Comparing Pre-school English Reading and Phonics Enrichment

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved English
    1.2k Posts 455 Posters 836.7k Views 1 Watching
      reiner

hi buds,

ooops... tot you have 好介绍 of nearby class for me mah...

already called up MMI past few days. and was told only JE (near to MRT),JW (near to MRT) and Tampinese (gotta take MRT then change feeder bus n walk a distance) have enrichment class - phonics one... Others are no more... on the webby mentioned of enrichment class ones have already converted to Childcare lor (like the Orchard one) ...

since there are other centres also offer Montessori, then me gotta source again...

appreciated your explaination of this part...

my mum stays in Jurong which is near to JW... still pondering shall me travel to there lor... can go over my mum's pl then to phonics class then back to mum's pl for dinner. next back home... will this also tired my gal eh? since gotta do it very week... defence lawyer, a.k.a dh rasied his OBJECTION...

how about other phonics class besides Montessori method wld you recommend? do you open phonics class on Sat pm? keke...

lil_jade

Buds,

Thanks for your input!

Actually, this teacher came from Independent Creative Learners. Used to teach there. So... I check the web and her rates are just $20 cheaper..

So class size of 7 is too much?

I was looking at the MMI phonics links you provided and realise that it's $120 per month.. but just 1 hour... do you roughly know the class size? + it will not need 3 years commitment....

Of course, Montessori seems more established... Though the home - based teacher is good that it'll be the same teacher throughout.

Headache... maybe I should just go to the edufarm ones... though quality of teacher is doubtful.. but it's cheap loh.... and it's Letterland!

We'll be travelling to her place.. it's just 1 MRT away, so no prob! 😄

lil_jade:
          Buds,

Thanks for your input!
          You are welcome. 😄
          lil_jade:
          Actually, this teacher came from Independent Creative Learners. Used to teach there. So... I check the web and her rates are just $20 cheaper..
          No matter how much cheaper...
          Cheaper will still be good, right? 😉
          Furthermore you know that she was previously from ICL. 😎
          lil_jade:
          So class size of 7 is too much?
          It's only in my opinion that it is a bit much for that age range, dear..
          For all we know she may be able to handle it. For me, 5 is really the
          max. Usually i try to have only 3 or 4. But different strokes for different
          folks, yah? 😉 More than 6 in a group (esp younger age children) is
          usually the size of a commercial set-up. That was what i meant. 😉
          lil_jade:
          I was looking at the MMI phonics links you provided and realise that it's $120 per month.. but just 1 hour... do you roughly know the class size? + it will not need 3 years commitment....
          For express classes (older children) they can do 10 mths pgrm. For the
          other age range, usually 12mths to 18mths to finish depending on the
          group development. Last i heard their group is like 7 to 8 in a class.
          lil_jade:
          Of course, Montessori seems more established... Though the home - based teacher is good that it'll be the same teacher throughout.
          Yes, of course... Montessori Method has been around for a very long time! 😉
          Teachers in commercial centres usually hafta undertake an agreement to finish
          their existing classes prior to leaving the centres unless for truly urgent cases.
          Then, probably a slow hand-over to another teacher would have to take place.
          That said, different centres have different protocol with regards to this as well.
          So... yup, the children WILL have the same teacher throughout in \"most\" cases.
          lil_jade:
          Headache... maybe I should just go to the edufarm ones... though quality of teacher is doubtful.. but it's cheap loh.... and it's Letterland!
          We cannot always assume that teachers from void deck ctrs or from ctrs
          offering cheaper rates are usually the worse off ones.. 😢 Cos i HAVE
          worked in cheapo centres but i'm very good! :lol: Sorry hor, that was
          rather shameless. :laugh: Do try to go down and see for yourself yah!
          Give all teachers a chance to show their potential... they could be the
          good hidden ones. :evil: (Some experienced and senior teachers do
          prefer to work nearby nia... so save on travelling time & cost... 😉)
          lil_jade:
          We'll be travelling to her place.. it's just 1 MRT away, so no prob! 😄
          Like i said, it sounds good! Hope you can make up your mind soon enough
          before spaces run out! :rahrah:

reiner:
            hi buds,

Well, hello again reiner.. 😉
            reiner:
            ooops... tot you have 好介绍 of nearby class for me mah...
            You're excited i know.. :lol:
            reiner:
            already called up MMI past few days. and was told only JE (near to MRT),JW (near to MRT) and Tampinese (gotta take MRT then change feeder bus n walk a distance) have enrichment class - phonics one... Others are no more... on the webby mentioned of enrichment class ones have already converted to Childcare lor (like the Orchard one) ...
            There's one in Kee Sun Ave i think, but really got to see the teacher
            teaching, with any school you are recce-ing. While the method may
            be the same, the quality will vary between people.
            reiner:
            since there are other centres also offer Montessori, then me gotta source again...

