Teaching Chinese at Home
hey for those who are eyeing on \"学前阅读计划-首100字“...not too sure if any of you realise that there is an IPHONE APP that also carry this series. I check with my HARDCOPY book liao. The apps and the actual book is the SAME! :lol: :lol:
there is a voice recording that u can play to listen to the story. there is oso a quiz session to test on recognition of words.
the first book for the 首100字 is FREE!!
so download n try. subsequent books u will need to pay 0.99/bk. u can search under STICKBOY LEARNS CHINESE / CHINESE 100
(pls dun be mistaken - m not working for this company heee)
:celebrate: -
HyperKiasu:
tamarind:
I also encountered many problems with Citibank visa, though I managed to order successfully a few times. The problem is with the Citibank server. I canceled the cards already.
Now I am using DBS Amex card, it is very easy to order with these cards. Remember to try once only, just ignore the error message.
Hi, Tamarind,
just received books from dangdang yesterday....
my kids are very excited about the books and the quality of the books are better than expected....
my son who once told me he hated chinese, last night 一口气 read two books of '不一样的卡梅拉', it is the first CHinese Books that he read independently (though he needed my help for some words he didn't know)....my daughter completed one simpler book at one go as well....
i am very happy and think i will place a new order from dangdang for those books in your updated blog....
thanks again.... :thankyou:
It's my pleasure to share good books with other parents
jemlth:
You should receive an email asking to verify the last few digits of your credit card number. You need to reply and then they will approve. If you don't see this email, check your junk folder or email them at [email protected]. I usually receive this email within 3 days.等待审核 means waiting for approval.

yuppybb:
hi all
i tink my order went thru finally! sweat! haa
but what does this mean ? (等待审核)
what do i need to do? I hv only received an email saying that payment is received and i can check shipment status on my order page. apart from that no other email.
thanks. -
Thanks! Unfortunately it's only available for Iphone 3.3 and above or something. Didn't work on mine. Time to upgrade.
yuppybb:
:roll: :roll:hey for those who are eyeing on \"学前阅读计划-首100字“...not too sure if any of you realise that there is an IPHONE APP that also carry this series. I check with my HARDCOPY book liao. The apps and the actual book is the SAME! :lol: :lol:
there is a voice recording that u can play to listen to the story. there is oso a quiz session to test on recognition of words.
the first book for the 首100字 is FREE!!
so download n try. subsequent books u will need to pay 0.99/bk. u can search under STICKBOY LEARNS CHINESE / CHINESE 100
(pls dun be mistaken - m not working for this company heee)
:celebrate: -
Hi everyone
I have a noob question.
I was reading this chapter in \"好妈妈\" on“实事求是”and although I've finished the chapter and have some inkling on what she's talking about, I still don't know whether I've captured the essence. The term is new to me.
Does it mean something like having 自知之明,being 脚踏实地,or 尽力而为? anyone can define it in closer english or mandarin terms? -
hi toddles, I just finished that chapter also and was :? . Went to Baidu to get meaning - I think the 近义词 makes it clearer a bit.
According to baidu, http://baike.baidu.com/view/10424.htm
meaning:
指按照事物的实际情况说话、办事、做学问。
示例
总结经验要实事求是,不可弄虚做假。
近义词
脚踏实地
反义词
弄虚作假 故弄玄虚 -
thanks very much hquek!
perhaps it’s just not in our common lingo here… -
toddles:
No issue, I also need to check up the meaning. As I was reading, I thought that might be the meaning; but then I guess my chinese not good, cos still scratching my head at end of the chapter.thanks very much hquek!
perhaps it's just not in our common lingo here...
Working very hard to finish it but less than halfway through still...this is the first wordy chinese (non text, non joke) book I'm reading in my ENTIRE life. the things I do for my kids. -
btw, i want to buy a good chinese dictionary. any suggestions as to which one to get?[/quote]
if you have those newfangled phones like iphone, strongly encourage to find those free apps. Installed Pleco e-dict on my hubby’s iphone. After some experiment, quite easy to use. But if you want those additionals to make it more powerful (eg using handwriting to find the word), you have to pay for the add-ons.[/quote]
Thanks hquek! i’m actually looking for a hardcopy chinese dictionary. -
yah this is the first long chinese book I'm reading in a LONG time. i thought my chinese was quite good but then i came across this chapter and she was going like these are the four most impt words you can teach your child to live by, and I was like, hey I've never even seen that term before!
No issue, I also need to check up the meaning. As I was reading, I thought that might be the meaning; but then I guess my chinese not good, cos still scratching my head at end of the chapter.toddles:
thanks very much hquek!
perhaps it's just not in our common lingo here...
Working very hard to finish it but less than halfway through still...this is the first wordy chinese (non text, non joke) book I'm reading in my ENTIRE life. the things I do for my kids.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.