Eye Level Education Centre (aka Enopi) - Discussion

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Mathematics
    259 Posts 69 Posters 103.0k Views 1 Watching
    • MMMM Offline
      MMM

floatinggate:
      Hi parents, is there any branch in the east, still operating?

Yes at Roxy square. It is an existing Enopi centre so they are not affected by the change.

mum05

The newly renovated Sq 2 branch has started classes yesterday, has anyone joined them?

• laughingcatL Offline
          laughingcat

Just want to share with what I observed for Enopi at Square 2.

class duration:-
          once a week (60-80min)
          twice a week (30-40min)

monthly (only consider 4 weeks; there will not be any lesson on the 5th week) - $140

that means per session will cost $35.

My boy who is currently attending Jelic and we paid $380 for a term and that works out to ~$29 (12 weeks). And each lesson is 1.5hrs

There is a promo till 14 Aug, where reg fee of $30 will be waived and 1st month only pay $70. But must put in the deposit of $140.

Students are allowed to bring their workbook home should there be a homework. Otherwise it will be kept in the school.

Just want to share…today we went for the diagnostic test. I doubt my active boy can tahan the duration as there are relatively less manipulatives compared to Jelic. Also there are too many writings and too much counting, quite "dry" for my boy.

Lastly mummy does not really like the teacher as she does not have the "soft" touch.

Just my 2 cents opinion lah.

mum05

hi laughingcat, I was there wif my kid for the diagnostic test today too. What time were u there? For Maths or English? I find the teachers ok ar, though can't compare with the caucasian teachers but none of maths school I've enquired with has caucasian teachers, heee.

Hmmm, I have no experience with MPM's materials, how are they in comparison to Enopi's?

The fees thingy hadn't occur to me! ...

Btw, is your son still going for the Jelic classes currently? My kid is 5 and thus, if base on MPM's, wld be S$440-S$460/term and I was told that the diagnostic test would cost S$20(which is the 1st I've heard, no centres we've been to, asked for a fee for diagnostic test), Regn fee : S$50, Deposit :S$50.

Enopi's, thanks to the current promo, not mentioning the free 2 weeks trial, there's no regn fee and the deposit kinda work more flexibly in my opinion(as compared to sooo many other enrichment centres), as it can be used to offset the last month's fees(since like all centres, a month's notice of w/drawal is required).

But I like the centre(mayb 'cos it's new, so very clean n tidy), though not a very big one, I like the fact that at least it is their own centre and not some small rented room.

Could you elaborate more on the difference of materials used by these 2 centres? Thanks. πŸ™‚

• laughingcatL Offline
              laughingcat

hello mum05, I was there in the evening. I went to enquire about the maths. Not for English lah, since I am teaching my boy who is 4 yrs old. Hehehehe....also I have material from \"I Can Read\" and so I just follow according to the workbook as a guide.

To me I am okay if the center is rented place. As long as the principal and teachers in charge are serious in running the enrichment center is more important. That is the case at TP MPM which I like alot. Sometime my boy missed the classes, the principal in charge will remind me to put in the replacement date. This is something that I LOVE TP MPM principal for her kind gesture.

FYI.....actually TP MPM was previously at HDB Hub but the rental increase and so they shifted to another place nearby. The shift was about 2 months ago.

To compare between the 2 enrichment centers, they are almost the same in terms of coverage. Both cover heuristic and critical thinking maths. I think the MPM workbook covers more based on the thickness of the workbook. The Enopi materials are a lot thinner and yes they are alot thinner. Also a glance at the manipulatives, Jelic/ MPM have more and more interesting.

But come to think of it, children cannot rely too much colourful material. Otherwise next time how to engage them to serious activity leh? :? Scare not colourful enough and so not too engage in the learning.

I wanted to consider Enopi coz my boy just simply loves maths and I thought of adding another enrichment to his current activities.

As for the teachers that I have seen today are 1 local and 1 korean lady. To compare the teachers between both centers, I think I will not consider enopi for now lah.

mum05

oic. we're signing up, so wl see how. hope ok, πŸ™‚

Oh oh, I don't mean that the centre has to 'own' the premise, many shops/schools are operating on rented shop area too. What I meant was that so far, the MPM centres I've checked/heard, are operating in just one small room rented from other shop premise. That to me, didn't seem committal nor professional enough. That was 1 of the reasons that made me decide otherwise then...

Does MPM allow u to bring back e materials? We've yet started on the work, so am not sure if the materials are thick enough. Are MPM thick materials based on repetition or all different/new ones? Like to find out more in case we find in the future that the time slot/location/whatever doesn't suit us...

As for replacement class, they did tell me that we'd need to hv it within 6 mths, something like that...

Oh I saw 4 staff today, 2 local teachers, 1 staff tending at the reception and 1 korean teacher.

• laughingcatL Offline
                  laughingcat

Yes, MPM allows you to bring back the material home as well. Loads of homework.

I do hope your kiddy love enopi. πŸ˜„

regardless of which centers, most important of all must love what they are doing. :celebrate:

Monster Mummy

My kids also attending the enopi maths in other place but basically they are required to complete two workbook every week. Mostly is one critical and basica where it is not tedious to them. Just that they mostly take longer time to complete basic.

I think that from my point of view, it really trained them in basic arithmetic but this is also subject to different parents perspective requirement to their children.

• laughingcatL Offline
                      laughingcat

Hi Monster Mummy,

Yes it is good to train both heuristic (basic maths) and critical maths. In MPM it also does that as well. Just that parents are not aware that, since MPM does not state that in the title headings of the workbook as clearly like Enopi. πŸ˜„

Monster Mummy

Hi Laughing cat,

Yes. I agreed. That's why I think is quite subjective.

Initially, I also wanted to select the MPM but the course fee and timing is also quite lengthen. Therefore, I spoke to the principal for the current centre they are and quite inspire by her commitment.

Therefore, I can say that it is depend on individual. Of course, I also know friends who bring kid for math enrichment course at MPM or Kumon. Where some give good feedback as well.

πŸ˜„

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 14 / 26