appreciated your explaination of this part...
            No worries. You can also find out if Josiah Montessori (Eastpoint i think)
            offers weekend phonics pgrms and also from The Learning Curve @
            Tampines Mart. TLC used to be an MMI franchise but heard they've
            recently gone private... this i'm not too sure since it was only hear
            say..
            reiner:
            my mum stays in Jurong which is near to JW... still pondering shall me travel to there lor... can go over my mum's pl then to phonics class then back to mum's pl for dinner. next back home... will this also tired my gal eh? since gotta do it very week... defence lawyer, a.k.a dh rasied his OBJECTION...
            It is a commitment that you have to make you know... after all it WILL
            take like 12mth ++ to finish (approx) so it will mean that you need to
            ensure she will not miss that many lessons to keep up. Having your
            mom within JW is definitely a good reason enough to put your child
            near there... :lol: ... but yah... it means you and DH got no weekend
            time for yourselves due to hanging out at mom's. It will be pretty routine
            for you both... three if including your child. 😉 Do weigh your options
            carefully.
            reiner:
            how about other phonics class besides Montessori method wld you recommend?
            I like the Letterland's way of teaching phonics as well.
            Plus the likes of Jolly Phonics, both are equally fun and
            engaging for children to learn / pick up reading skills. 😄
            Again, dependent on teacher's delivery lar yaa...
            reiner:
            do you open phonics class on Sat pm? keke...
            Not yet, but i maybe.. :evil: ... plans are in the works. Most probably
            after i deliver my #3 next year. :evil: I haven't officially open registration,
            i already full house wait list, so how like that? :lol:

Plus if you noticed, i am also very far from where you are... i
            am up north sista.. :lol:

Happy centre hunting, yah! 🙏

titank

lil_jade:
              Can I have the opinion of the phonics expert mummies and daddies? Thanks!! 😄

Hi lil_jade

I would said just go for it & try out the homebased phonics. If 1/2 way you are not getting results I would suggest try out the commercial ones.
              I would recommend maximum size 5 for homebased phonics.

reiner

Hi buds,

we dont drive @ all, so centres near to mrt will be best yah...

thanks again for sharing w me of the Montessori...

thanks for the 介绍 of Josiah Montessori :lol: ... Millenia Walk one is just nice for me... shall check it out yo...

defend lawyer said same thing as you yah>>
                it means you and DH got no weekend
                for you both..... hmmmm.... and no more trips/ holidays too... we dont want to miss any lesson once commit to a course...

ooopss... then me remember \"sa lah\" lor... that you are in central area yah... then no hope to follow you nah... no 缘份 lor...

reiner:
                  Hi buds, we dont drive @ all, so centres near to mrt will be best yah... thanks again for sharing w me of the Montessori... thanks for the 介绍 of Josiah Montessori :lol: ... Millenia Walk one is just nice for me... shall check it out yo...

Good luck, dearie.. :xedfingers:
                  reiner:
                  defend lawyer said same thing as you yah>>
                  it means you and DH got no weekend
                  for you both..... hmmmm.... and no more trips/ holidays too...
                  Like your defence lawyer DH... i too just offering advice based on
                  experience. The session is too short (1hr) to commit such a long
                  journey and you guys are not driving some more :faint:!
                  reiner:
                  we dont want to miss any lesson once commit to a course...
                  Yes, this is good mind set. 😉
                  reiner:
                  ooopss... then me remember \"sa lah\" lor... that you are in central area yah... then no hope to follow you nah... no 缘份 lor...
                  Yap, i'm in Woodlands now sayang.. http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php
                  Reali too far and tiring for your princess and yourselves.
                  Hope you find one near you, yah.. Academics is important...
                  Quality family time is also as important if not more.. :love:

Update me how it goes okie, reiner?

Regards, buds. 😉

lil_jade

titank,

Yupz, thanks! Will give the home-based one a try to see if my gal will like it… but of course, me being green in phonics, I wouldn’t know if it’s effective within that period of time… so will see how it goes! 😎

lil_jade

buds,

I also want my gal to join in the queue for your phonics class... 😎

I live in sembawang... very very near your new place woh!! 😉

Cute lar you lil_jade.. :lol:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 69 / 123

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies