All About Montessori

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    1.6k Posts 327 Posters 923.3k Views 1 Watching

About the part to know whether the school is indeed

a Montessori school, i seriously gotta get back to you
      guys again another time... i gotta rest my back and
      fingers now boy... šŸ˜“ šŸ˜“ šŸ˜“

• soomumS Offline
        soomum

THANKS a GREAT deal for the above BUDS :thankyou: Am gonna take time to digest it.

Yes, its so compelling to be teacher/parent directed. I'm an impatient person...not sure if can stay true to 1 method all the way to K2 or not šŸ˜›

soomum:
          THANKS a GREAT deal for the above BUDS :thankyou: Am gonna take time to digest it.

Yes, its so compelling to be teacher/parent directed. I'm an impatient person...not sure if can stay true to 1 method all the way to K2 or not šŸ˜›
          Hehee! It's understood dear... and you're most welcome! šŸ˜‰
          Pre-school shopping ain't like how it used to be during our time..
          The only criteria was must be near. Must be cheap(est)! :lol:
          On top of that, there weren't that many choices then either.. šŸ˜›

Hey, I didn't stay true to one school of thought either! So no worries..
          A bit of both can be good too. šŸ˜„ Important thing is at this young
          tender age, going to school should be something fun that they will
          look forward to (going) everyday..

There's also the trial and error to factor in upon the final decision.
          The teacher you saw the first time was great...then found out she quit
          halfway, teaching your child's class... or teacher was ok, but child did
          not enjoy - kena bully... or cannot adapt that quickly - cry and cry for
          long periods of the day... many many other scenarios. What i'm trying
          to say is that, even through the best decisions (can be expensive ones
          too!)... the child will show you how they like or do not like the place..
          Unless you give the child time and the place a chance to try out, you
          will not know if that is what works for him/her..

Happy shopping! šŸ˜‰

foreverj

hey there buds, enjoyed your postings as usual. really, i think you should get paid for being so \"on the ball\" with your replies. :lol:

anyway, my daughter is in a normal cc. a place where i can \"fang xin\" cos its a well-run place n they are associate school of a well-known brand. so i always tell people i pay half the price for the same curriculum. hehe. in my opinion, its not very academic-based. but i like to think that they focus on other areas like creativity cos they do lots of art and craft (still do at this age of 3) and i enrolled her for kindermusik etc. juz that i dunno if this is enough to prepare her for p1?

m considering josiah montessori in town. i've visited the place during the dec holidays but i do find tt the teachers r quite serious and strict. (was observing the k1 going on k2 kids) seems to me that the kids r well-behaved but kinda stifled-looking. (like not very happy?) academics-wise, i believe josiah is quite well-known for it so i believe no need to worry at p1. wat i like abt josiah is its montessori so my daughter can move at her own pace n not be taught the same thing that her friends r ready to be taught. ks mummy right? :oops:

i did read from a mummy who put her child in josiah that they very not open to letting the parents visit the centre. i agree fully cos i already experienced this when visiting the centre. upfront tell me when the child starts school i cannot sit in. i m like huh? then how i know wat she learn? n the timing i m allowed to visit the place is not lesson time. their rationale is dun want to disturb the learning time.

do u think its worth to change cc? although i m reluctant to since my daughter is well settled in her current school šŸ™‚

Heyya foreverj,

Yeeeaah, i suppose it wud be nice to get paid for it! :evil:
              Wuahahahahaa! :lol: :lol: :lol: Eh seriously lah haa...
              Your girl is 3 and you're here discussing P1 prepz with me.
              Your kiasu-ism defeats my own... hehehehee.. šŸ˜‰

Anyway, this is gonna be a rather long post... šŸ˜“
              just to provide a fair exchange on your current dilemma.
              CAUTION : You may still be un-decided at the end of this post.
              So... You've been warned.. :evil:

Like you said, she is currently in a very well managed place
              and she is happy, now that IS very important. A happy child
              makes a happy mummy, you see... All parents here will agree
              with me on this - that..... we're happy to see our children enjoy
              going to school and looking forward to it every single day..

No crying and negotiating be done.. They like wearing their
              uniforms and they cannot wait to meet their teachers and friends.
              Us being working parents or stay home ones can be at ease.. be it
              at work, at home sleeping, at the gym working out or with friends
              for breakfast/tea... (etc)

A few questions for you to reflect upon here... Help me out, k.
              1.How long has she been in this current childcare?
              2.How long did she take to settle into the childcare environment?
              3.Half day or full day?
              4.What's the distance from your home to the childcare?
              5.And what is the distance going to be to swap to Josiah?
              6.What is your thought on a more-academic based learning centre...
              ie. what you wish your child can be learning?

Yes, while Josiah Montessori has been acknowledged by many parents
              to really prepare for Primary education, there are parents who find the
              nature of it stifling. In other forums, there have been talk that the
              children seemed too well-behaved and everything so in order that it
              didn't feel like a children's environment at a glance. Not to mention the
              many feedbacks received that the staff can be rather uptight by just
              about the mention of parents coming in for anything... From just
              requesting feedbacks... or to just having a look... and stuff... The only
              time you should get to really catch up with the teacher is during >
              Parent Teacher Meeting... for evaluation of the child(ren)'s progress.

