Raffles Institution (Year 1-4)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Parent Networking Groups
    7.2k Posts 652 Posters 2.6m Views 2 Watching
      harish_thiyagrajan.023307hotmail.023307com

Thanks everyone! :celebrate:

I will continue to keep hard working and score high in PSLE.

:congrats: Au....I just kpo why RI thread so active today. Indeed good news!

Pen88n

Au:
          Thanks everyone! :celebrate:

I will continue to keep hard working and score high in PSLE.
          Au, well done and congrats! If you don't mind to share if you are from GEP or mainstream, and what domain did you apply under. Tks

fruitplus

Au, :congrats: Work hard and try your best! All the best to you!!

No news for my son, yet. Probably..... sign....Well, PSLE still got hope!!!

mamatay

fruitplus:
              Au, :congrats: Work hard and try your best! All the best to you!!

No news for my son, yet. Probably..... sign....Well, PSLE still got hope!!!
              That's the spirit..... its not the end of the world - was equally heart-broken but Jia You - PSLE still got chance _ RI wait for my DS

mathsparks

don’t worry too much mamatay and fruitplus, RI only released the majority after psle oral last year thru smail. So there’s still hope, plus the psle results. Good luck!

randomguy

Hi Mathsparks,

You're in luck, I happened to be dawdling by today...
                  Yup, GPA 3.6 refers to the average GPA of all the subjects (as reflected on the progress report). There are actually 2 rounds of application, 1st round based on PR2, 2nd round based on APR, so even if your PR2 does not hit the target 3.6, there is still a chance. There are also appeal cases, which are considered on a case by case basis, although appeal students are typically limited to just 1 RA subject, even if they qualify for 2.

The textbook content is definitely of higher standard, but with a bit of hard work (lots and lotsa internet research) and sufficient interest and passion, things will work out. Reading these books should be a form of leisure, perhaps everyday cover 2 pages and ensure both pages are fully understood, all cheem terms checked, etc. Slowly but surely, your ds' knowledge will increase. You'll be surprised, lots of lower sec science clubbers may be more knowledgeable than the seniors in certain areas! In addition to mugging, practice is also very important - 10 year series will do, just to clarify understanding. If your ds has any queries with the questions I'm sure his seniors and teachers will be happy to entertain his queries. Or you can pm me, I'll try to help ... haha.

Hey Au, :congrats: and welcome to the Rafflesian family! πŸ˜„

Cheers.

PS: All RI supporters, remember to catch NSC on TV tomorrow, especially the last round! πŸ˜›

mathsparks:
                  randomguy:

Hi there,

There are separate RAs for the 3 sciences. Eg, I'm in bio and chem. The choices of RA subjects are: Bio, chem, physics, math, history, literature and geog. Your ds can apply for any RA he would like, as long as his Sec 2 GPA exceeds 3.6 in total , and he obtains a GPA of 4.0 and above for the subject of application (eg, 4.0 for Sec 2 combined science, in order to apply for any of the science RAs).

hi randomguy,
                  hope you're still loitering around. sec2 gpa exceed 3.6. Is this the average of all exam. subjects including HCL? Oh, and thanks for the tip abt the access code thingy. Those books you mentioned are texbks for RA students, would they be too cheem for the sec1s to read? Anyway, ds cant attend the ESP, coz he's got ccas on fridays. 😞

Thanks for your reply.

mathsparks

thx randomguy for replying. paiseh wat's pr2 and apr? ds loves reading research topics on internet, hopping from 1 link to another; he grumbles when i dont borrow books for him. So this looks like a gd way to keep him occupied. And, yep, we'll be watching the nsc. results are known already hor? πŸ˜‰

but I'm fairly certain he'll hv prob w gpa 3.6, his chinese arh, 😞
                    if he can qualify for 1 ra, we'll be so happy le.

Appreciate your reply. You've got pm. πŸ˜‰

mamatay

mathsparks:
                      don't worry too much mamatay and fruitplus, RI only released the majority after psle oral last year thru smail. So there's still hope, plus the psle results. Good luck!

thanks mathspark - thanks for encouragement -

harish_thiyagrajan.023307hotmail.023307com

I am from mainstream, applied under sports domain.

My mum told me that the call she received might possibly be from the sports department. I have not received any confirmation mail in writing till now…

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 54 / 722