Koon Kee - Wok Hei horfun
Hi Augmum,hi VitoRelax
i saw yr posting abt the wok hei hor fun, so tempted,
so told hub to go down to buy today.....
hub reached there ard 5 p.m, the whole coffeshop was so dark except one or 2 stalls opening for business....
and the stall u mentioned, all neatly packed up , not ready for business leh....
btw, what is their business hrs....(called them yesterday, they said 5 p.m but boh lang leh) and when is their rest days (if any) ??
Sorry, forgot to inform you, they close on Tuesday lah .... :slapshead: :slapshead: :slapshead:
They also closed from 2pm to 5pm .... -
hi vitorelax
aiyo....no wonder lah......
y i am so lucky to go there on tuesday
anyway, today told hub to go there to try again since gal's school ended late becos of CCA,
he kinda of \"Huh.....tell me to go and try again??\".....
but thanksfully, he still kwai kwai go.......
ok....feedback to u now....
went there ard 7 p.m, bot $10, qty ok...not alot
strong wok hei smell just like what u mentioned
tapao using a white leaf , brings back memories of my childhood's hor fun
but wonder do they wash the leaf......haha
got standard, just that the prawns are not so fresh......
but i like this type of \"true sea prawns\"
unlike most of the hawkers nowadays using those pond prawns....no taste.....
on the whole, a good recommedation....thks for sharing...
i don't think they use lard to fry the hor fun, right??
btw, have u tried the hor fun at one of the Zi char at geylang (can't remember lor what??)
it also served Dim sum
i was there twice b4 quite sometime ago, but it was closed,
think it had changed ownership....
i missed their beef horfun and also their seafood horfun
even if they reopens, wonder still the same standard.....
anyone try b4 recently?? -
Dont worry, even though I frequent there often, there are still many times that I went there & after parking & walk there ... only to realize that it is a Tuesday :slapshead: :slapshead: :slapshead:hi vitorelax
aiyo....no wonder lah......
y i am so lucky to go there on tuesday
[quote]
ok....feedback to u now....
went there ard 7 p.m, bot $10, qty ok...not alot[/quote]The horfun may not be a lot but I think they are quite generous with the ingredients [quote]strong wok hei smell just like what u mentioned [/quote]Yes, i like wok hei smell ... 2 years ago the wok hei smell was stronger ...
[quote]tapao using a white leaf , brings back memories of my childhood's hor fun
but wonder do they wash the leaf......haha[/quote]wonder where they get the white leaf from ?
[quote]got standard, just that the prawns are not so fresh......[/quote]Really ? ... but for me 90% of the time are super fresh ... maybe you ganna the 10%
[quote]but i like this type of \"true sea prawns\"
unlike most of the hawkers nowadays using those pond prawns....no taste.....[/quote]Yes, they use \"sea prawn\" & big size too !!
[quote]on the whole, a good recommedation....thks for sharing...[/quote]You're welcome, good food are meant to be shared ...
[quote]i don't think they use lard to fry the hor fun, right??[/quote]Hmmm ... not too sure leh ....
[quote]btw, have u tried the hor fun at one of the Zi char at geylang (can't remember lor what??)
it also served Dim sum[/quote]No leh, havent try any horfun in geylang. Which Lrg is that ? -
ya lorr.....i am always so \"lucky\" haha
Really ? ... but for me 90% of the time are super fresh ... maybe you ganna the 10%
my gal was surprised to see so big sized prawns for fried hor fun,Yes, they use \"sea prawn\" & big size too !!
i remembered seeing these when i was young and also the type of fish they used.......all so familiar sight
the geylang horfun shop is located at the corner whereby they also served dim sum (steamed on the spot),
quite popular, maybe the shop is still ard now, but wonder if they have change the chef or ownership......missed the beef horfun -
:drool: :drool:
Thanks for the recommedation, VitoRelax. Shall check Horfun stall out this weekend.
keroppi:
Thanks for the recommedation, VitoRelax. Shall check Horfun stall out this weekend.
oh vitorelax, prob u shd ask for a cut in commission fr the owner for recommendating customers to him.....
No need lah, I think he knows lah.keroppi:
oh vitorelax, prob u shd ask for a cut in commission fr the owner for recommendating customers to him.....
Bcos whenever I go there to eat, i find my horfun is always bigger portion as compared to others. Maybe that explain why the big prawn he gave me always fresh one.
my fav hor fun, Teck Hin @ Ghim Moh mart finally re-opened after abt 3 mths absence…but with different owners!! :x
The horfun is still not bad but seriously lacking some ‘oomph!’ of the previous version.
heard the ex-owner went on to set up a porrdige stall in the same FC but was not opened when I last visited on Sat.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.