All About Home Addresses

2.4k Posts 538 Posters 839.1k Views 1 Watching

precious_angel:
      Thanks all for giving such valuable info. At least, I know there is still a way for my kid to study in my preferred school.

Hope everything can go according to plan ๐Ÿ™‚
      Hope that no rules are broken hor ..... else very paiseh one, kids kena transfer out hor

Must also let you know the consequences of any rules been broken. All the best!

mrswongtuition

precious_angel:
        Thanks all for giving such valuable info. At least, I know there is still a way for my kid to study in my preferred school.

if you are genuinely staying at the address stated on NRIC then no issues even if your flat is left empty or you only go back on weekends.

mrswongtuition:
          precious_angel:

if you are genuinely staying at the address stated on NRIC then no issues even if your flat is left empty or you only go back on weekends.

haha, you said it, man (oh, sorry, you are woman)

mrswongtuition:
            precious_angel:

:? how can 'even if flat is empty or go back on weekends' mean 'genuninely stay at the address in the NRIC'? OH! you mean 'if you are genuinely staying at the rental/relative/grandparents' address stated on the NRIC then no issues even if your own flat is left empty or you only go back on to your own flat on weekends'. ๐Ÿ˜‰ heehe...must read full story. ๐Ÿ˜‰

precious_angel

Hi Jedamum and all

U mean canโ€™t? My family really genuinely moving to stay with my parents and probably renting out my unit.

precious_angel:
                Hi Jedamum and all

U mean can't? My family really genuinely moving to stay with my parents and probably renting out my unit.
                if it is genuine, why fear ? even if must read the full and complete story, right ? what does your conscience tell you ? you should be very happy to know that for a genuine case, it is alright, no fear. But if not ........... ๅฟƒ้‡Œๆœ‰้ฌผไฝœ็ฅŸ......????

mrswongtuition

:? how can 'even if flat is empty or go back on weekends' mean 'genuninely stay at the address in the NRIC'? OH! you mean 'if you are genuinely staying at the rental/relative/grandparents' address stated on the NRIC then no issues even if your own flat is left empty or you only go back on to your own flat on weekends'. ๐Ÿ˜‰ heehe...must read full story. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I've enquired about this before cos I was reluctant to change my NRIC address to my rental place cos it might be a transfer of schools if there's a need on MOE's side (which I did not want).
                  & we were considering staying with my parents though our new house is ready cos of convenience (previously my new place was like ulu land - no amenities nearby).

Our questions were directed to two places: SPF and HDB.

According to what the nice policeman at AMK HQ told us, NRIC address should reflect the place where we go home to every night. So it means we 'live' there.

According to a nice officer at HDB, there are a variety of reasons why people leave their own units vacant. Most common reason: They need to look after aged parents, so decided to move in with their parents and leave their own units vacant.
                  Usually, HDB will not question unless someone complains (it's hard for them to go door to door daily to check that the residents who stay in that unit have that address on their NRIC and own the unit).
                  And it may affect MOP if theirs is a relatively new flat (new flat as in they just bought their unit not long ago, not as in newly built).
                  *Who checks? Cos I have friends who don't even stay in their own units but they manage to sell once MOP is up and MOP starts counting from the day they collect their keys. Unless you got official approval from HDB to rent out whole unit, if not they would not know if the REAL MOP was met?*

There are loopholes everywhere in this 'NRIC address' system.
                  If it's a genuine case of staying at the NRIC address, we can't question much.
                  If it's a case of deliberate cheating (i.e. change NRIC address but not staying there), then it's really questionable. However, who will go around enforcing? Unless someone COMPLAINS, else they won't investigate.
                  But your conscience will prick and everyday, you'll be wondering if someone is going to complain and your poor kid gotta be transferred out of the school when found out.

Precious Angel, your flat is eligible to be rented out according to HDB's criterions? If yes and you manage to get approval, then there's no issue even if people complain.

wildboys

Hi, my friend's apartment is within 1km of her choice of sch, but it's being rented out now until June of the year her kid will be in P1. She said should be able to use that address to register for under 1km by showing the tenancy agreement that she can only move in in June, her arguement is that the system can allow those whose condo only TOP within 2years, why not her case? Is she right?? I was thinking she probably have to break the contract, but then even so, how does she proof to the school that she will move in before school starts in Jan?

:?

wildboys:
                      Hi, my friend's apartment is within 1km of her choice of sch, but it's being rented out now until June of the year her kid will be in P1. She said should be able to use that address to register for under 1km by showing the tenancy agreement that she can only move in in June, her arguement is that the system can allow those whose condo only TOP within 2years, why not her case? Is she right?? I was thinking she probably have to break the contract, but then even so, how does she proof to the school that she will move in before school starts in Jan?

:?
                      1. for those condo under construction - it is assumed that it is purchased for owner occupation, and there is a need to show proof of moving in after TOP after the Pri 1 admission, else the kids get transferred out

2. for the existing tenanted-out unit, it is already evidential that the owner is not staying there - therefore, cannot use that address for registration. how / what else to argue about this ?

3. even for breaking of contract, must prove that she is staying there by changing of NRIC address, utilities bill etc

One can own practically the whole neighbourhood but not living there, it does not count

Liverpool73

Hi, question for the group. A person purchases a new property within 1 Km of the school of choice and it goes TOP not long before the P1 registration time. Can they use that as home address even if they havenโ€™t moved in yet, as long as they fully intend to move there if successful in getting a place in the school? If not successful, they intend to stay on in the current residence and rent out the new property instead. The current residence is not within 1 km of the school. Assume that both current residence and new property are owned by the person and the new property will be empty at the time of registration. I feel this should be ok as long as they move to the new place and stay there for the duration of the childโ€™s primary school attendance. Itโ€™s just that they are deciding where to live based on whether they are successful in getting the place in the school. What do people think?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 46 / 238

Mumu73M
                        Mumu73
                        WordWizardsW
                        WordWizards