
Both my kids were interested in sports at one stage, where kids train with private coaches almost daily if they’re serious about school competitions, DSA or joining the national teams. Factor in additional costs for exposure, such as attending workshops by visiting coaches or travelling to join overseas events, and it’s a lot to think about.
I find that the household income needs to be above the national median, otherwise these costs quickly become burdensome and unsustainable.
I am so happy now that my kids are in lower secondary school. I cut down so much on tuition fees

Just to share a new article on our website:
https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/article/ask-mr-money-what-is-the-real-cost-of-spending-too-much-on-tuitionI think it highlights the long-term effects of our tuition (and enrichment) spending, especially if we’re not helping our kids to invest at the same time.
In my case, sometimes I was torn between wanting to help my kids develop their passions vs the reality here (e.g. the avenues for sports development are still limited, so the likelihood of progression e.g. to the Olympics is unlikely). But we didn’t want to say things like “oh there’s no future for you in gymnastics.”
It’s a balancing act!
Wah this topic really make me think damn lot sia lol. My two kids both in primary school and I spend around $800-$1200/month on tuition and enrichment combined. For primary school can start with one tuition subject then add more as they go to higher primary lah.
For enrichment, don’t need to overload them. Better to find something they actually enjoy and can stick with for long term. My daughter she loves art class so we keep that, but for academic tuition I only do English and Math. Science can wait until secondary school if needed lor.
One tip I learn: always try the free trial first before committing. My son went through like 3 tutors before we found one that click. Sometimes it’s not about the qualification but whether the tutor can connect with your child, mah.
Btw anyone tried online tutoring platform? I been hearing about OmniBox Tutor from a friend lah. Seems quite convenient cause you can match with tutors based on your child’s specific needs. Might be good for busy parents who don’t have time to travel to tuition centres. Anyone has experience with it? Would love to hear sia~
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.