Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Domestic Help
    10.3k Posts 915 Posters 3.6m Views 1 Watching
    • G Offline
      gumiho

My maid dun have offdays. I used to buy toiletries for her - if it's my money, she dun get to choose. Upfront I told her already, you want to choose, you pay for it.

And after going through toothpaste etc at super fast rate, she now has to buy her own toiletries. Basically my mum will bring her along on trips to ntuc/market and she can go there and buy. Sometimes they accumulate purchase in the same receipt, but my mum will mark out those my maid bought and i deduct from her salary.
      In all cases, I retain receipt as proof. Usually I get her to sign that she is the one who incur these purchases also (cover my ass strategy).

i did the same for my ex-maid......
      when we go shopping together, she would buy her own personal stuff
      and she liked to pamper herself like using whitening cream, pimple cream, moisturiser (diff brands for face and body)
      off course i deducted fr her salary for all these purchases
      and she was rather generous in all these purchases 😉 😄

but she would \"sting\" on stuff such as hygience pads
      which resulted in staining here and there...... :x
      so i would have to spare her my personal stuff

Basically some maids are merely here for holiday despite them keep claiming that they are here to work hard for their family.

My previous maid will always go shopping whenever we ask her to run errand for us. She came to work for us in a small briefcase and left our home with 2 HUGE luggage bags. :shock:

Augmum

fionong:

My previous maid will always go shopping whenever we ask her to run errand for us. She came to work for us in a small briefcase and left our home with 2 HUGE luggage bags. :shock:
        with 2 HUGE luggage bags ??
        would it be something like what i have posted above regarding my fren's maid 😉 :roll:

hquek

Tell u all something abt my fren's maid who returned to her hometown after completion of her contract.

i heard he said that his maid got a few baggages to carry along
          so she left 1 baggage behind and told him to courier that baggage to her.

out of curiosity, he opened the baggage to see what it contained 😉
          Guess what ??????

his wife's long lost blouses and undergarments
          his kids's long lost clothes
          some chinese herbs
          some cutie children bowls and spoons
          and some more what....i couldn't remember......
          so he asked me, \"do u think i shd send the baggage back to her ?\" hahaha
          huh? no one checked her luggage when she left? perhaps the good stuff she hauled back herself leaving those she didn't mind to bring/not for 'sir' to courier.

Anyway, my ex-maid went home with 2 bulging bags plus 1 carry on. She's thrifty and hardly bought anything. MIL was the one to load her with unused clothings, bags and what nots etc...

Augmum

Tell u all something abt my fren's maid who returned to her hometown after completion of her contract.

i heard he said that his maid got a few baggages to carry along
            so she left 1 baggage behind and told him to courier that baggage to her.

out of curiosity, he opened the baggage to see what it contained 😉
            Guess what ??????

his wife's long lost blouses and undergarments
            his kids's long lost clothes
            some chinese herbs
            some cutie children bowls and spoons
            and some more what....i couldn't remember......
            so he asked me, \"do u think i shd send the baggage back to her ?\" hahaha

huh? no one checked her luggage when she left? perhaps the good stuff she hauled back herself leaving those she didn't mind to bring/not for 'sir' to courier.

Anyway, my ex-maid went home with 2 bulging bags plus 1 carry on. She's thrifty and hardly bought anything. MIL was the one to load her with unused clothings, bags and what nots etc...

i asked my fren that question too...
            he said that he din check her baggages
            i also think so...the goody stuff shd already been hauled bk herself 😉

i also din check my maid's luggage when she left.....
            but at least i am not so blurred as compared to my fren,
            i would have known long ago for any missing blouses, undergarments or kids' clothes etc 😉

hrbyh

hi pals,

I’m new to this forum. Is there anybody willing to share your satisfied maid agency to me? or introduce me good maid?

Many thanks!

• G Offline
                gumiho

fionong:

with 2 HUGE luggage bags ??
                would it be something like what i have posted above regarding my fren's maid 😉 :roll:

My friend say it is a must to check the maid's luggage before she left our place but it was a last minute notice to her thus I don't think she took any of our stuffs with her and also I am standing in front of her while she is packing. The best part is she even brought home the new towels which we bought for her..... Basically she squeezed everything (OLD & NEW) into her bags.

Angelight

If your maid is rude to you, always show you bad attitude especially when she is being corrected on her work and even talks or argues back instead of apologising for her mistakes, would you return her to agent or bear and grin it until the contract finishes?

Just want to get some views cos even though I am super frustrated with this present maid, I am very sian to change maid and go thru the whole proess of training and adjusting again. Besides, good maids are extinct nowadays, so am not hoping will get a good maid who is gd in her work, loyal and respectful to employer.

If I keep getting maids with bad attitude, then I would have to keep changing maids, like one of my friends who changed 8 to 9 maids in 3 years, super sian lah…

Very frustrating…any advice is appreciated. T.I.A.

moonee

[quote=\"Angelight\"]If your maid is rude to you, always show you bad attitude especially when she is being corrected on her work and even talks or argues back instead of apologising for her mistakes, would you return her to agent or bear and grin it until the contract finishes?

Just want to get some views cos even though I am super frustrated with this present maid, I am very sian to change maid and go thru the whole proess of training and adjusting again. Besides, good maids are extinct nowadays, so am not hoping will get a good maid who is gd in her work, loyal and respectful to employer.

If I keep getting maids with bad attitude, then I would have to keep changing maids, like one of my friends who changed 8 to 9 maids in 3 years, super sian lah...

Think yr maid does not want to work long. Ya boy! very frustrating to start all over again but I think u will have to do it. Mine is super dumb and sickly. My mums blood pressure has never stabalised since I had this maid. We have no choice but to change her, hve already sounded the agent. Hoping to slowly get one that is \"normal\" and mentally prepared to work. My house has never beeen in such a big mess.
                    Think u should change her before u blow ur top. If u hv tried all methods with her and dnt think she will change, I suggest u quietly look for someone else. 😢

hquek

Angelight:
                      If your maid is rude to you, always show you bad attitude especially when she is being corrected on her work and even talks or argues back instead of apologising for her mistakes, would you return her to agent or bear and grin it until the contract finishes?
                      For my case, I'm lucky in that maids don't show colour until sometime into the job. Usually when that happens, I'll tell her straight in the face that this attitude cannnot do - you are the employer and she is the employee (don't use maid lah). And if she don't listen, I'll call the agent to talk to her. (This only possible if agent is the type that helps employers).

Depends on the situation, if she don't have loan, just bring her to the airport. If she have loan, bring her to the agent. I understand a friend brought hers back - after a few days of 'suffering', ok already.

Maids arrive with one pathetic luggage. Lucky ones will leave with 2 luggages…mum had one who had to buy luggage to bring home her purchases. We bring them along when we shop. This particular maid bought 10 sets of bedsheets ! Imagine the weight. But does she appreciate ? NO. Out of the blue on 2 weekends, she sat on the chair for 3 hours, refusing to budge or prepare lunch. Fearing that she would do something silly, mum decided to send her back.

When I send my rude and horribly stubborn maids home (those with no debts), I use ‘pick up’ service bcos they don’t deserve to be fetched to the airport. I make them pack their things in front of me. They are allowed to bring only their things home, or things they paid with their own money. Clothes, towels, toiletries which I provide are not to be taken.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 318 / 1032