Hi Janet, Filipino maid are just too difficult to manage...their demand are too much n the experience ones are worst...there was once my husband saw the maid coming back from mkt chatting on the hp while walking...we had all left the house in the am after her but hubby walked back to take something but she din see him..we can't be bothered n so we talked about her in the car...my girl overheard it n checked wif the maid when she came back from school....she can simply answer my girl that dh must have seen the wrong person....we cant be bothered to tell her off....cos we already knw this person cannot be trusted n hv lose faith in her...so no point to explain...I even caught her before putting on the earpiece chatting on the phone when I was supposed to bring my girl for classes but went home early....one thing I cannot tahan her is she never feel apologetic...only give u vague reason n think we are all gundoo...all these nonsense we can close our eyes...but the moment I caught her sending SMS to a man, I started to be wary n chk on her hp secretly..I can't believe those mushy smses n even midnite call...the man even helped her to top up her hi-card which I found out from their SMS...that's the limit n we just asked her to pack n go....I cannot imagine she brings back the man to the house if we go for holiday!
Yes, Filipino maids may not be able to speak English as compared to Indonesians. In fact, I've been able to enjoy Indonesian dishes in the comfort of my home...dishes like green curry and bagedil. My Filipino maid thinks so highly of herself too :x wanting to work for angmoh family when she can't even communicate in English or handle kids.
This govt can't provide jobs for their women back home and yet demanding countries who employ them to give US$400 !
I wld not pay so much for a Filipino who are here for holidays n take us as fools! -
oh, my experiences were totally different from yours. i got my 3 maids from nation and all stayed with me for more than 2 years, the longest is 5 yrs. went to simei and bukit timah branches, staff who served me were friendly and after sales service was good.
I do heard from friends stating tat Nation at Bukit Timah Br is gd....frankly speaking I will not take the risk as their reputation in markets r quite bad
Those Filipino maids literally take us as fools…cannot show them any sympathy at all. They eat rice like 饭桶 but cannot work…had to buy NTUC brand bcos of her (my kids love Heavenly brand). Whole day dreaming of working for angmoh or better still marrying one.
The way they stuff the ear piece to yak is like they own some biz. My last maid is one lazy bum…if not bcos I needed one badly then, die also won’t take her. After returning her to agency, she questioned the agency staff about the next employer who’s taking her. From what I heard, the next employer is actually an old couple who needed her to cook and do housework…and told the agency she wants to work for angmoh family.
Coming from a country who doesn’t train their elite cops, what do you expect ? -
There were even once I sent back my filipino maid to the agent for transfer...she was so choosy of the next employer from what I understand from the agent....I had given her 2 weeks to find another employer n even have to forked out her lodging fees of $12 per day.....after a week, she was still with the agent n I started to question the agent whether she found any prospective employer...I came to knw from the agent that she had interviews but she wanted to work for angmoh...after one week without any news, I informed the agent to tell her that we will buy the air ticket for her to return home if she still continue to choose....immed after 2 days, she accepted one employer...Those Filipino maids literally take us as fools...cannot show them any sympathy at all. They eat rice like 饭桶 but cannot work...had to buy NTUC brand bcos of her (my kids love Heavenly brand). Whole day dreaming of working for angmoh or better still marrying one.
The way they stuff the ear piece to yak is like they own some biz. My last maid is one lazy bum...if not bcos I needed one badly then, die also won't take her. After returning her to agency, she questioned the agency staff about the next employer who's taking her. From what I heard, the next employer is actually an old couple who needed her to cook and do housework...and told the agency she wants to work for angmoh family.
Coming from a country who doesn't train their elite cops, what do you expect ?
From my experience, is not true that big player like nations, jpb etc will have good maid....for me, I had long given up hope on jpb....their maid's quality sucks and so is their service....better to look around and take some time to choose...this current indon maid whom we hired in katong allows interview via webcam..however it took abt 2 weeks for us to pick her up from the date of application... -
Hi HappyAvon,
My former Filipino maid was CHOOSING her next employer while I am paying $12 a day for her to sit there and do nothing. Really boiled up waiting for her to get kicked out. My Indon maids had new employers soon after I returned them bcos they can cook.
Big players do not necessarily have better maids. Maids are all the same…if they are reliable, they are. If not, they suck from day 1. My Filipino maid doesn’t even eat western, want to work for angmoh. Eat spagetti, salad, pork chop, microwave meals ??? She will die if there is no rice. These Filipino maids are really dreamers…work for angmoh can go to Canada and marry one. Go on dreaming. -
These Filipino maids are really dreamers...work for angmoh can go to Canada and marry one. Go on dreaming.
Hahah..really dreaming....Wat an unrealistic dream...some cannot speak good English still want angmoh...they think angmoh stupid meh? Not all angmoh are good oso...some can be harsh when they are angry....
I learnt from my lessons... Cannot expect too much from the maid...n the nicer u are to them, the more they will take advantage of u..really cannot tahan such attitude....I can see her sad expression on the day we told her to leave n to compensate her, I even gave her one month extra salary...no matter what, she still helps in the household for 1.5 yrs....we are all good employers but these maid are driving us up the wall....we sympathize them n wanted to treat them well hoping they will be good....but we are wrong...
These days really hard to get a good maid....their community are growing n too much bad influence...so I prefer indon maid with no off day n hp....btw, we always bring the maid out during the weekends outing....my very 1st maid was an indon and completed her contract n went back to get married...I remembered she got no off day n hp n nvr gave us problems. So now Im going back to indon maid.... -
Hi HappyAvon,
Fantastic dreamers…these Filipino women. :x
Angmohs are not angels, they can be 100x worse than Asians. CANNOT be nice to maids or else they climb on the head and SIT there.
Indonesian maids much better than those dreamers. My Indonesian maids didn’t even want off day…bcos they go out with me and I have to pay for their meals. -
Woah, Janet_lee88, I can see you are very fired up over your past experience. Must have been terrible memories. Anyway, my first maid (Indo) was very thrifty so she didn't want day off. Current maid (again Indo) also quite can think - she knows she has to spend money on her days off and so she told us she dunwan. Guess there is something good afterall about them.
Indonesian maids much better than those dreamers. My Indonesian maids didn't even want off day...bcos they go out with me and I have to pay for their meals. -
Frankly speaking, it doesn't matter the maids are from which country it solely depend on the maid own attitude.
Our previous indonesian maids are giving us a hard time thus we have no choice but to employ filipino despite all the hearsay. Surprisingly, our current filipino maid is so much better compare to our ex-indon maids. However, we wouldn't know whether she will change in another few months time (2 more mths to 1yr) but apparently she still meet up to our requirement.
No one is perfect. We just have to learn to close one eye.
gumiho:
I'm still very fired up over the last Filipino maid and the Indon one before her. Employing a maid is really all about luck. I tried Filipino since agent fee was the same for Indo and Filipino...also bcos don't have to eat chicken all the time.Frankly speaking, it doesn't matter the maids are from which country it solely depend on the maid own attitude.
Our previous indonesian maids are giving us a hard time thus we have no choice but to employ filipino despite all the hearsay. Surprisingly, our current filipino maid is so much better compare to our ex-indon maids. However, we wouldn't know whether she will change in another few months time (2 more mths to 1yr) but apparently she still meet up to our requirement.
No one is perfect. We just have to learn to close one eye.
Hi gumiho,
I closed BOTH eyes with my last maid, but she still got on my nerves.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.