[Hougang] Primary Schools

668 Posts 156 Posters 362.9k Views 1 Watching
      CL05

hey all,

looking at the registration history of PLMGS, i also got a bit worried. Cos it is my 1st choice of school for my daughter borned in 2005.

I’m due to register next year in 2011.

Like most of the parents out here, i’m doing research on the schools.

A bit of info here for me:
      1) we stayed in Lor Ah soo (within 1 km of PLMGS)
      2) We have 2 choice of caregiver - MIL who stay in Aljunied or my mum who stay in Hougang ave 9
      3) Hubby is old boy of GMPS which i’m also considering (also near to MIL)

The thing is if we put my girl in PLMGS, i will have another stress for my boy who is born in 2008.

Alot of friends & family have encouraged me to try PLMGS for my gal & Maris Stella (MS) for my boy since MS is not far away from our house (about 2 km away).

But we know we will have almost 99% chance to get into GMPS due to hubby’s old boy status.

Should i try our luck at PLMGS? It sounds a tad risky, right?

Fellow parents, please advise.

• MMMM Offline
        MMM

CL05:
        hey all,

looking at the registration history of PLMGS, i also got a bit worried. Cos it is my 1st choice of school for my daughter borned in 2005.

I'm due to register next year in 2011.

Like most of the parents out here, i'm doing research on the schools.

A bit of info here for me:
        1) we stayed in Lor Ah soo (within 1 km of PLMGS)
        2) We have 2 choice of caregiver - MIL who stay in Aljunied or my mum who stay in Hougang ave 9
        3) Hubby is old boy of GMPS which i'm also considering (also near to MIL)

The thing is if we put my girl in PLMGS, i will have another stress for my boy who is born in 2008.

Alot of friends & family have encouraged me to try PLMGS for my gal & Maris Stella (MS) for my boy since MS is not far away from our house (about 2 km away).

But we know we will have almost 99% chance to get into GMPS due to hubby's old boy status.

Should i try our luck at PLMGS? It sounds a tad risky, right?

Fellow parents, please advise.
        This sounds like the million dollar question when I've asked myself whether to choose my primary school (Maha Bodhi) or try for Tao Nan or HIPS as we've property within 1km of the schools.

In the end, I choose my primary school. We are staying at upp serangoon. Fortunately not too far away from Ubi.

Lor Ah Soo to GMPS don't seem that far. If logistic is not a issue, I would prefer to go for GMPS and don't even have to worry about PV or balloting.

In your case, making to PLMGS is one thing. You will still need to undergo the same process to put your son to Maris Stella which is popular in the area. Can't imagine having to go through the stress twice....

Just my personal thoughts.

CL05

Hi MMM,

You are quite right and sometimes i think should i even make my life double stress?

But my sister who is a Pri school teacher advised that GMPS standards has dropped (but it still remain a popular school judging from the no. of registrations each year). She has a friend teaching in GMPS who actually wanted to transfer to another school due to the standard dropping.

And furthermore, my friends and family’s advice has been quite consistent. They all encouraged me to try PLMGS & MS.

One friend remarked that his brother’s son got into MS easily w/o balloting cos there’s not much people with pri sch going kids staying there. I wonder how true is that…

CL05

MMM, actually if i were you, i will choose Maha Bodhi w/o hesitation as the reputation is already much stronger than Tao Nan & HIPS.. Further, with you being an old student, there's no sweat getting in.. 😄

• MMMM Offline
              MMM

CL05:
              Hi MMM,

You are quite right and sometimes i think should i even make my life double stress?

But my sister who is a Pri school teacher advised that GMPS standards has dropped (but it still remain a popular school judging from the no. of registrations each year). She has a friend teaching in GMPS who actually wanted to transfer to another school due to the standard dropping.

And furthermore, my friends and family's advice has been quite consistent. They all encouraged me to try PLMGS & MS.

One friend remarked that his brother's son got into MS easily w/o balloting cos there's not much people with pri sch going kids staying there. I wonder how true is that...
              Hi CL05,

I would suggest that you look at the past balloting records in KSP to evaluate your chances and make informed decisions based on that. There are very good resources here.

