Will you give up your job if your kid wants you to stay?

31 Posts 10 Posters 9.3k Views 1 Watching
      mintcc

not to sure about the specifics but think there are lots of tacit knowledge for your job. Can try to talk to you boss about your intention to leave/lessen work load in X amount of time e.g. 3- 6 months? and talk to him about succession planning. e.g. identify a collegue who can be train to take over or help fill in your role.

Try to document down the issues to look out for and train your successor…I think if you give your boss enough time to find a replacement and train someone to take over yourself that should be very good to your boss and company liao.

MLR

Hiya San76

You hv mail..... πŸ˜„

san76

mincy:
          not to sure about the specifics but think there are lots of tacit knowledge for your job. Can try to talk to you boss about your intention to leave/lessen work load in X amount of time e.g. 3- 6 months? and talk to him about succession planning. e.g. identify a collegue who can be train to take over or help fill in your role.

Try to document down the issues to look out for and train your successor...I think if you give your boss enough time to find a replacement and train someone to take over yourself that should be very good to your boss and company liao.
          Thank you Mincy,

I had found and trained someone for him and cost much lesser than me. Now all I want is my son and less money no problem. How to tell him? As I said, he is like a very good friend to me and very hard to tell him. He knows the weakness in me is too soft hearted. I had already told once. He will tell me, you can fly back home and do from home. Said is easier than done. How about the factory side? Oh my god, I really want my way out without hurting anyone.

Heyya san76, i fully understand your dilemma right now.

Having worked your a** off for years and from scratch..
            Then, to a higher and deserved designation now...
            It's not easy to let go... of the job. For one to stay in a
            job for so long, one must have passion for it. And i say,
            you sure got that! I took the way out with heart wrenching
            agony at my decision to leave cos i really super duper loved
            what i did and the work load as compared to yours, was getting
            lighter cause i could delegate my work better to my senior teachers
            and administrators plus temp staff. But to let go when i was at the
            peak, was really hard.. But choice i did not have. Cos then i didn't
            want anything to happen to my 2nd bb (in my tummy) nor to myself,
            as i had a very very challenging pregnancy i comparison to the 1st bb.
            Mum early early said cannot cope with 2 babies, plus she found PT job.
            IL's weren't exactly in the options either, they prefer to work. So there
            i was... terrified of my commencing journey to being the ultimate SAHM.
            Not easy but made it!

If one isn't ready to leave a very much loved job, one cud have issues
            later on too. Like regret. And if the child and household chores does not
            occupy you enuf to fill your time enjoyably, you may not enjoy being at
            home. Cutting down work load... then doing Part Time and then freelance
            as also suggested by the others here will provide for better gradual
            adjustment... so that you will enjoy your son better! πŸ˜‰

Work and home have their own kinda stress. So reallly gotta weigh the
            options very deeply. How about yer hubs, what is his take on it, san76?

san76

Buds,

My hub has no issue to stay or leave. He prefers me to stay in Singapore if I want to work then find a new job, if not stay home is good.

I dont like to stay in the house. Share with you something,when we were dating, I once told him, \"if after married I want stay home then I stay home if not I want to work you cant stop me\" He agreed so I married him. Hahaha.... This thing still applies even when I am pregnant. Now still same.

More or less decided to stay here but how to end? Run N hide away? Not easy to leave the company. No bonds no nothing, I am freedom but too stress at times.

Dont worry abt me , soon this thing will be over and done with it. Either by the nicest way or the ugliest way.

Thank you :celebrate:

..... in a cordial way, i hope.....

I think you have roughly got stuff
                figured up liao... so all my best to
                you, san76.

:xedfingers:

san76:
                  Share with you something,when we were dating, I once told him, \"if after married I want stay home then I stay home if not I want to work you cant stop me\" He agreed so I married him. Hahaha....

πŸ˜‰ different for us...i told my husband during dating that if after married if i want to stay at home then i stay at home, he cannot insist/expect that i go to work and handle the household at the same time (ie going to work is a luxury for me and not a necessity :D). πŸ˜‰

san76

san76:

Share with you something,when we were dating, I once told him, \"if after married I want stay home then I stay home if not I want to work you cant stop me\" He agreed so I married him. Hahaha....

πŸ˜‰ different for us...i told my husband during dating that if after married if i want to stay at home then i stay at home, he cannot insist/expect that i go to work and handle the household at the same time (ie going to work is a luxury for me and not a necessity :D). πŸ˜‰

You all can cope housework and cook for the family. I cant dish proper chinese home cooked meal.

Its better I work and leave the chores.

Salute to all moms at home doing chores and tending to kids. My friend is the only mom.......... She is a home maker, with 2 sons, hubby working. Never mop or clean the house, hardly wash always on the internet watching tv and seldom bring kids out cos kids playing pc games. She dont monitor their studies. She will always want to go out and shop and shop. Nice person but not a nice mother and wife

san76:
                      You all can cope housework and cook for the family. I cant dish proper chinese home cooked meal.

Hehehee! Practise make perfect, san76.
                      It will suck at first but sooner or later you'd
                      be making wantons, fishballs and heck, mebbe
                      even the noodles from scratch. πŸ˜‰

Wuah.. jedamum just told you she tai tai.
                      You oso can be tai tai lah..

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 3 / 4

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                      DSA Discussions and Strategies
                      SkillsFuture course recommendations