[Bukit Timah] Primary Schools
Uhh just curious.. :? .. Are the number of PRs announced in the notice board??
tingting2424:
Overheard, rgps 62 places, 64 within 1km, out of 64, 7 are spr..
Any news for nyps? -
I just heard from cousin’s wife. 60+ students fighting for 36 places in NYPS. Sorry don’t have exact details. All these students are staying within 1km.
tingting2424:
The ballot should then be held just for the 7 PRs!!!Overheard, rgps 62 places, 64 within 1km, out of 64, 7 are spr..
In case like this, we SCs, after all the sacrifices, should be given REAL priority !
My goodness, can someone with connections appeal ?
I'm not even talking abt converted SCs. Real PRs with no roots here should not be given the same priority as us.
The 2 slip/1 slip thing is a false \"priority\" scheme. I have friends doing balloting in 2B, with all the PRs getting in! -
ya lor, saw a couple (both blue IDs) one oriental and one angmo registering today at 4pm. feel like telling them to try international school…haiz, worst alot of new citizens also applied to both schools, 65 + 68 total. Like what LKY said, we have to accept the fact that they are here to stay, they will compete for houses, schools and jobs. Like the born and bred SCs, we are all immigrants one time or another…Sorry hor, I was born and bred here.
Lionel Ong:
I don't think so.. Actually I overheard from a grandmother who was at rgps ard 330..Uhh just curious.. :? .. Are the number of PRs announced in the notice board??
tingting2424:
Any news for nyps? -
Lionel Ong:
I don't think so.. Actually I overheard from a grandmother who was at rgps ard 330..Uhh just curious.. :? .. Are the number of PRs announced in the notice board??
tingting2424:
Any news for nyps? -
statistics showed that our birth rate was on the decline since 2002. When it comes to P1 registration, somehow the numbers don’t tally. Now we know who made up the numbers. Welcome to meritocracy…like what dark and tan SPR said online when we were complaining about 55% of the jobs went to foreigners (both resident and work permit holders), we have to make ourselves more marketable to compete.
Hope that we are all awake now…to the new reality… -
IMHO, it is very hard to "blame" the SPRs for making life more difficult in Singapore, whether for jobs, schooling or housing. After all, Singapore is where it is economically due in no small part to liberal immigration and trade policies over most of its history. This in turn has made Singapore a first world country with world class public services such as housing, transport and schooling. Not everyone may agree with me, but being a naturalized Singaporean, I strongly believe that the Government here is one of the most sensible in the world when it comes to immigration policy. Typically, immigrants contribute to the tax intakes, and often quite substantially. Nothing is perfect, and I’m sure the Government will continue tweaking policies in response to a changing environment. I understand the frustrations of those who may miss out on the school of their choice, but please try to think of the positives of life in Singapore and the various reasons for them. I myself will be in the rat race next year and from what I can tell, need to get prepared for a lot of tension and maybe disappointment! Good luck to all.
akmumsg:
The government should simply ban all non-citizens (PRs & foreigners) from registering at phases 1&2, then PRs won't be the scapegoat anymore in this whole madness. Eventually you will only find locals in all the top schools. So much so for diversity :celebrate:
The ballot should then be held just for the 7 PRs!!!tingting2424:
In case like this, we SCs, after all the sacrifices, should be given REAL priority !
My goodness, can someone with connections appeal ?
I'm not even talking abt converted SCs. Real PRs with no roots here should not be given the same priority as us.
The 2 slip/1 slip thing is a false \"priority\" scheme. I have friends doing balloting in 2B, with all the PRs getting in! -
minnie2004:
eventually you will only find locals in all the top schools. So much so for diversity :celebrate:
it's not abt \"diversity\". education, social security, etc, is *always* a privilege of a nation. why PRs cannot buy new HDB ? Because it's a privilege, not a right. Many of the rich angmo PRs are simply treating it as a 5y unlimited visa. Had the PR requirement been more stringent, the privilege of Singapore nation can then be extended to them. BUT look around you, how difficult it is for a foreigner to get a PR ?
Actually I think the gov already realized that. And it's already changing the process to make it harder. But for NOW, we are suffering from the excessive PR policies of the last few years.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.