I have not been to Josiah personally so i am on the fence. Not cheering
              for either sides but just to provide the two varying perspectives here, to
              be fair to the school, based on feedbacks from friends, parents i've met
              and parents in forums. So in short, all this is feedback and also yes...
              hearsay to me, for now..

Now for the other side of the fence, these are supporters of good habits
              and routines for children. Them being well-behaved just help parents
              along with their home schedules as well. Children also learn to be
              independent at a very early start. Stricter or more stringent rules from
              the centre imposed on parents may also reflect that they are dead
              serious with regards to the development and progress of the children's
              education. They do not wish to tolerate instances where parents keep
              coming in to take a look at their environment, and hence disturbing the
              concentration of the working children.

In a Montessori learning environment, it is true that this can be
              frustrating. The working children are not for show really... cos parents
              wish to see for themselves if the learning environment is a happy one and
              that the teacher is of good quality... That is quite understood for us being
              parents, but may not be so for the staff of the centre... and if the teacher
              in charge has to be taken out of her class or lesson too many times in a
              day due to impromptu visits from interested parents, it can be a strain on
              them as well.

Parents of the children already enrolled in the centre may not like it either
              that, their children could be shortchanged on lesson time... with staff who
              may seem busy with enrolment issues when it is supposed to be time with
              their children on the lessons.

Hence the initiation on trials for some centres and also afternoon visits,
              where its less packed and more flexible to speak to parents and if we're
              lucky we may even get to personally meet the teaching strengths as well.

So, you see... always two sides to a coin. And a case where different
              individuals prefer different things in life or prefer different styles how
              children should learn.

I have not really answered your question but just this for now... until i
              have more updates from you, ok... It will be worth it only if you are
              happy that your child will be happy in whichever place she is in.

Does the centre provide trial or weekend lessons? Bring your child...
              Try something out and see how it goes.

Catch up, ya..
              Looking forward to hear
              from you soon, foreverj.
              Wish you a good Tuesday! šŸ˜‰

foreverj

hi buds, thanks. i know i can count on u for a comprehensive review! šŸ˜„

Heyya foreverj,

Yeeeaah, i suppose it wud be nice to get paid for it! :evil:
                Wuahahahahaa! :lol: :lol: :lol: Eh seriously lah haa...
                Your girl is 3 and you're here discussing P1 prepz with me.
                Your kiasu-ism defeats my own... hehehehee.. šŸ˜‰

aiyah, have to plan early whether this should be the school i should keep my daughter until k2 mah. dun want to have to change last min in k1.

Anyway, this is gonna be a rather long post... šŸ˜“
                just to provide a fair exchange on your current dilemma.
                CAUTION : You may still be un-decided at the end of this post.
                So... You've been warned.. :evil:

Like you said, she is currently in a very well managed place
                and she is happy, now that IS very important. A happy child
                makes a happy mummy, you see... All parents here will agree
                with me on this - that..... we're happy to see our children enjoy
                going to school and looking forward to it every single day..

No crying and negotiating be done.. They like wearing their
                uniforms and they cannot wait to meet their teachers and friends.
                Us being working parents or stay home ones can be at ease.. be it
                at work, at home sleeping, at the gym working out or with friends
                for breakfast/tea... (etc)

actually my daughter is very close to me, so sometimes when she did not have enough sleep, i may stil have to \"throw\" her to teacher heartlessly (although thank God this is seldom nowadays). n i love the fact her cc has no uniform, one less thing to change and get ready in the morning, hehe. i work half day so is always home for her when she takes school bus home in evening. i know she's happy in school cos when i fetch her from school bus, she's always smiling n generally happy šŸ™‚ feedback from teachers is that she's very vocal in class and one of the more chatty ones. this observation is consistent with mine as i sit in for her enrichment classes on weekends.

A few questions for you to reflect upon here... Help me out, k.
                1.How long has she been in this current childcare? one and half years.
                2.How long did she take to settle into the childcare environment? well, she stopped crying during class by end of first week. but like i said, even now sometimes she may tear when saying goodbye to me.
                3.Half day or full day? full day. she requested for it herself after six months.
                4.What's the distance from your home to the childcare? twenty min drive
                5.And what is the distance going to be to swap to Josiah? abt the same but josiah is at hubby's workplace so no issue. but josiah also more tricky cos she will end up coming home much later ie. less time to rest at night.6.What is your thought on a more-academic based learning centre...
                ie. what you wish your child can be learning? more academic means more concrete homework, establish good routine and train the child well so that well-prepared for p1.

Yes, while Josiah Montessori has been acknowledged by many parents
                to really prepare for Primary education, there are parents who find the
                nature of it stifling. In other forums, there have been talk that the
                children seemed too well-behaved and everything so in order that it
                didn't feel like a children's environment at a glance. Not to mention the
                many feedbacks received that the staff can be rather uptight by just
                about the mention of parents coming in for anything... From just
                requesting feedbacks... or to just having a look... and stuff... The only
                time you should get to really catch up with the teacher is during >
                Parent Teacher Meeting... for evaluation of the child(ren)'s progress.

