[Ang Mo Kio/Bishan/Thomson/Toa Payoh] Preschools

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    525 Posts 183 Posters 419.7k Views 1 Watching
      st999

debpch:
      Desertwind,

the parents in AMK/Bishan/Thomson are really quiet... or is it because that these are the old estates and less young parents/small kids?

have heard about carpe diem but have not called...

visited learning horizon during the weekend... quite like the place. anybody has feedback on this?

I would still recommend Bright Start Montessori, above bishan cc, if you are looking for 3hrs school for your child. The place may not look as impressive as some other schools from the outside, but the teachers and helpers are very good and caring. However, they only take in kids between 18mths to 4yrs. So you will need to find K1-K2 for your child again later on.

debpch

hey guys, thanks for the suggestions. 😄

yep, have heard of the singapore montessori kindergarten, but i am a bit confused about what are the differences between montessori & the rest... :?

i have placed myself on the learning horizon waiting list cos quite liked the place... teacher's credentials look good & kids look happy... only concern is that the centre looks a bit inexperienced in the nursery/kindergarten business... oh well, will see...

:idea: recently, was reading some treads where parents were debating on whether to send kids for enrichment only (i.e. separate classes in eng, chinese etc etc) & skip preschool... AMK/Bishan/Yishun seems to have many enrichment centers but few preschools...

i am beginning to consider this option since finding a preschool in AMK (not child care kind) appears to be soooooo difficult. :stupid:

what do you think?

wafercubes

hi, i am new here. am considering 3hr preschool or half day childcare, any comments on these 2?

littlehelper

I think if you are focusing on academic,generally , a kindy will be better.

However if you are looking for play-based/more interaction with the kids her age, half day cc may be better.But it really depends on which centers u are looking at.
            Child care centers are not able to do much in the morning as there will be bathtime/lunch time/kids coming in.etc.
            Kindy got fixed time for kids to come do all the stuff and then go.
            However some CCC’s have a better academic programme.

• DesertWindD Offline
              DesertWind

debpch:
              i am beginning to consider this option since finding a preschool in AMK (not child care kind) appears to be soooooo difficult. :stupid:

what do you think?
              Hi debpch,

Have you considered/checked out Marymount Kindergarden? Highly recommended by a number of parents around this area?

twotwobravo

hi,

does anyone have experience with edufarm daily 2hrs playgroup (18mths - 3yrs old)? esp the one at blk 78 toa payoh central.

have interest to reg mine gal there.

thanks for sharing.

cherrygal

debpch:

:idea: recently, was reading some treads where parents were debating on whether to send kids for enrichment only (i.e. separate classes in eng, chinese etc etc) & skip preschool... AMK/Bishan/Yishun seems to have many enrichment centers but few preschools...

what do you think?
                  Just to share, I find even half a day at a CCC is better than 2-3 hours subject-oriented enrichment... It's more for the socialising than anything. If I compare my kid who goes to full time childcare to my fren's kid who only goes for 2-3 hrs type, my kid learns much more in terms of language skills and manners. Her kid still can't speak English properly as the grandparents don't speak English and just let the kid play and watch TV. 2-3hrs can't help much if the caregivers don't educate the kid the rest of the time. For SAHMs, it would be their job to educate kids after those 2 hours, and who here can say the \"curriculum\" they can provide at home is more all-encompassing than CCCs?

Even if I don't work, I would still send my kid to a childcare for at least half day or more as I am not a trained early childhood educator. It's hard work to be someone like Evelyn Tan who wants to home school her kids.

debpch

desertwind,

thanks for the recc.. but i m less interested in religious kindergartens... just a personal preference...

cherrygal,
                    i am somewhere in between... self-schooling is not for me cos i am a FTWM (& i dun have the experience or patience) but full-time CC sounds too much for my 2-year-old... that's why i am looking for kindergartens... but most good ones are religious (like what desertwind suggested), else they have super long waiting lists (prob need to queue before kid is born... in which case, i dun qualify liao)
                    half day cc is an option but like i say, good ones in AMK is so hard to find... :stupid:

cherrygal

debpch:

cherrygal,
                      i am somewhere in between... self-schooling is not for me cos i am a FTWM (& i dun have the experience or patience) but full-time CC sounds too much for my 2-year-old... that's why i am looking for kindergartens... but most good ones are religious (like what desertwind suggested), else they have super long waiting lists (prob need to queue before kid is born... in which case, i dun qualify liao)
                      half day cc is an option but like i say, good ones in AMK is so hard to find... :stupid:
                      For half day CC, there are a few along Upp Thomson (near Jalan Leban - Jln Gelenggang has a Cheriehearts). It's not that far from AMK esp if your workplace is on the way. I am also a FTWM and I put my ds in Full time CC since he was 18 mths old. He has adjusted well.

• DesertWindD Offline
                        DesertWind

debpch:
                        desertwind,

thanks for the recc.. but i m less interested in religious kindergartens... just a personal preference...
                        Hi debpch,

Understand, how about Patschoolhouse at Whitley Road? Got to take school bus though...there are quite a number of independant kindies/CCC around AMK but after thinking through, I think I don't dare to put my kid at those independant ones. I would like to go for the more established ones. Security is my main concern with those independant ones. Montesorri centres are also out for me hence did not consider the many around Thomson/AMK. As for MMK, I am not from same religion but after a while just got to register here because like what you said, not much choice already leh!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 24 / 53