7 New IP schools

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    899 Posts 105 Posters 357.7k Views 1 Watching

snowz:

[quote=\"happymum8\"]Is good news anyway!

The mentioned schools have lots of students qualifying for IP but instead choosen those schools for many reasons.

The standards of students are actually comparable to current IP schools.

so there will be a drop in number of students going to Raffles group & Hwa Chong Group, DHS, RV, NUSH, ACS...

So I think some of the affiliated schools can at least retain their top PSLE scorers this year. Or some of the top scorers will drop the DSA offers from the original IP schools in order to remain in their affiliated schools.[/quote]think so too

happymum8

snowz:

[quote=\"happymum8\"]Is good news anyway!

The mentioned schools have lots of students qualifying for IP but instead choosen those schools for many reasons.

The standards of students are actually comparable to current IP schools.

so there will be a drop in number of students going to Raffles group & Hwa Chong Group, DHS, RV, NUSH, ACS...

So I think some of the affiliated schools can at least retain their top PSLE scorers this year. Or some of the top scorers will drop the DSA offers from the original IP schools in order to remain in their affiliated schools.[/quote]Will be affecting current P5 students. 😄

• phankaoP Offline
          phankao

happymum8:
          I know of many boys getting into RI with lower PSLE 24+ (DSA thru sports) compared to those at VS which has higher aggregate 25+.

Who don't know that? All schools have such students under DSA. Even during my time in RJC, students came in with like 17 to 21 points when the school's cut-off was below 10 (during that time 20+years ago, the points, not so crazily low like 3 or 4 points like now).

I know that those v active ORA members are promised entry for their sons if the boys make like 235 or something like that even, but sadly, some still don't make it (eg. one of my classmate's son).

KSP

what is the school fee like in IP schools? is it same as normal schools?

strong opinions

[quote=\"tanbh\"]
              oh shit... yeah hor... SCGS how?? govt or not? i dont know leh

SCGS is NOT government school, being founded by chinese towkay to provide education to the chinese girls who are poor....hence 'SCGS'

SCGS was founded as an all-girls Peranakan school in July 1899 by a group of Straits Chinese individuals including Dr Lim Boon Keng and Sir Song Ong Siang, at premises in Hill Street, with an English headmistress and seven girls on the register.

In 1923, the school left its premises at Hill Street (the site later became the Central Fire Station) and moved to Emerald Hill.

From 1905 to 1936, the school admitted a handful of male students, but afterwards reverted to being an all-girls school.

In 1994, after 70 years at Emerald Hill, the school moved a newly-built campus at Dunearn Road

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Singapore_Chinese_Girls%27_School

SCGS fees is definitely not the S$20/mth fees, lah.[/quote]SCGS independent school

jtoh

tanbh:

[quote=\"tanbh\"]IF confirm r those you listed:

ALL Have GOOD history and very established schools. can give those current IP school a good run for their money... especially those Independent ones... & i guess VS/Cedar and most would STILL remain GOVT schools... as per current... affordable fees! or less wealthy parents

only Cedar & VS is government school, right ? the rest are Catholic / Methodist / and SCGS is non-religious aided school

oh shit... yeah hor... SCGS how?? govt or not? i dont know leh[/quote]SCGS is an independent school.

jtoh

DadOfGirl:
                  happymum8:

Should be confirmed:

1.Victoria School
                  2.Catholic
                  3.SJI
                  4.St Nics
                  5.Cedar
                  6.MGS
                  7.SCGS

They alll have Affliated JC . What will happen to JC... Offer places to other School O levels... Then L1R5 will drop

Cedar and SCGS do not have affliated JCs.

Vanilla Cake

Bystander:
                    tanbh:

..... i mean schools like mgs and scgs dont exactly get band one ....., and Catholic High fluctuates also btw 1,2,3 bands

tanbh:
                    ... if google or wiki Victoria Sch also produced 3 Presidents of S'pore , 2 Chief of Defence Force (head of Whole SAF, Singapore's only 3-Star General) - including e Current 1, a former Chief of Air Force , temasek Holdings Chairman/ex Full Cabinet Minister....
                    I am also a newbie in this. I am not sure how and from where you dictate that MGS and SCGS don’t exactly get band one and that Catholic High fluctuates also between 1,2,3 bands

Look at the research done by VC's mum,

Based on 2009 \"O\" level results
                    1. Anderson Sec - 10.4
                    2. Catholic High - 9.1 / 343 candidates
                    3. Crescent Girls' - Don't know
                    4. Nan Chiau High - 10.9
                    5. St. Joseph Institution - 10.8
                    6. Victoria Sch - 10.7

Based on \"O\" level results from 2003 to 2008 with schools that had attained band 1 status

Cedar: 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008
                    CHIJ St Nic: 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008
                    SCGS: 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008
                    Anglican High : 2004
                    Catholic High: 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009
                    Victoria: 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009
                    Anderson: 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009
                    Crescent Girls: 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008
                    Xinmin: 2005, 2006, 2007
                    Chung Cheng High (Main): 2006
                    MGS: 2006, 2007, 2008
                    SJI: 2007, 2008, 2009
                    TKGS: 2007, 2008
                    Zhonghua: 2007
                    Bukit Panjang Govt High: 2008

In particular for Catholic High, since the change of principal to the current, Mr Lee Hak Boon, the school has not scored anything more than the L1R5 of 10. The fact that the school was able to achieve the L1R5 of 9.1 in 2009 ‘O’ Level alone is already making me doubt the authenticity of your data.

If also wiki on Catholic High, the school has produced more than 20 President's Scholars and numerous recipients of other scholarships. Many of its alumni are leaders in the public and private sectors. Look at the school's many achievements past and present, why shouldn't the school be granted the IP status?

Not taking side with any school nor opposing any. In site like this, I think it’s only wise to check the accuracy of data before advising. Surely you don’t want to mislead others? No offence intended.

Catholic High School
                    2004: Band 1
                    2006: Band 1 - 332/9.5
                    2007: Band 1 - 345/9.55
                    2008: Band 1 - 381/9.8
                    2009: Band 1 - 343/9.1

VC's mum

• phankaoP Offline
                      phankao

KSP:
                      what is the school fee like in IP schools? is it same as normal schools?

depends on the school. If independent schools like RI/HCI/ACSI/NUSH, then I think at least S$200-S$300++ a month.

If schools like NJC/RV/DHS then S$20/mth. (correct or not? my ds in njc, so i can only say for certain for njc ... i too lazy to check the rest).

tanbh

i cant remember very well exactly… even we maynot trust FULLY the 100% accuracy of VC mum replication…

i just remember across the years from 2003 to 2009… ONLY Cedar girls achieved Band 1 every year,…

other top schools MGS , etc or even Anderson especially boys school like VS and Cath High does goes …down/fluctuate to band 2 or sometimes even 3 (OCCASIONALLY), it could be VS/ SJI / Cath high , i cant say for sure is Catholic High that reach Band 3 … the girls schools drop down less… we need to do a back-check of all those exact data from all those years.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 34 / 90