Nanyang Primary
My P2 son was telling me that his teacher was selecting students from his class to recommend for 'collage class' next year. Does anyone know what is this class about? :?
temjin68:
Hi...
u can try to apply again next yr. Still have chance one bah cause ur kid borned in 08. Maybe they prefer to accept parents whose kids are nearer to pri 1 as they are more \"urgent\"?genice:
[quote=\"temjin68\"]Hi hi
How I wish my kid can get in.
Lets apply again next yr.
cheer up!
My boy born in 2007. This is my last chance I think.[/quote]Huh? 2007 means your DS start P1 in 2014. In that case, you only need to register him in 2013. Parent volunteer is a year in advance only - so you need to apply for volunteering in 2012 -2013 only. Why next year last chance??
Your DS born in 2007, so he's only turning 3 this yr. And you are applying for parent volunteer when he is turning 3 for a place in primary school? I know this is KS forum, but this type of KS is really \"stressful\".......relax! -
Pen88n:
[/quote]temjin68:
[quote=\"genice\"]
Huh? 2007 means your DS start P1 in 2014. In that case, you only need to register him in 2013. Parent volunteer is a year in advance only - so you need to apply for volunteering in 2012 -2013 only. Why next year last chance??
Your DS born in 2007, so he's only turning 3 this yr. And you are applying for parent volunteer when he is turning 3 for a place in primary school? I know this is KS forum, but this type of KS is really \"stressful\".......relax!
I know very KS....the school told me to apply this year and I will know by oend of this year if selected..PV duties start next year for the duration of 2 years...to cover 80 hours.... -
mickeyhmh:
My P2 son was telling me that his teacher was selecting students from his class to recommend for 'collage class' next year. Does anyone know what is this class about? :?
From what i understanding \"collage class\" is a mixture of high ability and the weak pupils within 1 class. They do not follow the text books or curriculum. The teacher in charge will plan them and I ever see parents are also invited to share with the children about their job or so. The children do group projects and also out for field trip learning. They had ever visited the fire station and came back to write about it. I remember NYPS started last yr as Mdm Heng and some teachers went in Italy or Belgium to understudy at 2 years ago and they are starting out this collage class after seeing they have a mixture of different age group children in the childcare. As it was pioneer for last yr p3 so some parents didn't want to join in. -
temjin68:
[/quote]Just apply again next yr lah.. website says till July 2011 rite? Or go join grassroots?Pen88n:
[quote=\"temjin68\"]
I know very KS....the school told me to apply this year and I will know by oend of this year if selected..PV duties start next year for the duration of 2 years...to cover 80 hours.... -
As a former teacher, i just wanna add in that its very normal to redistribute the students or even keep different levels of work in the same class. I think in a way this is being fair to the kids and their parents.
It happens in all schools, I believe. It's actually an effective way to teach children. Those who understand the syllabus better can progress on to more challenging questions while those who are having problems can build up on their foundation.mommyNg:
Hi vk2010,
What you post earlier about NYPS teachers was indeed very encouraging! Do you know if this is true for all classes/levels? I heard from parents that there are usually 2-3 top classes every year from p3 onwards. I also heard from parents of other schools saying that children in top classes are treated differently (eg more challenging work) than the others. Is this true for NYPS too? One parent told me it is very important to do well in P2 exams cos' children will be \"streamed\" according to their results for P3 class. Not sure how much to \"stress\" my poor kid!!
I've also heard that in some schools, the best teachers are assigned to the top and bottom classes. So try to get into the best or worst classes. :lol:
Imagine if u are a kid who learns fast and because some of ur classmates are slower learners, the pace of teaching is hindered and the fast learning kids may feel bored and lose interest in class.
Now if u imagine urself as a slow learner, u will also feel bored and lost if ur teacher keeps moving on to questions that are too challenging when u have not even got ur basics correct. And usually in tis case, the kids might totally give up.
So most schools and teachers are grouping students according to their ability so that they can learn at the right pace. Ultimately that is the most appropriate way of learning, it doesnt mean doing more challenging questions will make u a better student/person. Its really learning at the right pace makes u more interested to learn. Think PM lee or one of the ministers mention that b4.
Even now teachers also have to group questions into differnt abilities like level 1, leve 2 and so on for the same class.. level1 are the must dos.. and level 3 will be challenge yourself or good to know how to do. A lot of work on the teachers side.. trust me!! This is called differentiated learning.
So dun fret/ compare, perhaps understand why the sch/teachers is doing it and find out how ur kid is coping, that will help more.
Just my 2 cents worth.
Can someone advise me on the chart below for 2010 intake.
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/bukit-timah
If i qualify as PV, i will fall under phase 2b rite? But if my address ( grandma's address) is within 1-2 km then what is the chance of getting in? 100%?
i dun understand in 2010, y take up rate is only 91% when application was 142% for plase 2B.. so pp gave up the slots?
if i dun qualify at phase 2b, phase 2c is definitely no chance? -
Extracted from MOe website:
Should the number of applications exceed the number of vacancies in any phase, places will be balloted according to the following order of priority. From 2010, Singapore Citizens will be given two ballot slips for each child, while Singapore Permanent Residents will continue to get one ballot slip per child.
1. Children living within 1 km of the school of choice.
2. Children living between 1 km and 2 km of the school of choice.
3. Children living outside 2 km of the school of choice.
I dun understand… if 50 vacanies left and 50 students stay within 1 km, then dun need ballot liao?
If 50 vacanices left and 25 stay within 1 km, then another 25 will be balloted under 1-2 km har?
Thanks for advising… :)i think stay within 1 km not many lah hor for NY. -
genice:
Application 142% for 2B refers to the number of application vs the number of vacancies. Take up rate 91% refers to the number of take-up so far till phase 2B vs the number of vacancies in the school as a whole. Remainder 9% is for phase 2C.Can someone advise me on the chart below for 2010 intake.
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/bukit-timah
If i qualify as PV, i will fall under phase 2b rite? But if my address ( grandma's address) is within 1-2 km then what is the chance of getting in? 100%?
i dun understand in 2010, y take up rate is only 91% when application was 142% for plase 2B.. so pp gave up the slots?
if i dun qualify at phase 2b, phase 2c is definitely no chance?
For the chances of getting in for within 1-2km, you need to check with school. Most popular schools have only chances for within 1km. Better you check with school first. -
MoonFlower:
Hi MoonFlower, Thanks for your explanation!
From what i understanding \"collage class\" is a mixture of high ability and the weak pupils within 1 class. They do not follow the text books or curriculum. The teacher in charge will plan them and I ever see parents are also invited to share with the children about their job or so. The children do group projects and also out for field trip learning. They had ever visited the fire station and came back to write about it. I remember NYPS started last yr as Mdm Heng and some teachers went in Italy or Belgium to understudy at 2 years ago and they are starting out this collage class after seeing they have a mixture of different age group children in the childcare. As it was pioneer for last yr p3 so some parents didn't want to join in.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.
With your input, this post could be even better đź’—