I have not been to Josiah personally so i am on the fence. Not cheering
                for either sides but just to provide the two varying perspectives here, to
                be fair to the school, based on feedbacks from friends, parents i've met
                and parents in forums. So in short, all this is feedback and also yes...
                hearsay to me, for now..

Now for the other side of the fence, these are supporters of good habits
                and routines for children. Them being well-behaved just help parents
                along with their home schedules as well. Children also learn to be
                independent at a very early start. Stricter or more stringent rules from
                the centre imposed on parents may also reflect that they are dead
                serious with regards to the development and progress of the children's
                education. They do not wish to tolerate instances where parents keep
                coming in to take a look at their environment, and hence disturbing the
                concentration of the working children.

In a Montessori learning environment, it is true that this can be
                frustrating. The working children are not for show really... cos parents
                wish to see for themselves if the learning environment is a happy one and
                that the teacher is of good quality... That is quite understood for us being
                parents, but may not be so for the staff of the centre... and if the teacher
                in charge has to be taken out of her class or lesson too many times in a
                day due to impromptu visits from interested parents, it can be a strain on
                them as well. i totally understand this, that's y never kick up a big fuss when i was told abt it

Parents of the children already enrolled in the centre may not like it either
                that, their children could be shortchanged on lesson time... with staff who
                may seem busy with enrolment issues when it is supposed to be time with
                their children on the lessons.

Hence the initiation on trials for some centres and also afternoon visits,
                where its less packed and more flexible to speak to parents and if we're
                lucky we may even get to personally meet the teaching strengths as well.

So, you see... always two sides to a coin. And a case where different
                individuals prefer different things in life or prefer different styles how
                children should learn.

I have not really answered your question but just this for now... until i
                have more updates from you, ok... It will be worth it only if you are
                happy that your child will be happy in whichever place she is in.

Does the centre provide trial or weekend lessons? Bring your child...
                Try something out and see how it goes.
                the admin told me all cc has to give 2 weeks trial. but for me, to start my daughter on josiah means have to give notice at the current place. first is waste money n also wat if the space is gone if josiah does not work out? thinking of trying out the weekend enrichment classes but think its more for 4 yr old children too. oh btw any suggestions for montessori math n english for weekend enrichment? if can, then best is keep her at current school and give her the opportunity to learn more at the montessori enrichment. like that best of both worlds?

Catch up, ya..
                Looking forward to hear
                from you soon, foreverj.
                Wish you a good Tuesday! šŸ˜‰

Alexis

Hi all,

Has anyone heard of Aces Montessori? I’d appreciate any comments about this childcare centre.

Thanks!

ilovemykidz

HI ALL Mums! I m new here to this forum. my child is only 11 mths but I juz thot I should start looking around...any feedback on this particular branch?

cloubhappy.05320live.05320com

Hi

Hoping that someone will have something to share on MMI@Jalan Bukit Merah? šŸ™‚

I find that very difficult to gather feedback on MM1 @ Jalan Bukit Merah

• soomumS Offline
                        soomum

soomum:

Hehee! It's understood dear... and you're most welcome! šŸ˜‰
                        Pre-school shopping ain't like how it used to be during our time..
                        The only criteria was must be near. Must be cheap(est)! :lol:
                        On top of that, there weren't that many choices then either.. šŸ˜›

Hey, I didn't stay true to one school of thought either! So no worries..
                        A bit of both can be good too. šŸ˜„ Important thing is at this young
                        tender age, going to school should be something fun that they will
                        look forward to (going) everyday..

There's also the trial and error to factor in upon the final decision.
                        The teacher you saw the first time was great...then found out she quit
                        halfway, teaching your child's class... or teacher was ok, but child did
                        not enjoy - kena bully... or cannot adapt that quickly - cry and cry for
                        long periods of the day... many many other scenarios. What i'm trying
                        to say is that, even through the best decisions (can be expensive ones
                        too!)... the child will show you how they like or do not like the place..
                        Unless you give the child time and the place a chance to try out, you
                        will not know if that is what works for him/her..

Happy shopping! šŸ˜‰

thanks buds!
                        Yes indeed been 'shopping' for schools these days. And like u say, i need to enrol her in at least 1 b4 i can know what is suitable if not best for her.
                        Have check out CS montessori, found out that parents r not allowed in on the 1st day of school. i was like 'GOsh! wats gonna happen inside?? ive no idea at all. and how is my gal gonna transist to being in a room of strangers?' ANd they have no trial classes only, 1 short orientation b4 school start... I'm looking at convenient location as am worried about travelling for a 2.5yr old (tats her age next jan when N1 starts). Then there is a super near (5mins walk) kindergarten but its cost $800/mth..pretty expensive we felt and its not montessori. Oh my, wat a headache for just hunting a kindergarten. I can't imagine Pri school manzz....

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 14 / 165