Maris Stella High

3.7k Posts 428 Posters 1.1m Views 2 Watching
      Little Precious

btw, i'm also planning to move around the school 🙂

fyi, i've checked. not only private apartments/houses belong to 1km. there are many hdb blocks at serangoon/joo seng within 1 km.

Kuasimi

SPIES:
        Kuasimi:

[quote=\"SPIES\"]
        7.10am??? so early? not 7.30am?

Hi there, 7.10am is the start of Morning reading. Assembly starts at 7.30am. U're not consider late if u reach after 7.10 but before 7.30am.
        Hope it helps.

so, is it a must to arrive for the morning reading? Is read our own story books or the school will assign the reading materials?[/quote]I will not say that it's a must to arrive for the morning reading.But it's to encourage the kids to read. The boys will have to bring along their own story book.

SPIES

Can I ask mummies of P1, are your kids expected to know the basic of Hanyu Pinying when they start school?

Cos i just got to know from my son’s PCF that moe’s direction is not to teach hanyu pinying at preschool. I was surprised cos some time ago, the school taught them. then there was a changed in teacher and the teaching stops.

I’m a bit worried cos my son is good in speaking mandarin, but not in recognising and writing chinese. then now that the preschool doesn’t teach hanyu pinying, will he be able to cope when he goes MSH next year?

Namie

My son’s teacher also told us that they are not supposed to learn Hanyu Pinyin at K2 now.

My take is that thousands of kids went through P1 every year. If they can cope (surely not everyone of them receive private tuition in hanyu pinyin)), I’m sure it will be alright.

vicki

SPIES:
              Can I ask mummies of P1, are your kids expected to know the basic of Hanyu Pinying when they start school?

Cos i just got to know from my son's PCF that moe's direction is not to teach hanyu pinying at preschool. I was surprised cos some time ago, the school taught them. then there was a changed in teacher and the teaching stops.

I'm a bit worried cos my son is good in speaking mandarin, but not in recognising and writing chinese. then now that the preschool doesn't teach hanyu pinying, will he be able to cope when he goes MSH next year?
              Wow! At least your son is good in speaking mandarin. Unfortunate for me, my ds still sounds like an ang moh speaking mandarin!!! :slapshead:

Even his didi who is 3 years younger sounds more local than him when they talk in mandarin!! :!:

SPIES

vicki:
                SPIES:

Cos i just got to know from my son's PCF that moe's direction is not to teach hanyu pinying at preschool. I was surprised cos some time ago, the school taught them. then there was a changed in teacher and the teaching stops.

I'm a bit worried cos my son is good in speaking mandarin, but not in recognising and writing chinese. then now that the preschool doesn't teach hanyu pinying, will he be able to cope when he goes MSH next year?

Wow! At least your son is good in speaking mandarin. Unfortunate for me, my ds still sounds like an ang moh speaking mandarin!!! :slapshead:

Even his didi who is 3 years younger sounds more local than him when they talk in mandarin!! :!:

cos we started speaking to them in mandarin since bb. have heard that they will pick up English very easily once they start school. Besides, cos my parents don't speak English, so don't wanna break their communication.

vicki

SPIES:

cos we started speaking to them in mandarin since bb. have heard that they will pick up English very easily once they start school. Besides, cos my parents don't speak English, so don't wanna break their communication.
                  Lucky you.

My inlaws are Malaysian (no Chinese background). My parents are Peranakan (no Chinese background). My Chinese is half past six (I came from a school whereby speaking chinese is 'uncool'!)

So only dear dh (who didnt have proper chinese education background) is the strongest in the language! But cos no one else spoke Mandarin - so our normal communication mode is English!!

So - now my ds really gotto buckle up liao! Otherwise, good luck to him and us!! :lol:

SPIES

Can someone advise if MSH are practising holistic assessment or normal assessment?

Namie

Hi. Do anyone know if the classroom seating arrangement is done by teachers or is it on a first come first get basis? My boy is very small built and shortest in his K2 class now. I am just concern he may end up on last row if seating arrangement is base on who gets to it first.

Honey

Namie, don’t worry about that. You can speak to the teacher about this during the Orientation. You will get to meet the Form Teacher at the end of the session to fill up some forms. And then on the 1st & 2nd day of Term 1, parents are allowed into the school. You can then talk to the teacher about it again.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 50 / 366