All About Montessori

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    1.6k Posts 327 Posters 923.3k Views 1 Watching

sunsweet:
      eh so any books to recommend that i can read to give enhance her Montessori learning ?

SURE DO!

http://www.postimage.org/

Basic Montessori has been devised as a clear and modern explanation of Montessori's revolutionary ideas about early intellectual development and provides a step-by-step guide to the Montessori learning activities most commonly used with under-fives. These include activities for introducing reading and writing, counting and decimal concepts, science and geography, as well as activities that help develop the child's practical and sensorial skills.

This guide by Elizabeth Hainstock, a leading Montessori authority, gives eloquent expression to Maria Montessori's ideas through her own writings. She presents a history of the woman and her movement, and develops a balanced assessment of the method as an established alternative and supplement to traditional learning practices.

A few of the questions fairy and fully answered in this text are:
      * What makes the Montessori method different?
      * Are all schools that call themselves Montessori genuine?
      * What is the role of he teacher in Montessori?
      * Can Montessori stifle a child's creativity?
      * Has Montessori been proven effective by test results?
      * Is Montessori outdated?
      * Is the Montessori method rigid?
      * Is Montessori too expensive to be practical?

Adapted for easy use with children at home and based on the key ideas that create confident, independent children in Montessori schools, this inspiring book shows parents how to deal with children's physical and intellectual growth from birth to six years.

* Gives insights into how parents can respond to each stage of development.

* Provides strategies for helping children develop self-discipline, respect, and kindness.

* Includes tips for tackling problems such as temper tantrums and sibling rivalry.

* Activities, outings, and games tailored to children's changing interests and abilities.

This publication provides parents with a good grounding in Montessori principles with numerous ways of supporting and complementing their children's Montessori learning experience. It is easy to read and packed with ideas, activities and games that can fit into your normal routine.

What really happens inside a Montessori classroom? How do teachers teach? How do children learn? this fascinating day-by-day record in the year of the life of a Montessori classroom answers these questions by providing an illuminating and practical glimpse of the Montessori method in action.

sunsweet:
        During my child's playgp session she will have abt 15min free play b4 or after the class.. so grandma and her often have chance to play with the toy that is on the shelves.

I've seen my gal playing the box of 4 colour bears where they sort of the colours in the differnt plates.

she is very good at it.. and we use that to do not only recognising of colours (red, blue, yellow, green), sorting and also we do counting with it.

I was trying to find those balancing scale to teach her weight too.. but i dun see that in her class..

You idea of using toys to sort colours is also fun.. but usually 1 toy has many colors so might be difficult to explain to her

The acrylic card u mention i see many secondary colours mention.. i wonder we can DIY the cards.. cos it must be expensive to buy them.
        Yup, just DIY please.. their materials are very expensive.
        You can use beads or chips or pebbles - they sell in jars.
        Can find at Learn thru Play. Or cheapo one from DAISO
        oso caaannn! No problem. Just remember - the intent is
        purposeful work, all right! 😎

Yes, very good. Include counting... include other aspects
        as well during those teachable moments. Just keep at it.
        You'll see the results and be very satisfied... then can buy
        me cappucino, ok! :lol:

Weighing scale Kiddie Palace and Toys R Us may have...
        If i do see anywhere, i tell you ok.

Btw, can PM me the name of your child's centre?

sunsweet

thanks for the titles…

i’ll pick them up either from library/ bookstore soon…

Buds, you are staying in the west area?

Any good 1/2 day pre-nursery i can consider fr my gal when she reches 3… cos currently my only choice is a daily 2 hr session at the MMI near my place… location is impt for me cos my #2 due in july and grandma cannot be bringing the young one so far for her class daily…

sunsweet

haha i got this nick cos i no innovative enough.. got this fav snack \"Sunsweet prunes\" on my desk so got this nick sunsweet..

also nicer to call if ever meet with forum ppl mah..

if got silly nicks like \"piggy\" 😛 then everyone will call me piggy if they ever meet me.. I would rather not meet anyone then haha..

Sorrry ah no offence to anyone nick themselve piggy 😛

Buds, you are teaching in a Montessori school? keke you student are forunate to have a hardworking and resourceful teacher like you 🙂

anywya i'm still lost on how workgroup goes.. should be run like the playgroup class of children does individual activities? I have not had a peek at the workgroup class as yet.

Yup! Me... west.

You can try Amazing Star Montessori
              (Jelapang & Choa Chu Kang) or the
              lovely Tulip Montessori (Yew Tee) or
              Ichiban Montessori (many centres in west).

Can take transport lah.. Mine both transport.
              No need to trouble anyone and rain shine still
              can go to school without fail. Convenience &
              independence. Only inconvenience the pocket!
              :lol: :lol: :lol:

sunsweet

so young take school bus?

humm... 1st its difficult to settle them in school how to make them take school bus?? keke

eh i better not diviate too far from the topic .. 😛

sunsweet:
                  haha i got this nick cos i no innovative enough.. got this fav snack \"Sunsweet prunes\" on my desk so got this nick sunsweet..

also nicer to call if ever meet with forum ppl mah..

if got silly nicks like \"piggy\" 😛 then everyone will call me piggy if they ever meet me.. I would rather not meet anyone then haha..

Sorrry ah no offence to anyone nick themselve piggy 😛

Buds, you are teaching in a Montessori school? keke you student are forunate to have a hardworking and resourceful teacher like you 🙂

anywya i'm still lost on how workgroup goes.. should be run like the playgroup class of children does individual activities? I have not had a peek at the workgroup class as yet.
                  My school ah?
                  Now... (Buds > short form for) Buddies Montessori Group!!
                  Wuahahahahahaa! Ya, right!!! My students? My 2 pampered
                  girls lah. I save on enrichment by teaching the girls on my own.

sunsweet

so young take school bus?

humm... 1st its difficult to settle them in school how to make them take school bus?? keke

eh i better not diviate too far from the topic .. 😛

sunsweet

so buds are u a FTWM?

keke i hope i have the passion to make more fun learning materials for my lil 1 🙂

sunsweet:
                        so buds are u a FTWM?

keke i hope i have the passion to make more fun learning materials for my lil 1 🙂
                        I am SAHM, have freelance stints on and off and only if i feel like
                        doing! So long stay home becoming manja liao.. Next year when
                        both in Pri Sch, i'm gonna change status already, PTWM! Cannot
                        \"F\" yet. Mebbe much much later when kiddies more independent
                        and older.. see how. Still considering the helper issue laa...

*Ah-la-mak... sori if the \"F\" part sound a bit vulgar. No intention, k.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 12 / 165