Comparing Chinese Enrichment (Primary/Preschool)
Hi jasonirene,
Thanks for the information, I have not heard of Yuquan…so it is better than Berries for learning of Chinese Characters?
Where is Yu Quan at?[/quote]
Yuquan has quite a number of branches, with some at those RCs at the HDB void decks. I have only attended 1 trial lesson in Berries for my 4-year old in Nursery -more fun element.
As for Yuquan which I enrolled my 6-year K2 girl, a lot of practising on the chinese characters (like writing a character 70 times each lesson!). I cannot even get my girl to write 5 times at home, yet the teacher can get her to write 70 times. Anyway, she remembers the characters eventually and she likes the teacher too. -
hello all.
i will soon enrol my soon-to-be 4yo son to Tien Hsia to prepare him for P1 as his future school only have chinese as 2nd language. I am kinda worried because i wont be able to assist him during revision time as I dun have any background in the language itself. Aside from basic conversational mandarin, thats it. I dun even know how the strokes work…(we are malay family btw). Not sure if its wise to get him a tutor at this age. -
jansonirene:
Hi! I have a few questions.
Yuquan has quite a number of branches, with some at those RCs at the HDB void decks. I have only attended 1 trial lesson in Berries for my 4-year old in Nursery -more fun element.
As for Yuquan which I enrolled my 6-year K2 girl, a lot of practising on the chinese characters (like writing a character 70 times each lesson!). I cannot even get my girl to write 5 times at home, yet the teacher can get her to write 70 times. Anyway, she remembers the characters eventually and she likes the teacher too.
1. how do you know that they make her write 70 times? did they tell you that? won't they have lost count after a while?
2. Did they make the kids write on the paper - as in writing?
3. Your gal remembers the characters eventually - do you mean she can write the charactesr or remember how to read the charactesr?
4. How many characters does she learn per lesson?
5. How many characters does your gal need to write per lesson? -
smurf:
$58?? :shock: :shock: :shock:Ya, at RC centre...the main branch is better?
Me no $$, so can only go RC...hahhajoking lah...
But berries is more expensive...$390 per term...
per term or per month? wah, think i better check it out liao! nevermind good or no good... hehehheeee...
But seriously, i think different kids need different kind of pushing and enrichment. -
thanks for your advice. I have enquired from a few of these Chinese tuition centre and realized that they are teaching the students based on MOE syllabus. I have concerned if my P5 girl can catch up if she can’t understand the meaning and follow the teacher instruction blindly. End of the day, she will not improve and waste precious time going for tuition. Especially, school children has no time to waste nowsaday. Sad to say that…
However, I’ll try my best to apply your advice in her daily studies. Hope it will help her. Tks -
jeestan:
For the younger kids, it is group performance of 儿歌.Hi Monster Mummy,
thanks for the information...so at the end, they also do an oral presentation?
Once they are older, they will do both group and individual performance.
I personally think it is a good exposure for the kids.
Recently, my K2 is also learning 相声... maybe they will perform that end of this term? -
May I know if there is any feedback on Skylace Language School at Funan? My dd is quite weak in compo & compre & it often drags him down a whole lot.
Pls help me to advise which centre is effective. Areas that we can go Hougang, SengKang, Punggol, Serangoon & near Funan.
thnks! -
Can try Hokkien Huay Kuan Arts and Cultural Centre in Toa Payoh. They accept students based on birth year. But only once a week, usually weekends.
Hi need some advice on which chinese enrichment is suitable. I’ve heard berries is quite fun and some of the comments i’ve read in this thread seem to say the same thing. I’m keen on a centre which makes it fun for the kids cos I don’t want my boy to dread going for classes. Any other suggestions?
Can anyone also recommend some good Chinese cartoons on DVD? I don’t really like the ones I’ve seen so far. Somehow the english cartoons always seem so much better! -
Fuzz:
Speaking from personal experience, I think the greatest thing berries did for ds is that they helped to take away the resistance & dislike ds had for chinese. DS used to be a potato kid, refusing to reply in chinese even if spoken to in chinese. He understood 100%, just refused to speak it.Hi need some advice on which chinese enrichment is suitable. I've heard berries is quite fun and some of the comments i've read in this thread seem to say the same thing. I'm keen on a centre which makes it fun for the kids cos I don't want my boy to dread going for classes. Any other suggestions?
Can anyone also recommend some good Chinese cartoons on DVD? I don't really like the ones I've seen so far. Somehow the english cartoons always seem so much better!
In that sense, the help that berries did was priceless.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.