All About Life Without Maids

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    2.4k Posts 503 Posters 1.9m Views 1 Watching
      MintyMin

The Kao Magiclean is the floor cleaner. Wet tissue type not good lah, sticky one. Idiotic hubby wants to buy irobot, but I told him until the day irobot can hang up laundry & wash clothes, then he can buy. Or else NO WAY.

Tab top curtains are those which has flaps over the curtain rod and then button. Those conventional ones too troublesome - have to hook and unhook curtains. Furthermore, so heavy and can't wash in my machine.
      Lolx.. U r saying am idiotic too ah.. LoLx..
      I havent gone to look at any curtains as yet.. but most prob get those roman blinds from Ikea.

cherrygal

celtricia:
        I havent gone to look at any curtains as yet.. but most prob get those roman blinds from Ikea.

Roman blinds fr Ikea are difficult to install yourself and hard to wash. I second Janet's idea to buy those tab top curtains. Easier to maintain.

Already we dun haf maids, so we must buy things that make our lives easier...

I used to buy from Ikea but find those from NTUC Hypermart just as good and cheaper. To cut light out, I put 2 layers. Eg. 1 window needs 2 panels, I will buy 4 panels.

celtricia:

The Kao Magiclean is the floor cleaner. Wet tissue type not good lah, sticky one. Idiotic hubby wants to buy irobot, but I told him until the day irobot can hang up laundry & wash clothes, then he can buy. Or else NO WAY.

Tab top curtains are those which has flaps over the curtain rod and then button. Those conventional ones too troublesome - have to hook and unhook curtains. Furthermore, so heavy and can't wash in my machine.

Lolx.. U r saying am idiotic too ah.. LoLx..

I say my hubby is idiotic bcos he thinks that the irobot is the the end solution to all the cleaning problems. In a house, there are so many things to do and yet he tells me that vacuum and mop are the main things.

MintyMin

cherrygal:
            celtricia:

Roman blinds fr Ikea are difficult to install yourself and hard to wash. I second Janet's idea to buy those tab top curtains. Easier to maintain.

Already we dun haf maids, so we must buy things that make our lives easier...

I used to buy from Ikea but find those from NTUC Hypermart just as good and cheaper. To cut light out, I put 2 layers. Eg. 1 window needs 2 panels, I will buy 4 panels.

Hmmm... mayb i shld get those tab top kind den n go take a look at hypermarts.. 😉 wat u say does make sense.. heh

Thanks for the tips both of u..

MintyMin

I say my hubby is idiotic bcos he thinks that the irobot is the the end solution to all the cleaning problems. In a house, there are so many things to do and yet he tells me that vacuum and mop are the main things.

janet.. am juz kidding.. i noe u dun mean me. but yes lor.. wat u say is true.. irobot only help to vacuum, yet we haf so many other tings we have to do.. sigh.. wonder when it is gonna end..

I have a pair of blinds from Ikea in my master bedroom…the nylon string to pull the blinds up/down don’t last, not only that the wind is blocked when using Ikea blinds.

Those tab top curtains now are getting better…there are some which have 2 layers in 1. Saw at Metro just now. Or else you can check out John Little/Metro expo sales. Go on first day if you want more selection of colours, designs and lengths.

My hubby thinks that the irobot will solve all cleaning problems - I asked him if the dirty clothes will WALK to the washine machine, put powder and turn on the machine. When done, FLY up to the bamboo and hang dry.
                Housework is really never ending.

MintyMin

I have a pair of blinds from Ikea in my master bedroom...the nylon string to pull the blinds up/down don't last, not only that the wind is blocked when using Ikea blinds.

Those tab top curtains now are getting better...there are some which have 2 layers in 1. Saw at Metro just now. Or else you can check out John Little/Metro expo sales. Go on first day if you want more selection of colours, designs and lengths.

My hubby thinks that the irobot will solve all cleaning problems - I asked him if the dirty clothes will WALK to the washine machine, put powder and turn on the machine. When done, FLY up to the bamboo and hang dry.
                  Housework is really never ending.
                  Hmm.. the one in my hb's entertainment room is not nylon string kind.. anyway, i will go take a look at the tab top curtains soon.. thanks for all the tips.. but usually the pole part, where do i get it? same plc?

haha.. the way u say abt wat ur hb tinks tat irobot can do n wat u tink it shld do if u wanna buy it is so funny.. but true lor.. hsewrk nvrending.. v v tempted to hire another maid.. the tot is aws there.. esp when my kids take turns to haf fever.. n now my dh also haf fever.. tiring manz..

Celtricia,

I don’t fancy blinds because it’s hard to maintain and keep clean.
                    The one with the pole should be avail at Ikea.

I wish I can get a maid to handle my kids’ endless nonsense - milk, juice, biscuits, water, seaweed and the cleaning/washing up after that. It’s a on-going thing as long as they are at home :x Sometimes I am busy marking son’s assessment or else resting after hanging up the clothes and they start their nonsense again. V V V sian.

MintyMin

Celtricia,

I don't fancy blinds because it's hard to maintain and keep clean.
                      The one with the pole should be avail at Ikea.

I wish I can get a maid to handle my kids' endless nonsense - milk, juice, biscuits, water, seaweed and the cleaning/washing up after that. It's a on-going thing as long as they are at home :x Sometimes I am busy marking son's assessment or else resting after hanging up the clothes and they start their nonsense again. V V V sian.
                      Hmm.. Just realise wat i've got in the entertainment room is roller blind n not roman.. lolx.. anyway.. i nvr clean it coz it is under DH's duty.. since it's his room.

I will go get the pole first den the curtain den..

Same here, almost everyday, am the last to eat or bath.. n once i get to do tat.. kids will look for me.. eldest will wan to eat fruits..so now i juz wash an apple n let him eat the whole w/o cutting it for him.. but both my girls still require me to cut it.. so its like.. haiz.. no time at all to even rest.. wash dishes halfway.. youngest will cling on to my legs.. refuse to even sit down with bro n sis to watch tv.. At tat pt in time.. i really hope i haf a maid..

It is quite contradicting, as am enjoyin the privacy n 1 less person tat i can haf headache abt.. yet i m super tired.. n feel like having maid to ease me frm all those hse wrks.. sigh.. :stupid:

cherrygal

Breathe everyone... I get irritated by their constant demands too but think we need to step back and see the little joys that come with being home with our kids.

I am also constantly telling myself this and my son thinks I am nuts, talking to myself... \"Cherrygal, just enjoy wiping the spilt ice cream on the floor\"... hahahha 😉

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 32 / 245