Hong Wen

2.9k Posts 174 Posters 707.1k Views 1 Watching
      reiner

ya was @ the library for the PV duties briefing yah… actually bit "scary" … too Chinese…

ya, think likewise lor… got selected yet dun turn up… shld give other a chance yah… n dont think they called up to notify bah… so the event was really short of parents… PV called spouse, PSG loop in mummies yah…

shld give a "black" mark on them … keke…

waiting for the next event yah…

hquek

reiner:
        ya was @ the library for the PV duties briefing yah.. actually bit \"scary\" ... too Chinese...

from what I can see of this school, it's pretty focussed on chinese culture and all leh. If you think it's too chinese, sure you dun want to consider?

I saw the 'museum' corner. pretty but what's the use in a school? (oops, probably kena tracked already).

reiner

so P1 start to take Higher Chinese right? me thinking how to brush up my gal chinese leh..

bit scary to see HW such so Chinese lor... everywhere CHINESE yo keke... will still register yah as found the kids are happy leh... and they communicate in 华语. tot nowsdays kids speak english one yah.. so HW has great influence yo...

gotta see my gal 造化 if she is IN lor... 🙏

• simsl_sgS Offline
            simsl_sg

the school is really focus on chinese. I am in the chinese calligraphy class pv and could not pronounce some of the words taught during the class. :lol:

hquek

reiner:
              so P1 start to take Higher Chinese right? me thinking how to brush up my gal chinese leh..

bit scary to see HW such so Chinese lor... everywhere CHINESE yo keke... will still register yah as found the kids are happy leh... and they communicate in 华语. tot nowsdays kids speak english one yah.. so HW has great influence yo...

gotta see my gal 造化 if she is IN lor... 🙏
              Yes, I have the feel that their chinese is way stronger than english. I was amazed during the outing to Bt Timah that the teacher in charge use chinese to communicate instructions. (okay, call me sua koo can?)

So do brush up on your kid's chinese before she goes in - at least won't die of shock. I've sent my kids for chinese enrichment and chinese S&D classes; also trying to ensure they read chinese books regularly. Now doing the si wu kuai du with them.

hquek

simsl_sg:
                the school is really focus on chinese. I am in the chinese calligraphy class pv and could not pronounce some of the words taught during the class. :lol:

honestly, somehow my target schools for my kids were all SAP schools. After getting reacquainted with the language, I belatedly realised it's beauty and superiority....oh well, at least I'm still alive to make up for lost time. 😉

SAHM_TAN

HW is a SAP school so it is a given that it will be very into Chinese culture and values. We speak Mandarin at home but B3-B4 standard, so going to send her to Chinese camp during the hols. If interested, there's a thread in the forum about Chinese enrichment classes.

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=416&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=30

hquek

HW is a SAP school so it is a given that it will be very into Chinese culture and values. We speak Mandarin at home but B3-B4 standard, so going to send her to Chinese camp during the hols. If interested, there's a thread in the forum about Chinese enrichment classes.

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=416&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=30
                    Enrichment classes are all fine and good. But remember, we are talking about a language; I feel it's important to provide an environment where our kids live in, accepts and hopefully even loves chinese.

My chinese also B3 standard. I'm trying very hard to pull my socks up. Somehow my kids do not like chinese. Have bought tonnes of books to kick start their interest and now in the process of acquainting them with those books. Not an easy process, but I like to go the hard way.

Gosh, you guys are active posters onto this thread. Sure hope to see you guys in the school. then we can yak and share more stuff about what's going on. At least the school will not stay a blackbox (sorry, but that's what I feel cos many things I still dunno about this school).

reiner

huh? gave instruction in 华语? are there China Teachers eh?

huh? parents gotta brush up too eh?

me 半桶水yo. so me need chinese class? :?:

me got the 四五快读 bk 1 & 2... started 1 page then my girl close the book... sigh! she said 难 although she knows the word coz tatught in CC yah... enrichment class for chinese?? which one is good, need some light yah... nearby?

hquek

reiner:
                        huh? gave instruction in 华语? are there China Teachers eh?

huh? parents gotta brush up too eh?

me 半桶水yo. so me need chinese class? :?:

me got the 四五快读 bk 1 & 2... started 1 page then my girl close the book... sigh! she said 难 although she knows the word coz tatught in CC yah... enrichment class for chinese?? which one is good, need some light yah... nearby?
                        not chinese teacher, that teacher I was tagged with is a local!

if parents dun brush up, you think the kid will want to do that? I learnt san zi jing (at least a small small bit), tang poems just so I can recite to my kids.

I am going through book 1 with the 4 y/o. not easy. but just keep pointing and explaining. I will keep going back to some of those words until he really familiar.

FYI, my kids are attending SHHK-arts & cultural troupe classes. I do like 乐乐华语班 - it's akin to berries format, and the teachers are really good. Their S&D classes for preschool is very very popular as well. I understand that parents have given positive reviews about Berries also.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 19 / 294

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog