[Woodlands/Admiralty] Preschools

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Child Care, Kindergartens & Student Care
    173 Posts 67 Posters 211.2k Views 1 Watching
      lala81

oh ya…another thing…

Is Phyllis Koh (the founder) still with phyllis riccia school? I dun seem to see her around the few times i go to the sch.

And who is the chinese guy who is always in the sch?

TUANG

lala81:
        oh ya..another thing..

Is Phyllis Koh (the founder) still with phyllis riccia school? I dun seem to see her around the few times i go to the sch.

And who is the chinese guy who is always in the sch?
        Dear lala81
        Phyllis Koh working in other branch now. So Ms Claudine in charge phyllis Riccia.
        I also don't know who is the guy? I saw he help the teacher in NDP.

lala81

the recent newsletter did mention abt the chinese guy in spec. He is a new teacher teaching gym and computer classes and helping out on the K1 side.

My gal attended PR for almost a mth and she is beginning to like this sch and i am also very happy with the teachers there.

marsilingmom

Mandy2009:
            Can anyone share with me is there any good childcare centre/Kindergarten in Woodlands area? I am looking for childcare/ kindergarten where the teachers there has good teachingquality and kid can learn good discipline in the centre. Thanks.

Hi, both my daughters were enrolled in Evangel Kindergarten. My elder girl is now in P2 and had no problems transitioning from preschool to primary school. My younger girl is now in N1 and enjoys going to school. The principal is very caring, and so are the teachers. Whenever I've had any issues to raise, all I do is write a short note, and the teacher will call me back when she has a spare moment on the same day to speak with me.

The school is quite popular, and there is balloting for places every year. School fees are $175 a month, for 3 hours daily. You can find out more at their website: http://www.wsc.org.sg/ek.htm

Hope this helps!

TUANG

lala81:
              the recent newsletter did mention abt the chinese guy in spec. He is a new teacher teaching gym and computer classes and helping out on the K1 side.

My gal attended PR for almost a mth and she is beginning to like this sch and i am also very happy with the teachers there.
              Hi lala81
              So happy to hear that! My son almost 1 month just stop crying. But now very enjoy to school. He looked very excited when he performed on stage.

lala81

dear TUANG/2 littlekids

it has been a while since the last posting…

my gal is generally ok after 1.5 mths in sch…no cries and she can walk into the sch by herself every morning and manage to make friends.(she told me she likes to play with a boy name 'kai QXXX)… any chance that he is ur boy, TUANG? )

She loves her teachers and so far did not hear any negative comments from her abt the sch

I am looking forward to the sports day and hope to see u ladies there!

• Y Offline
                  yernying

marsilingmom:
                  Mandy2009:

Can anyone share with me is there any good childcare centre/Kindergarten in Woodlands area? I am looking for childcare/ kindergarten where the teachers there has good teachingquality and kid can learn good discipline in the centre. Thanks.

Hi, both my daughters were enrolled in Evangel Kindergarten. My elder girl is now in P2 and had no problems transitioning from preschool to primary school. My younger girl is now in N1 and enjoys going to school. The principal is very caring, and so are the teachers. Whenever I've had any issues to raise, all I do is write a short note, and the teacher will call me back when she has a spare moment on the same day to speak with me.

The school is quite popular, and there is balloting for places every year. School fees are $175 a month, for 3 hours daily. You can find out more at their website: http://www.wsc.org.sg/ek.htm

Hope this helps!

I am also headache about my gal.in this march,i sent her to talent plus playgroup,due to only 2 hrs programme.i change her to another kindergarten which is offer 3 hrs programme in July.until now,I found that my gal has no improved.but I felt she improved a lot in the playgroup.

next year,i plan to change her to evangel church school.but a lot people said not good.try to get some feedback from u b4 i send her.

I'm recce-ing for Infant Care centre and Montessori centre

within Woodlands area. Anyone has reccomendations? 😄

lil_jade

I'm recce-ing for Infant Care centre and Montessori centre

within Woodlands area. Anyone has reccomendations? 😄
                      For montessori, I have only been to the Purple Train in Woodlands civic centre (the one with the library). It's a very small establishment, but cheery looking. Also has Jelic programme for the tots once per week....

But did not choose it cos it's a 3-hour per day nursery / kindy programme and it is $550 per month! Well, it's too exp for me.. but maybe it is reasonable for monty stuff? I dunno... 😛

Principal is an Indian lady, well-spoken, and nice (obviously lah.. since she was egging me to sign on... :P)

lil_jade

yernying:
                        marsilingmom:

[quote=\"Mandy2009\"]Can anyone share with me is there any good childcare centre/Kindergarten in Woodlands area? I am looking for childcare/ kindergarten where the teachers there has good teachingquality and kid can learn good discipline in the centre. Thanks.

Hope this helps!

I am also headache about my gal.in this march,i sent her to talent plus playgroup,due to only 2 hrs programme.i change her to another kindergarten which is offer 3 hrs programme in July.until now,I found that my gal has no improved.but I felt she improved a lot in the playgroup.

next year,i plan to change her to evangel church school.but a lot people said not good.try to get some feedback from u b4 i send her.[/quote]Is evangel really not good? Never saw the -ve comments... :roll:

I was there to recce for my DD's nursery next year... as well I also checked out the other church kindy.. here's what I can remember.. but might not be very accurate....

Evangel Kindy:
                        •\tCost: $175/month
                        •\tNursery: 1:20 ratio (not counting 1 assistant teacher)
                        •\tSessions:
                        o\tMorning = 815 – 1115
                        o\tAfternoon = 1130 – 230
                        •\tPlace:
                        o\tIn HDB voiddeck opp Republic Poly til next year, then shift back to church site along MRT track b/w woodlands and Admiralty mrt
                        o\tTemp location is air-conditioned, nice.
                        •\tTeachers: Principal is nice and helpful, teachers all seemed quite ok, no chance to observe teaching
                        •\tSpecial stuff: Uses some John Langhrer thingee.. and there is SPICE (some speech & drama in Eng and Chinese which you need to pay $60/term)

Hope Community Kindy:
                        •\tCost: $150/month
                        •\tNursery: 1:20 ratio (not counting 1 assistant teacher)
                        •\tSessions:
                        o\tMorning = 830 – 1130
                        o\tAfternoon = 1230 – 330
                        •\tPlace:
                        o\tOn 2nd floor of Family Victory Centre at Sembawang Drive, aircon
                        o\tIndividual classrooms for different levels. Looks more office-like but really bright and nice! There is also a big communal area where the kids will gather for assembly, or prayer or any big event thing.
                        o\tThe church looks deserted whenever I go during school time, so it seems safe and good!
                        •\tTeachers: Never got to speak to principal, it was this Miss Loke (??) who showed me around. Observed the current N-class. Teacher was rather stern-looking, but the kids look happy and not terrified or what. Ironically, the assistant teacher looks more benevolent than the form teacher....
                        •\tSpecial stuff: Ummm... nothing.....

Edelweiss Kindy:
                        •\tCost: $200/month
                        •\tNursery: 1:15 ratio (not counting 1 assistant teacher)
                        •\tSessions:
                        o\tMorning = 8 – 1130
                        o\tAfternoon = 12 – 330
                        •\tPlace:
                        o\tOn church grounds, a very small one next to Sembawang Shopping Centre, aircon
                        o\tThe place is nice, with its own small little playground at the back. The assembly area, eating area, toilets, classrooms are all within a big air-con compound, and outsiders need access to go in, so pretty safe!
                        o\tOnly thing is classrooms for different levels are really separated by partitions... so not too sure if it’ll be noisy during lessons?
                        •\tTeachers: Never got to speak to principal. Preacher Woon spoke to me, and showed me around.
                        •\tSpecial stuff:
                        o\tloads of enrichment! From speech & drama for Chinese or English to art to music to phonics to abacus... of course must add $$$....
                        o\tit’s a 3.5 hour session as compared to the other 2 which are the typical 3 hour

😄

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 6 / 18