All About Life Without Maids
Hi Duriz,
No lah, housework wise quite bochap. But having a time-table for my son works…at least a system is in place and I know what he is supposed to do.
I’m waiting for the air con technician to repair the air con unit in son’s room now. ‘Deposited’ the 2 kids at parents’ place as it’s hard to clean up with them around. My eyes can’t open as I’m not used to sleeping anywhere but my 狗窝.
I’m relieved without a maid, but when it comes to having to do clean-ups after repairing air-con/windows, I wish there is one around. so sian having to do all this. -
Janet, my kids goes to bed between 830pm till 9pm, usually my youngest DD will fuss to get her milk by 815pm and I will drag it, as during tat time, i'm still trying to wash up the dishes n prepare boil hot water, thereafter, she will wan me to pat her to bed.. n if she' not slp by 9pm, I'll have big problem as it will be DD1's turn for bedtime.. n she too want me to pat her to slp.. both refuse to let DH pat.. whh is a headache for me.. N i won't b able to step out of the bedroom till about 10pm (earliest).. am really wondering what I should do.. since they all haf wake up at 715am the nxt day juz so i can get them ready for childcare n myself for wrk..celtricia/cherrygal,
I dump all the clothes into the washine machine, and then take my night shower...brush daughter's teeth, prepare coffee powder/water for the morning. Plonk down on the chair to enjoy some cool breeze before putting softener in the machine b4 the last spin.
Hang up clothes on bamboo and then go into the room to coach kids in their work...will then go through the mistakes made with son. Then have some pillow fight and listen to some songs we all like.
At 11pm, lights out and get kids to sleep.
DH basically in charge of DS, but sometimes, DS also create attn problem and want me to pat.. Sigh..
We will only start washing our clothes at 11pm onwards, and hang to dry (suppose to b DH task) the nxt day..
all kids cling on to me, even the smallest ting, they will come ask me, while DH is in his own room watchin show and am bz wif hsewrk, it can get me really irritated.. sigh.. -
Hi Celtricia,
My kids will NOT sleep if I’m not beside them. Like yours, they refuse to let daddy pat them to bed.
I wash my clothes at night so that I have some shade from the direct morning sun…after dumping the clothes inside the machine, I quickly take a shower, brush their teeth (have to brush son’s teeth once a day even though he’s in P4 or else I dare not imagine the cavities).
It’s a mad rush to get laundry hung up and then I can sit down with both of them to get their revision done while enjoying air con. -
Hi Janet,Hi Celtricia,
My kids will NOT sleep if I'm not beside them. Like yours, they refuse to let daddy pat them to bed.
I wash my clothes at night so that I have some shade from the direct morning sun...after dumping the clothes inside the machine, I quickly take a shower, brush their teeth (have to brush son's teeth once a day even though he's in P4 or else I dare not imagine the cavities).
It's a mad rush to get laundry hung up and then I can sit down with both of them to get their revision done while enjoying air con.
Does all your kids slp in the same room? Isnt it tough to make them all slp fast? Sigh.. I really dislike the part to pat them to slp coz they take ages and we can't get our tings done and b in bed b4 11pm.
How old are ur kids? -
celtricia:
My kids are 6 and 10...sticking to me since they were born.
Hi Janet,janet_lee88:
Hi Celtricia,
My kids will NOT sleep if I'm not beside them. Like yours, they refuse to let daddy pat them to bed.
Does all your kids slp in the same room? Isnt it tough to make them all slp fast? Sigh.. I really dislike the part to pat them to slp coz they take ages and we can't get our tings done and b in bed b4 11pm.
How old are ur kids?
We all sleep in the same room, so as to save on electricity (they can't sleep without air con) Supposed to get son out of my room but how to save electricity with 2 units on ? :moneyflies:
By the time they sleep :x , I am too lazy to get up and chat with my gf online
My kids are 6 and 10...sticking to me since they were born.
Hi Janet,celtricia:
[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]Hi Celtricia,
How old are ur kids?
We all sleep in the same room, so as to save on electricity (they can't sleep without air con) Supposed to get son out of my room but how to save electricity with 2 units on ? :moneyflies:
By the time they sleep :x , I am too lazy to get up and chat with my gf online
[/quote]Sigh.. tat's wat we do now too, but since my DS is sick now, we split into 2 rooms to slp..
Save electricity, tat's wat we r tryin to do too.. other den tat, i want to my kids to b able to slp on their own w/o the nid for me to b there, which seesm so much harder now.. n i usually doze off b4 them.. whh is bad.. haiz.. den when i realise i shldn't b slping, its like late liao.. dmanz.. -
We usually stay in son’s room, bcos his books are there.
So we are there in the afternoon (when son does hw). Nights, we are also there (with aircon on) as he has to revise. By the time he is done, it’s time to sleep liao, and ridiculous to turn on air con in another room right ?
It’s impossible to get them to sleep in own rooms at this age, but still have to try. BTW, the aircon guy came to service aircon today bcos it was leaking. Hubby and I agree that we should try to stay in one room, since the aircon unit in master bedroom is big. -
I give my kids tough love...hahaha
Ds is 6 and can now sleep on his own, in his own room. Lights out at 10pm on weekdays and 10.30pm on weekends. My hubby sleeps with him when we are at my parents' place, but Ds will sleep first.
He used to be really sticky too, insisting we sit with him till he sleeps when he was 3-4yrs. Then I started telling him to sleep first coz \"mommy and daddy need to do housework...\"
He would come out of his room but I would threaten to punish him if he didn't stay in his room. He's afraid of me (and I can be really scary when angry) so after a few tries, he started sleeping himself and can now even tell me to close his room door properly.
But with my DD who's less than a year old, I got no choice but to sleep with her. I make it a point never to pat my kids from young as it makes them dependent on patting. I just sit next to her and use a bolster to keep her in place while she drifts off to sleep in the dark.
Haha, Off Topic liao... sorry chief -
cherrygal:
I don't pat my kids to bed, just accompany them, and that's a big mistake. They are used to having me as company and no one else. Perhaps it's the smell they are used to.I give my kids tough love...hahaha
Ds is 6 and can now sleep on his own, in his own room. Lights out at 10pm on weekdays and 10.30pm on weekends. My hubby sleeps with him when we are at my parents' place, but Ds will sleep first.
But with my DD who's less than a year old, I got no choice but to sleep with her. I make it a point never to pat my kids from young as it makes them dependent on patting. I just sit next to her and use a bolster to keep her in place while she drifts off to sleep in the dark.
I used to not pat my kids to slp… but somehow when my DD1 ask me to, i juz did it… n she became use to it… while my DD2, now i juz stop patting her to slp… whh like Cherrygal did, I put her pillows to keep her in place and juz sit there…
As for DS, I threaten him also no use, eventhough when i get angry i can get quite scary… but he keep insisting he nids to pee… whh most of the time it is a lot… though we cut down on him drinkin water after dinner… weird… we even haf a night light for him as he tell us he’s afraid of the dark… sigh… so till now, we still havent really gotten him to slp on his own…
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.