Tao Nan

1.6k Posts 256 Posters 441.6k Views 1 Watching
    • tankeeT Offline
      tankee

wa_si_kiasu_lau_peh:

Different lah tankee...chinese strokes are impt...so you did the \"right\" thing to ensure your DS gets the strokes right.
      the thing is, i also realised that most of my written chinese words would have \"failed\" too. So it was quite a challenge to teach my DS as I need to find out what is the exact stroke and position of the stroke. 😞

• tankeeT Offline
        tankee

Starrenee:
        Is the calligraphy book idiot proof for parents who dun know chinese?

yes. just that you may not be able to explain to your child what the word means or teach your child how to read it.

• tankeeT Offline
          tankee

So I went to popular and bought him a Chinese calligraphy book and started revising the strokes with him.

Tankee, I thought Tao Nan has Chinese calligraphy as one of the CCAs or enrichment program offered to P1s? My friend's daughter is in Chinese calligraphy.

it is also taught in Arts lessons for P1

• G Offline
            Guthix

wa_si_kiasu_lau_peh:

...but 1st spelling come back get 7 out of 10 start panicing .....

This actually happened to me. :oops:

DS was getting full marks for his 听写 until recently when there was a change in the Chinese teacher. The new teacher is very strict with accuracy of the strokes or penmanship. And DS starts to get lots of corrections because of his poor handwriting.

I panicked, worried about his confidence and his year end exam.

So I went to popular and bought him a Chinese calligraphy book and started revising the strokes with him.

:oops:

a few years back they actually have those XiZI books that the school use and they show the sequence of the strokes, and also have guiding lines to practise handwriting. It is good to start training handwriting that early, because it will be a severe handicap at the PSLE and will cause you to lose marks. (Let's face it, handwriting does matter)

wa_si_kiasu_lau_peh

Anyone’s kid in sailsmart program this school holiday?

sleepy

Starrenee:
                I heard from my fren that his fren was asked to pull up his kids result (last 5 performer) otherwise they will recommend for the kid to shift school. After hearing things like dat.,..wah sia! panic like siow!

:!:

ksme

Mid autumn festival celebration at Tao Nan will be held this fri (Sept 17) night from 7 to 9pm. P1 and P2 classes will end at 5pm.

There will be Games Booths, Chinese chess competition, Karaoke Competition finals, eRiddles, Food Arena and Chinese IT and Book Fair.

DS always look forward to this celebration every year. It is a great way to infuse some Chinese culture exposure in a fun environment. Great for parents to meet their children’s classmates and their parents and of course the teachers.

Do set aside some time to go down for the celebration.

doramon

ksme:
                    Mid autumn festival celebration at Tao Nan will be held this fri (Sept 17) night from 7 to 9pm. P1 and P2 classes will end at 5pm.

There will be Games Booths, Chinese chess competition, Karaoke Competition finals, eRiddles, Food Arena and Chinese IT and Book Fair.

DS always look forward to this celebration every year. It is a great way to infuse some Chinese culture exposure in a fun environment. Great for parents to meet their children's classmates and their parents and of course the teachers.

Can children going to P1 next year join for the celebration?

• tankeeT Offline
                      tankee

ksme:

DS always look forward to this celebration every year. It is a great way to infuse some Chinese culture exposure in a fun environment. Great for parents to meet their children's classmates and their parents and of course the teachers.

is it opened to parents? 😄

• JoyJ Offline
                        Joy

yes, it is.

ksme:

is it opened to parents? 😄

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 36 / 165