All About Home Addresses
Miracle Child:
Yes, will be registering my son for SJIJ...but worried that, based on past balloting history, may not get in as we are outside of 2km. Sigh....never occurred to me before that this can be so stressful...

You should have some backup plan to try other school if SJI is having a high chance of balloting on Phase 2B or even 2C. -
Yeah, have been thinking about backup plan...that is why got headache. All the schools (more reputable) ones are subject to ballot either at 1km or 1-2km and I am outside the 2km for all of them
Got to pray hard now
What would you do?..would you
(a) buy an apartment near the school of choice and be guaranteed a place but means that not much savings left and have to slog for the next few years, or
(b) keep the savings, and be able to spend more time and money for your child, but may not enter school of choice? -
Hi Miracle child,
which phase are you in? 2B or 2C? -
smurf:
In 2B...but worried that cannot get in under that phase...so, was contemplating getting a place near SJIJ...but last night, decided not to do so...save money for other \"investments\" in my son is probably a better choice.Hi Miracle child,
which phase are you in? 2B or 2C? -
Miracle Child:
hi
In 2B...but worried that cannot get in under that phase...so, was contemplating getting a place near SJIJ...but last night, decided not to do so...save money for other \"investments\" in my son is probably a better choice.smurf:
Hi Miracle child,
which phase are you in? 2B or 2C?
instead of buying a place, an alternative is to rent a place, if getting into the school of your choice is that important and you don't want to consider other catholic primary schools. -
I dun feel that is the right way to do lor. I mean, if a child genuine staying near to the school who wanted a place there, by renting a place (not actually staying there), you are ‘robbing’ him/her of a chance of getting a place.
sorry, just a thought cos I would be very angry if my boy can’t get a place there because other parents use other method to get in. unless I’m staying in the rented house lah.:!:
Miracle child,
when is your boy p1 registration? -
Maybe what ghostz meant was miracle-child can rent a place nearby and actually stay there. Then she can rent out her current place to cover the rental cost? Will save on kid’s travelling time too.
yah, we are also thinking of renting a place and rent out our current place. but very troublesome. firstly, have to find a tenant, then have to find a place nearby to stay. end up, we may have to do renovation.to think of it, headache man.

smurf:
yah, we are also thinking of renting a place and rent out our current place. but very troublesome. firstly, have to find a tenant, then have to find a place nearby to stay. end up, we may have to do renovation.to think of it, headache man.

That's why I just sold my old house and bought a new one nearer the school. But I didnt use the new address since it is not near enuf to be within 1km and I was under 2B no balloting.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.