Teaching Chinese at Home
yuppybb:
I didn't order from dang dang because I didn't want to go through the stress you went through. So I just bought my set of siwukuaidu from http://www.sgshinekids, plus delivery is slightly more expensive, but save the hassle and long wait. You want to try them? Definitely cheaper than popular.
But then hor ,. hao mama book - sold out and alot of places dun carry.
Someone overhere mention daigou website. BTW wat is that ? is the prices of books cheaper ? shipping oso cheaper? hows the waiting time? anyone noes?
Thanks. :celebrate: -
yuppybb:
I didn't order from dang dang because I didn't want to go through the stress you went through. So I just bought my set of siwukuaidu from http://www.sgshinekids, plus delivery is slightly more expensive, but save the hassle and long wait. You want to try them? Definitely cheaper than popular.
Someone overhere mention daigou website. BTW wat is that ? is the prices of books cheaper ? shipping oso cheaper? hows the waiting time? anyone noes?
Thanks. :celebrate: -
I also encountered many problems with Citibank visa, though I managed to order successfully a few times. The problem is with the Citibank server. I canceled the cards already.
Now I am using DBS Amex card, it is very easy to order with these cards. Remember to try once only, just ignore the error message. -
momof4:
Hihi
I didn't order from dang dang because I didn't want to go through the stress you went through. So I just bought my set of siwukuaidu from http://www.sgshinekids, plus delivery is slightly more expensive, but save the hassle and long wait. You want to try them? Definitely cheaper than popular.yuppybb:
Thanks. :celebrate:
Ya that's the last resort:) but was trying hard so tat I can try to order next time
tamarind:
For citibank, for the successful order, did it show a screen on successful authentication?I also encountered many problems with Citibank visa, though I managed to order successfully a few times. The problem is with the Citibank server. I canceled the cards already.
Hihi
Now I am using DBS Amex card, it is very easy to order with these cards. Remember to try once only, just ignore the error message.
For Amex , if it shows error message den how do I Noe of my order went thru huh? How long it takes dang dang to send payment acknowledgementsil ar? Thks -
yuppybb:
I only tried Amex. At payease, there will be a payment confirmation. But when it refreshes to dangdang, it'll say there is a problem. I wait for days and then finally dd will send an email asking me to confirm with name, 1st 4 and last 4 digits. All is well with the world then.
For citibank, for the successful order, did it show a screen on successful authentication?tamarind:
I also encountered many problems with Citibank visa, though I managed to order successfully a few times. The problem is with the Citibank server. I canceled the cards already.
Hihi
Now I am using DBS Amex card, it is very easy to order with these cards. Remember to try once only, just ignore the error message.
For Amex , if it shows error message den how do I Noe of my order went thru huh? How long it takes dang dang to send payment acknowledgementsil ar? Thks
Kindly note that Amex also take some time to update their transactions. I can wait for like 1.5 weeks before the amount in Internet banking is shown as charged to my card (although the amount would have been deducted from my available credit) -
tamarind:
Hi Tamarind,
Hi Haley,
The only way to improve her Chinese is by reading as many story books as possible. There is no other way. Since your daughter is only in primary school, it is definitely not too late to do so. You must be prepared to put in a lot of hard work. Look for books that she likes. Sit with her and ask her to read out loud to you, she should read more than 1000 words everyday. You will need to read the books ahead of her, check the dictionary and note down the hanyu pinyin yourself. Do not make her check the dictionary and write down new words, this is sure to make her hate Chinese. When there are words that she cannot read, just tell her how to read and move on quickly. The aim is to let her enjoy the stories and develop a love for Chinese. If a child does not love Chinese, she will never get near perfect scores in Chinese, especially in upper primary.
As for tuition, if it is only once or twice a week, it is not going to be effective. A child in primary school who does not have a strong foundation in Chinese, will have to spend at least 2 hours everyday reading Chinese books out loud and also writing compositions, otherwise there is not much hope of getting the best results. You should try to ask her to write a few sentences of what she has done everyday.
Please read my blog for more information.
http://tamarindvillage.blogspot.com/2010/09/how-to-raise-bilingual-child.html
Thank you so much for your valuable advice, I have been trying to do this with her everyday, getting her to write a few sentences and reading with her. I think I do see some improvement..thank you! By the way, are you a chinese teacher? -
yuppybb,
i’ve experienced the same before, dang dang said payment was unsuccessful. However, when i call Amex card customer service on the same day of transaction, they told me the amount has been charged to the card. u may try contacting them. -
tamarind:
Hi, Tamarind,
just received books from dangdang yesterday....
my kids are very excited about the books and the quality of the books are better than expected....
my son who once told me he hated chinese, last night 一口气 read two books of '不一样的卡梅拉', it is the first CHinese Books that he read independently (though he needed my help for some words he didn't know)....my daughter completed one simpler book at one go as well....
i am very happy and think i will place a new order from dangdang for those books in your updated blog....
thanks again.... :thankyou: -
HyperKiasu:
HyperKiasu,tamarind:
Hi, Tamarind,
just received books from dangdang yesterday....
my kids are very excited about the books and the quality of the books are better than expected....
my son who once told me he hated chinese, last night 一口气 read two books of '不一样的卡梅拉', it is the first CHinese Books that he read independently (though he needed my help for some words he didn't know)....my daughter completed one simpler book at one go as well....
i am very happy and think i will place a new order from dangdang for those books in your updated blog....
thanks again.... :thankyou:
How long did it take for the books to arrive? I have ordered recently and wondering how soon I can expect to receive the books.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.