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/toa-payoh

If you are able to qualify under phase 2B, seems like good chance for Maris Stella. However phase 2C looks challenging if you are staying >2km .

I've 2 nieces in PLMGS. They are in secondary school now. The cut off point for secondary school has now increased. So far, they are very well behaved girls.

Meanwhile for std, it's really subjective. What was the original benchmark? The same story is heard for MBS, standard has dropped,etc.... Most parents nowadays send their kids for enrichment classes and no longer solely dependent on the school..... so I wonder if that really matters.

vicki

HI CL05,

Yup - agreed that if you can get into 2B for MS - and if you are within 2km - then should be quite a breeze for you. But if you are out of 2km, chances of balloting would be high - cos you will most likely have to ballot with the other catholics (who are out of 2km) who would have applied for the school (I was one of them this year!).

And to be honest, with the opening of the MRT station, actually MS has suddenly become a very convenient primary school locatioj - hence - i feel that there will most likely be balloting for >2km for 2B from this year onwards.

If you are in 2C, then the ballot would most likely be in the 1 to 2km category.

You still have time to think about it. - All the best. I have been planning for this year since 4 yrs ago, and im glad Part 1 - getting into the school of choice is finally over and done with. Now, for me is the \"surviving the education system' planning that i need to do! 😉

• tankeeT Offline
                  tankee

At End of Phase 2C Supplementary

School / Vacancy / Number Registered

Montfort Junior School 120 36
                  Punggol Primary School 53 58
                  Xinghua Primary School 95 16
                  Yio Chu Kang Primary School 83 61

CL05

Thanks MMM & Vicki for replying.

Phase 2B = PV right?

To be honest, i’m very lazy to do PV. Last year, i did consider to do PV in PLMGS in order to get my daughter in but due to busy nature of work, in the end i did not.

So without any links or PV, i can only depend on distance.

For MS, my house is outside 1 km of MS but within 2 km.
                    For PLMGS, my house is within 1 km.

Another option for me if i failed to get my daughter into PLMGS, maybe can try Canossa Convent (within 1 km of MIL place) cos i saw that its quite easy to get into this school based on past history (pardon me if im wrong).

Overall, still dunno whether shld i gave up a near-perfect chance of getting GMPS to take the risks…

vicki

CL05:
                      Thanks MMM & Vicki for replying.

Phase 2B = PV right?

To be honest, i'm very lazy to do PV. Last year, i did consider to do PV in PLMGS in order to get my daughter in but due to busy nature of work, in the end i did not.

So without any links or PV, i can only depend on distance.

For MS, my house is outside 1 km of MS but within 2 km.
                      For PLMGS, my house is within 1 km.

Another option for me if i failed to get my daughter into PLMGS, maybe can try Canossa Convent (within 1 km of MIL place) cos i saw that its quite easy to get into this school based on past history (pardon me if im wrong).

Overall, still dunno whether shld i gave up a near-perfect chance of getting GMPS to take the risks...
                      Actually you should register in GMPS first (under 2A) - at least you have a seat there liao. Then - monitor the situation at PLMGS and MS - before deciding if you want to withdraw your name from GMPS and apply for the latter schools....

But to be honest, unless you really dont like GMPS - its really not worth the risk to give up a confirmed seat for a shot at balloting. What happens if you end up with neither -- i think it would be worse! :stupid:

mrswongtuition

Recently PLMGS seems to get more popular with parents.

1. Niche program -> Performing arts (they are Centre of Excellence for Performing Arts)
                        2. Affiliation to PLMGS(S) -> With change of P for the Sec sch, their standards are going upwards and it's a good school for girls to continue their Sec sch education

If you are keen, register at GMPS first. Then monitor PLMGS. Usually within 1km no need to ballot.
                        If you need to do PV, you should. PL is not very fussy about PVs and you can even choose to do 'whole day' events to clock your hours FAST. They have many events that you can definitely help out with 🙂

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 29 / 67

celiberryC
                        celiberry