[Bukit Panjang/Bukit Timah/Hillview] Preschools
Hi Chamonix,
Check with you hor...I've actually left a msg for Mrs Hong to call me since last wed but she din, send her email no reply. The first time when I talked to her she is very prompt in replying...wonder if it's usual for her to take some time in responding leh...paiseh to call so many times. Tks for sharing... :? -
Hi Luvmum, you are most welcome.

Hopefully Mrs Hong has returned your call. But just in case she hasn't, try calling again (after 9.15 am) and request to speak with her personally. If she's unable to attend to you immediately, Mrs Fong will be most glad to take a message for you.
Not sure what's happening in school but the principal and staff might be busy with LSM norming and some other quality award matters. -
Any comment/ feedback on St. Joseph Childcare Centre?
I am thinking of putting my 3.5 y.o girl in this centre. I have seen the centre and like the huge area and not many students in the centre ~ 40 kids only. But really concerned about the teachers' quality and if the curriculum is rich enough for the young ones?
My gal is currently in another Church childcare centre and have been there for about 6 months already. We felt she din learn much and has been really laxed in her manners. So worried that she is unable to catch up with her peers! Couldn't hold a pencil properly, can't read, never hear her singing any songs.... Things like these are already taught to my friend's dotter (a year younger than my gal) in her childcare centre!
I am so worried and am looking for a better change. Anyone has any good recommendation on a reliable childcare centre @ Bt. Panjang area? -
Any mummies have enrolled your child in the kindergarten from Zoo Phonics (Bt Timah-Beauty world branch) and Creative Thinkers? Am looking for a kindergarten for my gal. Grateful if you could share with me your feedback. Thanks. -
I heard from some of my friends tat Zoophonics not very good. If u looking oni for kindergarten, u can try Barker Road Methodist Church Kindergarten or Glory Kindergarten.
Both school are good. :lol: -
Am looking for kindergarten only. Heard Barker Rd kindy is good but am looking for one near my hse. Hence, considering Zoo phonics or Creative Thinkers or PAP. For Glory kindy, I donβt quite like the environment.
Thanks for your sharing. -
Hi, not sure if you have enrolled your son in Canossian Kindy? If yes, do you mind to share with me. Thanks.
you can find a very brief note on this kindie http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=770&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=45.
Any parents have experience with this preschool?do share.Thanks
Canossian - I've visited the place twice and a couple of my neighbours' kids are there. The kids really like it, and according to them, they get to have playtime everyday (K1 and K2), and there are a lot of craft activities. The mum is very pleased with the green surroundings (and it's really nice in the morning when it's cool) and find the teachers kind and loving. When I visited, the staff was friendly and one of the teachers who brought me around even took the trouble to show my children a weaver bird's nest, and a durian tree on the premise.
I looked through some of their curriculum, and their Chinese standards are higher than most of the preschools I've seen. My neighbours' kids are apparently struggling a little wiht the Chinese (they have tingxie), but they are Caucasians. A child with better home support should be able to cope.
However the premise is old and has not been renovated for years. I found the classrooms too dim, and the equipment seemed to be in a poor condition. Some of the classrooms have chairs and tables stacked along the walls, and I'm the kind who cannot think/function when the room is messy. The second time we went in the afternoon, and it was REALLY hot. I don't think a child can really eat /do sandplay in the sheltered areas.
I was also checking out their N1 level, and while the outdoor play area is fantastic, the indoors was a little depressing to me, and I saw the children huddled around the teacher who was feeding them in turns (which is actually quite kind because in some schools, if the children don't feed themselves, they just go hungry). Even though my toddler is already self-feeding, the scene was still quite depressing to me.
So in conclusion, I think the place probably has the heartware. But the hardware is a little lacking. Overall I didn't really like it, but we didn't try it mainly because my K1 son refused to go.
It would be the best if you go down and take a look personally. You may have a different take on it.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.