Overcrowded MRT at peak hours

71 Posts 24 Posters 20.3k Views 1 Watching
      Picolo

Alamak, i think vicki meant over 3 pregnancies lahโ€ฆ

HyperKiasu

Picolo:
        Alamak, i think vicki meant over 3 pregnancies lah...

i think so...
        ๐Ÿ˜›

i had same experience as vicki when i was pregnant.

and those who gave up seat to me, 80% of the time were non-chinese!!

haiz, better lower our expectation else very disappointed... ๐Ÿ˜ž

vicki

HyperKiasu:
          Picolo:

Alamak, i think vicki meant over 3 pregnancies lah...

i think so...
          ๐Ÿ˜›

i had same experience as vicki when i was pregnant.

and those who gave up seat to me, 80% of the time were non-chinese!!

haiz, better lower our expectation else very disappointed... ๐Ÿ˜ž

Aiyo! Confirm 3 pregnancies lah!! Otherwise i would have a \"ne zha\" kid liao!! :scratchhead:

tamarind

I have written to LTA before, to ask them to impose a fine on those people sitting on the reserved seats but refused to give up their seats for people in need.

But they did not take any action. Those making decisions probably do not travel by MRT. Hopefully more people can feedback to LTA so that they can do something about it.

hquek

Itโ€™s easy to say โ€˜levy a fineโ€™ but then how to execute it? And more importantly, how to ensure that we sustain the effort?

I think the best way is to enforce civic consciousness, start when kids are young and constantly drill into them.

And it helps if those who are in need ask politely those who are sitting if they can give up the seat. If done politely, the worse that can happen is a rejection.

I like that in Japan/Korea, those old pp assert their rights to seats on buses/trains; there is this respect for the elderly (although I recall one glaring incident when the grandma went overboard). Have we as Singaporeans lost the respect/empathy we should have for those weaker/in need?

hquek

tamarind:
                Those making decisions probably do not travel by MRT.

I quite agree with this point. One of my pet wishes is for our ministers/MPs to take public transport - enjoy the long and unknown waiting times (buses), the closeness of the body to body contact, the agony of not being able to squeeze on the bus (no place even to stand on the steps) although one is really going to be late.

tamarind

There are cameras in every section of the train. I have read a news article where some passengers ate food and were fined. They do monitor the passengers through the cameras.

• FunzF Offline
                    Funz

tamarind:

Those making decisions probably do not travel by MRT.

I quite agree with this point. One of my pet wishes is for our ministers/MPs to take public transport - enjoy the long and unknown waiting times (buses), the closeness of the body to body contact, the agony of not being able to squeeze on the bus (no place even to stand on the steps) although one is really going to be late.

Problem is when an MP or minister does deign to take the MRT, the entire station will be cleared for them to 'enjoy' the ride.

tamarind

I like that in Japan/Korea, those old pp assert their rights to seats on buses/trains; there is this respect for the elderly (although I recall one glaring incident when the grandma went overboard). Have we as Singaporeans lost the respect/empathy we should have for those weaker/in need?
                      When I was in Japan, I found that those reserved seats were always empty, even when the train was very crowded. No healthy young person dare to sit on those reserved seats.

tamarind

[quote=\"tamarind\"]Those making decisions probably do not travel by MRT.

Problem is when an MP or minister does deign to take the MRT, the entire station will be cleared for them to 'enjoy' the ride.[/quote] :lol:

These MPs should borrow a 15kg kid and try to carry him and stand all the way from Boon Lay to Raffles place during peak hours.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 6 / 8

CupNoodleC
                        CupNoodle