National Junior College (Junior High)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Parent Networking Groups
    5.3k Posts 467 Posters 852.0k Views 1 Watching
    • phankaoP Offline
      phankao

My boy's overall was pulled down by HCL. Hiaz.
      But he was one of the top in Math. Really good!

Augmum

Jennifer, my gal's (in DHS) overall was also pulled down by her HCL.....
        ironically, her HCL is one of her best subjects (besides maths) in her primary school.......
        yet, still consider no good in DHS..... šŸ˜‰ šŸ˜›

• JenniferJ Offline
          Jennifer

ironically, her HCl is one of her best subjects (besides maths) in her primary school.......

DHS is SAP. Std must be considerably high.

My boy all along weak in Chinese. Last year PSLE also dunno how he managed an A for NC.

The tutor claimed HCL at sec sch level is a huge jump from HCL at pri level. MUST read newspaper articles. I also at loss how to help him. :oops:

• JenniferJ Offline
            Jennifer

But he was one of the top in Math. Really good!

Ya, luckily he has other subjects to cover. I dun expect him to make to Dean's List, but sth still needs to be done to his HCL.

I remembered your boy has a pte tutor. Can share what type of work does the tutor cover?

I asked him whether he needs compo tuition again, he just dismissed the idea saying the compo lessons were not helpful.

Jenn

[quote=\"Jennifer\"]

ironically, her HCl is one of her best subjects (besides maths) in her primary school.......

DHS is SAP. Std must be considerably high.

My boy all along weak in Chinese. Last year PSLE also dunno how he managed an A for NC.

The tutor claimed HCL at sec sch level is a huge jump from HCL at pri level. MUST read newspaper articles. I also at loss how to help him. :oops:[/quote]Many high ability kids who are weak in chinese showhow manage to pull a \"A\" for chinese in PSLE. However for someone without a A* in chinese or not having taken higher chinese in primary school, doing HCL in secondary school will be a huge jump. Even some students who have taken HCL in pri school are known to drop higher chinese.

Personally, I would have opted for express chinese instead of HCL and take the learning at a slower pace (if this option is available in NJC). If you are in a non IP school doing O levels, doing HCL is key to getting the bonus points to improve your chance of getting into a good JC. But if you are already in a IP school, then you probably don't need higher chines to stay in the program (maybe for the SAP schools).

• phankaoP Offline
                phankao

I remembered your boy has a pte tutor. Can share what type of work does the tutor cover?
                I think they do quite a bit of comprehension, not so much compo - I think most writing is based on either book reviews or \"zhou ji\". I'm not sure how much it is helping him really.

• JenniferJ Offline
                  Jennifer

Jenn:
                  Many high ability kids who are weak in chinese showhow manage to pull a \"A\" for chinese in PSLE. However for someone without a A* in chinese or not having taken higher chinese in primary school, doing HCL in secondary school will be a huge jump. Even some students who have taken HCL in pri school are known to drop higher chinese.

Personally, I would have opted for express chinese instead of HCL and take the learning at a slower pace (if this option is available in NJC). If you are in a non IP school doing O levels, doing HCL is key to getting the bonus points to improve your chance of getting into a good JC. But if you are already in a IP school, then you probably don't need higher chines to stay in the program (maybe for the SAP schools).
                  I had wanted him not to take HCL at sec sch, that's why we dsa at non-SAP sec sch. Then he wanted to come to NJC instead of the dsa sch. We were not clear whether HCL is compulsory at NJC as the admin email stated \"not compulsory\" but ksp parents who attended the open house said they heard it was compulsory. So ended up we withdrew from the dsa sch, went to submit appeal at NJC, then were informed HCL at NJC is compulsory for first two years. Too late liao lor.

• JenniferJ Offline
                    Jennifer

I think they do quite a bit of comprehension, not so much compo - I think most writing is based on either book reviews or \"zhou ji\". I'm not sure how much it is helping him really.

How has your boy been scoring for the sch compo assignments. My boy keeps failing or just passed :oops:

• phankaoP Offline
                      phankao

How has your boy been scoring for the sch compo assignments. My boy keeps failing or just passed :oops:
                      He has been doing quite satisfactory for compo, considering his standard. Not fantastic, but not just pass, lah.

He never did take HCL and only got A for his CL at PSLE, but we were daring enough for the HCL at NJC, thinking that they have a good number of years to work on it, being in IP so thot can be \"brave enough\" to stomach the challenge.

Actually his CL tutor(a current JC teacher) says that the difference between HCL & CL at sec sch level is not so stark? Any parents who have children taking both who can comment on that?

• JenniferJ Offline
                        Jennifer

so thot can be \"brave enough\" to stomach the challenge.

Ya, my boy said this initially \"Let me try out first.\"

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 147 / 534

zaizaimomZ
                        zaizaimom
                        WordWizardsW
                        WordWizards