7 New IP schools

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    899 Posts 105 Posters 359.4k Views 1 Watching
      twentyseven

Hi everyone,

I've been reading this forum (trying to catch up) and many of you may have a misinterpreted version of the concept of integrated programs, especially for affliated schools. I'm referring to the concept of intake of secondary schools based on students PSLE scores.

For example, since I am from SCGS. In my year, about 40 girls took the PSLE in each class, and there were 5 classes. Therefore there were about 200 students, give or take. Priority is given to all affiliated students as long as they pass their PSLE with a score of 200 or more. As a result, should 200 girls all make the 200 mark, all of them will progress into SCGS Secondary.

I graduated from SCGS recently (in 07) and there are 8 classes with about 35 students in each class. Therefore, there about 280-290 students, give or take. As a result, usually, not more than 100 new students make it into these affliated schools. As a student, I would know because most of my friends progressed with me into secondary school, save for perhaps 30-40 girls of the cohort at most. But a more realistic amount of students who did not make it would be less than 20.

However, students are also able to get it through talent programs which have been implemented in the year for both sec 2 students trying to get into sec 3, as well as primary 6 students trying to get into scgs without meeting the cut off mark for PSLE (which changes all over the years: usually ranging from a minimum of 252/253-258) For example, I had many juniors in the Basketball Team and Squash Team that were from other schools and did not make the cut off mark but managed to get in.

But there is also something else to keep in mind parents... These students who made it to the school based on something other than their academics will have a tough time in school should they be unable to keep up. These students that come in based on sports have to keep up with their school team trainings and competitions and should their studies fail, they may be taken off the school team and put on probation. If you are below sec3, meaning sec 1-2, you may still be pushed out of SCGS if your grades are far below expectations though this happens rarely. Just keep in mind that the pressure your child faces is a very big deal because school teams train till 6-7pm each day, and when competition season is around the corner, they train on weekends as well.

The same concept goes with MGS as my sister went to that school. On the other hand, I can't help tyou with the rest. πŸ™‚

WeiHan:
      The way I see it, the addition of the seven more IP schools won't affect the present COP of IP schools. Firstly because, the number isn't big. Only 50 more for each school and they already have this number before they get IP status. It will be useful for some schools to stem brain drain. For example Saint Nick, MGS.....the biggest winner is Cedar Girls School. They are already good, now get to associate with a better brand name VJC.

Can someone tell me what is the intake for MGS ,SCGS and ACSI after they reserve all the places for their affiliated primary schools?

tanbh

kiaaik:
        tanbh:

[quote=\"CentralControl\"] quote]

Hi tanbh, I tend to agree with you that Victoria School is in a good position. VJC had previously been top JC in schools ranking, surpassing RJC and HCJC. Now it is 3rd best JC after RJC(RI) and HCJC (HCI).
        And CGS is academically very strong.
        I see the top 3 in terms of academic being:
        1. RI(JC)/RI/RGS
        2. HCI(JC)/HCI/NYGS
        3. VJC/VS/CGS

that is my feeling too... having a B-G mix partner with a affiliated and same name JC LINKED to an old and famous boys school is a winning formular....

i think VJC can also be relieved on this... because some \"top end\" students of SAP schools like RV and Dunman are no longer going to VJC after their own IP ... hence VJC need to settle this problem ... (Victoria School dont have girls.... so not enough to feed to VJC on overall number of the 'top end' students ) or do the 6 year IP alone to ensure ENOUGH 'very good' students continue to go VJC....but what happened last year... many have heard in Main Stream media or online ... the VS old boy cum President of Old Victorian Assoc (also lately e show producer of YOG) gave MOE a complaint letter & old boys did an online FB petition - VJC 6 yr plan was rejected by MOE

Anglo Chinese School (i) in recent years is also doing much better in terms of COP and academic performance... with partnering with very prestigious English Medium girls school MGS is very good for ensure ACS can be in a good position to fight with RI and HCI...

I am however quite worried for ACJC which is doing rather well too, likely the unofficially number 6 jc or is it Anderson JC? ...

i always thought ACS(I) did their IP classes are ACJC??? but latest info does seems that ACS(I) conduct their own IP classes...? does this new arrangement somehow will affect ACJC's standing? can someone advise me on ACS(i) and ACJC ? thank you.

Anglo Chinese and Victoria family of schools should be able to give Raffles and Hwa Chong a good fight and good alternative place for good students....

jtoh

tanbh:
          kiaaik:

[quote=\"tanbh\"]

that is my feeling too... having a B-G mix partner with a affiliated and same name JC LINKED to an old and famous boys school is a winning formular....

i think VJC can also be relieved on this... because some \"top end\" students of SAP schools like RV and Dunman are no longer going to VJC after their own IP ... hence VJC need to settle this problem ... (Victoria School dont have girls.... so not enough to feed to VJC on overall number of the 'top end' students ) or do the 6 year IP alone to ensure ENOUGH 'very good' students continue to go VJC....but what happened last year... many have heard in Main Stream media or online ... the VS old boy cum President of Old Victorian Assoc (also lately e show producer of YOG) gave MOE a complaint letter & old boys did an online FB petition - VJC 6 yr plan was rejected by MOE

Anglo Chinese School (i) in recent years is also doing much better in terms of COP and academic performance... with partnering with very prestigious English Medium girls school MGS is very good for ensure ACS can be in a good position to fight with RI and HCI...

I am however quite worried for ACJC which is doing rather well too, likely the unofficially number 6 jc or is it Anderson JC? ...

i always thought ACS(I) did their IP classes are ACJC??? but latest info does seems that ACS(I) conduct their own IP classes...? does this new arrangement somehow will affect ACJC's standing? can someone advise me on ACS(i) and ACJC ? thank you.

Anglo Chinese and Victoria family of schools should be able to give Raffles and Hwa Chong a good fight and good alternative place for good students....

[/quote]The IP programme is for ACSI only. And only for students doing the IB (International Baccalaureate). ACJC never had a IP programme.

tanbh

tanbh:

[quote=\"kiaaik\"]
            The IP programme is for ACSI only. And only for students doing the IB (International Baccalaureate). ACJC never had a IP programme.

[/quote]jtoh, thanks for the info on ACS(i)'s IP

• phankaoP Offline
              phankao

Are you saying that Catholic High had more than 200 students scoring >250 at PSLE last year? That sounds very high. As many as if not more than NYPS which I don't think is correct? What is their cohort per year at primary school?
              That's impossible. CHS only has 210 students at p1 intake. By p4, this increases to around 250 bc of the 2 GEP classes. I remember my son's cohort (last yr p6) had around 250 - so that's around the correct number.

the number of students in the pri school that score above 250, probably can estimate around at most 100 to 130. No more than that. I estimate based on the 2 gep classes and the top 2 classes.

dunnoleh:
                WeiHan:

wah...the marriage of 1 boy school with two girls schools. At JC level, Cat high boys can have afford to have two girl friends. :lol:

and the new setup in PMO for population and talent, it helps. πŸ˜‰

my boy at breakfast this morning :

Girl A : he is mine

Girl B : no ! he is mine !

Girl A : no, he is mine, i talked to him first

Girl B : no no, he is mine, i talked to him before he joins Sec 1..

Girl A : 😒

Girl B : 😒

The Cath High Boy : okay okay both are okay ..... :love:

WeiHan

Are you saying that Catholic High had more than 200 students scoring >250 at PSLE last year? That sounds very high. As many as if not more than NYPS which I don't think is correct? What is their cohort per year at primary school?

That's impossible. CHS only has 210 students at p1 intake. By p4, this increases to around 250 bc of the 2 GEP classes. I remember my son's cohort (last yr p6) had around 250 - so that's around the correct number.

the number of students in the pri school that score above 250, probably can estimate around at most 100 to 130. No more than that. I estimate based on the 2 gep classes and the top 2 classes.

The median score for cat High non affiliation is 252
                  http://app.sis.moe.gov.sg/schinfo/SIS_SearchDtls.asp?strCode=7102&snm=CATHOLIC HIGH SCHOOL

That means half their non affiliation students has more than 252 score. It depends how many non affiliation students are there. If 200, then there will be more than 100 with more than 252 score in 2010 intake.

PowerPuff Mum

dunnoleh:

[quote=\"WeiHan\"]wah...the marriage of 1 boy school with two girls schools. At JC level, Cat high boys can have afford to have two girl friends. :lol:

and the new setup in PMO for population and talent, it helps. πŸ˜‰

my boy at breakfast this morning :

Girl A : he is mine

Girl B : no ! he is mine !

Girl A : no, he is mine, i talked to him first

Girl B : no no, he is mine, i talked to him before he joins Sec 1..

Girl A : 😒

Girl B : 😒

The Cath High Boy : okay okay both are okay ..... :love:[/quote]
                    VK2010...You cracked me up! :lol:

Thanks for breaking the ice..it's getting alittle COLD here. Too serious lah!

WeiHan:

[quote=\"jtoh\"]

http://app.sis.moe.gov.sg/schinfo/SIS_SearchDtls.asp?strCode=7102&snm=CATHOLIC HIGH SCHOOL

That means half their non affiliation students has more than 252 score. It depends how many non affiliation students are there. If 200, then there will be more than 100 with more than 252 score in 2010 intake.[/quote]
                      alamak,one was talking about P6 graduates' t-score, another was talking about Sec 1 intake COP

cow head did not match horse mouth leh ....

• phankaoP Offline
                        phankao

WeiHan:

[quote=\"phankao\"]

That means half their non affiliation students has more than 252 score. It depends how many non affiliation students are there. If 200, then there will be more than 100 with more than 252 score in 2010 intake.

alamak,one was talking about P6 graduates' t-score, another was talking about Sec 1 intake COP

cow head did not match horse mouth leh ....[/quote] Yah lor - esp after I read about NYPS having 200 students having 250 and above. Then only later I know he talking about sec 1 COP.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 51 / 90